Ratings based on 2,229 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for Money (First time in London)

Posted Aug 13, 2017
This was my first visit to London so cannot compare with any other hotel there. The hotel location is perfect for first time tourist. Bayswater (Circle Line) and Queensway stations are within 5 - 7 minutes walk. Lots of restaurants/Pubs close by and feels safe even late night. Hotel staff were nice. Breakfast has some choices and they do prepare from a kitchen there (Not store bought). Rooms are small (for somebody coming from US) and the carpet in rooms not clean. For the price it was worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Tired hotel in good location.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Public areas in need of refurbishment, carpets dirty, paintwork and wallcovering very tired. Reception much better although smelt of smoke. Room and bathroom clean and adequate for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Hotel with free breakfast

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Clean room and free breakfast
Cons: Upgrade the rooms at basement and change the breakfast menu daily
Location: Location very good as it's near to happenings, restaurants, shops, metro
The room given to us at the basement was terrible. We requested for a change and was given a new room at different floor. Room was so much bigger and very nice. Location very good as it's near to happenings, restaurants, shops, metro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Perfect for a family

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Room facilities and location
Cons: Asked for assistance with luggage when checking in and was told they didn't provide service. Also asked for iron and they said they couldn't find it.
Location: Queensway restaurants and shops a few minute walk away. Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and Paddington Station all close by.
Hotel is in a quiet street, which is close to nearby attractions and Queensway restaurants and shops and Bayswater tube station. Hotel room was comfortable with room for family of 4 and storage facilities in room were ample.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Small outdated hotel but looks nice from the outsi

Posted Jul 6, 2017
- our room was in the basement and was very small and tight didn't look anything like the photos - the wifi was awful we couldn't get it in our room and we had to go up to the lobby but it barely even worked there
2 out of 5
by Martin

Bates Motel

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms very very tired looks like something out of a 80 horro film
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The room stank so bad.Usually if you are in a stinky room you get used to the smell after a while. Nope not the case here. The decor was outdated and the cleanilines questionable. I will never stay at this hotel again
1 out of 5
by Sofia

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible experience, paid for a superior room with three beds and they put us in a standard room they said they would change is the next day but they didn't make our room available till 3 pm, the worse is that they tried to lie and say we were in a superior room when another employee had already said we we not!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aley lebanon

Nice location no more

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This hotel is not recommended for seniors. Excellent for young generations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Stayed here for 3 nights in April, check in was quick and easy, room was great has everything we needed, room had been recently renovated, shower room was nice and clean,great selection of food at breakfast time,I would recommend this hotel, not a 5 star hotel but excellent for what we needed it for. If you want 5 star pay for 5 star.