Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Wedding Weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The Villas, for the price, need some updating. Carpet in the bedroom is quite worn and paint on porch is peeling. The food at the wedding was excellent, but two orders of food in the bar was not worth tbe price. Breakfast in the main dining room was excellent, but had a high price tag. There seems go be inconsistency in prep of food items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Wedding weekend

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Attended a lovely Friday night wedding! Ceremony on beautiful grounds and the cocktail hour and reception were in the Inn. Everything done so beautifully. Our room was fine but nothing special. Breakfast was good but pricey. We did not get to stay for any spa services but many were available. Very nice and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caldwell, NJ

Nice hotel for the area

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The setting and property are attractive.
Cons: Spa services are numerous but perfunctory and a bit rough around the edges. It's like a factory and guests do not feel cared for in a personal way.
Location: Mohegan Sun Casino is very nearby.
This property is a destination for spa weekends. While it strives to be upscale, it misses the mark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York UK

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Very peaceful , relaxing and quiet. Good spa and gym facilities
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities could be made available in room
Location: Very close to Mohegan Sun Casino Resort
Very pleasant stay over and just after Labour Day weekend. Hotel was initially very busy but became quieter after Monday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Special place for a wedding anniversary

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: The atmosphere of the Kensington restaurant was beautiful, and loved the gluten free choices, but the food was good, not great. Could be improved.
Location: Great location. We drove down to the New London area and visited the Harkness State Park & its mansion. Lovely!
My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing weekend here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. So glad that we got an excellent room rate on Expedia, otherwise we wouldn't have been able to afford it. Loved the hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms, relaxation room, activities, grounds. It's a bit of old world inn mixed with modern amenities. A beautiful and relaxing place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Mohegan Sun

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Even though the room looked clean it had an old musty smell when you walked in. The balcony/deck was dirty and the wood was rotting. The grounds are beautiful but overall the place needs updating and I don't think it was worth the price we paid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Boston NH

Recommend visiting

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed here not knowing anything about the Inn. We had plans to go to dinner and a show at Foxwoods but wished we had planned to stay two nights so that we could enjoy the facilities. The service was phenomenal, the drinks and food were fantastic and the gym and grounds were amazing. The place was fantastic. The only problem with our room is that it felt damp all the time which made getting in bed and dressing uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Needs some upkeep and updating

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds, clean room, comfortable bed, quiet atmosphere, close to Mohegan
Cons: Please update and maintain. We really enjoyed out stay but it could have been so much better if there was attention to little things.
Location: Mohegan Sun and Michael Jordan Steakhouse
We went to the spa because we were seeing a show at Mohegan and wanted to stay someplace relaxing since neither my husband or myself gamble. The Spa had mixed reviews but decided to try it since there doesn't seem to be any options available. The hotel needs updating. The rug in the hall leading to the restaurant was musty smelling and appeared dirty. The Villa was very clean but the toilet seat was broken and the tp holder was loose on the wall and the toilet paper kept falling off. The doors patio and front door were swollen and not easily closed. My husband had to close the patio door because I couldn't. I slipped and fell trying to close the front door and hurt my knee. The deadbolt was unusable due to the swelling. The pool was nice but towels and chairs ran out quickly and people were left with none of either. We did not use the spa because it was great weather and we preferred to stay outdoors. The grounds were beautiful and the atmosphere was relaxing. The breakfast was great, however, the dinner in Kensington was expensive for what you got. I got the filet and, if it was filet, it was tough. My husband got three scallops and he said they were great. Despite the negatives, we would go back. It is very close to Mohegan, it was very clean, comfortable bed and grounds were beautiful, breakfast on the deck was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balcony guard

Posted Aug 21, 2017
In general we like this place but for money we spent , the balcony guards can be fix and paint. Also, I understand and agree to pay 19% tips for dinner , breakfast but why tips included for massage. If I don't like the way how person did it , why should I pay tips? I make reservations for stone massage which cost80$ but got charged for 115 plus 19% tips. It is not fare. Peer was down on Saturday and no towels in the main swimming pool
5 out of 5
by Mary

Great property and spa services!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great property, really convenient to Mohegan Sun (we were in town to see a concert at their arena.) The Spa at Norwich Inn was a happy add-on to the weekend, and the signature massage with Michelle was awesome!