Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated but comfortable

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: The decor
First of all, I have to say that the hotel staff were without fault - they couldn't have been friendlier and more efficient. The hotel was comfortable and clean, but felt very dated. The breakfast was quite standard - the scrambled eggs had dried out a little under the heat lamps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Berkshire

Busy location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel was in beautiful Norwich. Parking was good.
Cons: A large notice to point to the reception area is needed in the front car park.
Location: The location was very busy, but I knew it would be. Access to Norwich, probably the most beautiful of any of the medieval cities in Britain was easy.
Having stayed in a Mercure hotel before I expected a better standard. The room was OK bur we were placed in a wing that was mostly used by hotel night staff and there were notices asking that we respect them by keeping quiet. We would not have been noisy anyway, but maybe guests should not be accommodated alongside staff in future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked for a couple of nights business trip.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location was easy to find
Cons: Just about everything could do with bringing up to date
I booked this hotel as they had a health suite and a swimming pool. The gym was tiny and under equipped, the swimming pool was more like a bath, two people couldn't do lengths at the same time. The sauna really was more of a warm room. Disappointing with this being the main reason it was booked. Food was OK but over priced. Tables in restaurant were dirty when I went for breakfast. it had obviously been relayed for the next customer, but was covered in the last persons breakfast crumbs Room was OK. Staff were friendly and helpful, I question if there was enough of them This hotel would not been seen as the Mercure chain flag ship establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Very helpful and efficient staff
A useful base for exploring the coast, the hotel was clean and staff responsive and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Person to show me my room was not very helpful or friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Antony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
I wouldn't describe this as a 4 star hotel as it's very run down in places. Room adequate and meal in the restaurant good but for the cost of the room it's not good value
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raunds

Great facilities- budget room with basic bathroom

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Hotel location great, facilities great. Swimming pool and steam room nice- good fitness suite. Room clean.
Cons: Breakfast- sausages and orange juice low quality and not worth additional cost. Cancelled second morning breakfast. Restaurant, party of four- two hap
Location: Good location-'close to city centre, Wrohxam for boat hire and the broads.
We had a budget room and overal were happy. Positives- Hotel location great, facilities great. Swimming pool and steam room nice- good fitness suite. Room clean. Negatives- Breakfast- sausages and orange juice low quality and not worth additional cost. Cancelled second morning breakfast. Restaurant, party of four- two happy with food and two unhappy with food for night time meal. Budget room had no standing shower, could only bathe. Would stay again in upgraded room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bourne. Lincs

Close to Norwich City Centre

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Not a lot Comfortable bed
Cons: Prices on menu. Breakfast too expensive.
Location: Close to city centre of Norwich
Bad first impression from main road as it looks like it has closed down. Need to go 100yds further to find entrance. Disappointed with housekeeping. Left wet towels to be replaced and found they had been folded and put on rack and still wet when we returned in evening. Also found tissue under duvet which showed they had not moved cover from the way we left it.