Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clacton

Easy use

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Hotel was lovely and clean with friendly staff. Nice and Central to the town center with easier and free carpark. Room was always clean and tidy. Room was also warm and inviting. Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful old hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Overall rating 4.9 out of 5,the only negative was the noisy are conditioners with the rear facing rooms. My tip when booking is the ask for a street facing room. I would return whenever we are in Norwich. an old city steeped in history. Great architecture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

The hotel was perfect

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Breakfast was. Perfect first. Class Room felt lighting could be beter bit dark Maybe. Small fridge with bottle water Excellent. IPad in room Bed. Sheets laid. Perfect very comfortable Location. Central Norwich perfect Shower/ bath perfect temperature perfect Staff very friendly approachable. I have stayed. In top London hotels this was one of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrow / N W London

Nice hotel near city centre

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: I liked the historic style, while feeling cosy and welcoming. Despite being in centre of city it had plenty of parking, and was still quiet.
Cons: We 8 returned from event 10.55 pm ordered drinks at bar, only to be told at 11.00 the bar was closed and we had to move to lounge. Late guest bar.?
Location: Hotel ideal located for walking round most interesting parts of city including Tombland historic area, cathedral, castle, shops, market, etc.
Ideal location in city centre, whether for Cathedral, shops, Castle, or other attrctions. I was glad I paid slightly more than some other hotels locally as worth while. regret it was only for one night and next time will try to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portlsnd, OR

Excellent hospitality

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Service, staff, amenities compare well to the 5 star hotel where we stayed in Edinbrough. I'd absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Absolutely perfect position.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The hotel and staff are just wonderful. If you like old and traditional, this is the perfect hotel. It's steeped in history everywhere you turn and yet has a modern side to it too, which has been beautifully integrated with the old. It's central position, in view of the cathedral, is perfect to comfortabley amble around the sights and shops of Norwich. Well wirth a stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ely Cambs

Great location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Lovely hotel, in a great location for town and shopping, we had an Executive Room, it was very comfortable, and very clean, shower over bath which we like, it was in there newest wing which was a bit disappointing as we expected the whole hotel to be full of historical charm, but Executive Rooms seem to be the same as Standard rooms only larger, with two comfortable chairs, so don't think it was really worth the extra cost. The window was quite high so you couldn't see out unless standing up, which was a shame as we had a nice view of the Cathedral, however the bed was extremely comfortable and 6 ft wide, slept well and very quiet, would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Clean, comfortable, very helpful staff. Allowed an early check in and use of the carpark for all of the next day. Very convenient and central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in convenient location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very conveniently located near to Norwich Cathedral and the centre of town. All the features of an old downtown hotel - charm, large rooms, high ceilings, winding corridors, no air conditioning. But there is good WiFi and free parking in the hotel parking lot - a real "plus" for a downtown hotel. Definitely worth a stay, particularly if you can get a good rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Break

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Awe found all the staff friendly and polite. Location excellent for anyone wanting to explore the lovely city of Norwich and quaint shops.