Ratings based on 1,184 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Grand Royale

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: NIce location, very clean, extremely helpful staff.
Cons: The room was quite small but I don't think that you can do much about that!
The staff was extremely helpful with everything, including calling cabs and making suggestions about transportation. The room was clean and comfortable; my only complaint regarding the room was that it was extremely small, even for a small adult such as myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Feedback from stay at the Grand Royale

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Excellent facility and customer service. Love the Handy portable phone definitely a plus to get around. The staff was friendly and willing to assist when requested. We had a wonderful time. We were greeted going in and leaving the facility every single time. During check out, the front desk made sure to get our feedback about our stay with them, were offered a cup of coffee which means a lot to me especially so early in the morning before departure to the airport and luggage assistance to the cab. These small but very significant details really gives the hotel 100% customer satisfaction. Thank you Grand Royale for everything. We felt at home. Emilio and Helen Delgado.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hopeless

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Arrived at 11pm to find they had not kept the kind of room I had booked. They changed their story on why that had happened and were generally a bit chaotic. Administration at this hotel is a long standing problem. Also - the bar closes early, and the tv channels are limited.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel and UK

How much is the cost of a smile?

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet had good variety and the service staff, waitresses and concierge were all friendly.
Cons: attitude, from management staff. Price and value for money!
Location: Near to Queenways tube and Hyde park
I stayed in this hotel this time last year, and because of a very good experience then, I stayed again. It was as if it was a totally different place. Unfriendly check in receptionist. How much does it cost to smile? I had had a long, tiring travel day from Basel, on top of an incredibly stressful month! I was looking forward to two nights in this hotel as I was working in London on the Friday, travelling again on Saturday. The room was on the top floor, pokey small, and smelly with a window that could barely open, and a noisy sound level from extractor or whatever that was constant through the night. Shower guard was a joke. I am small, and still the water went everywhere. It should be called wet room! Check out, the guy did not even notice that a bigger guy jumped the queue to pay, which was so rude, and should have been noted... Receptionist told me directions to Paddington which I nearly walked. but with a heavy case and not a young chicken decided to take a cab thankfully! The last straw, I paid nearly 600 pounds for these two nights and breakfast was not included! Sadly I will not be staying here again, and will not be recommending to my colleagues..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good location steps from subway

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Best hotel breakfast in London; beautiful public rooms; helpful staff.
Location: One block from Circle Line, one block from Central Line meant I could get around London quickly. There was a good restaurant row on Queensway.
Great public rooms, helpful staff and excellent breakfast. My only complaint is that the room was tiny (a consistent problem with many London hotels). But I would definitely stay there again because is is well located and very friendly. They were also generous about checkout time, which allowed me to have a relaxed departure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location, that is about it.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: no comment.
Location: Two tube lines are nearby that can get you anywhere in the city you would like to go.
Great location, that is about it. We were in town for two weeks visiting friends and the sights. We were not comfortable in the room, we were told we could upgrade for 30 more a night, then 20 a night , then 10 a night. I just got fed with the lies and dealt with it. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
They didn't have the room I booked available when I arrived, and wouldn't for the duration of my stay. So I had to get a single room after discussing with the hotel staff - they attempted to move me to a hotel in Paddington but I declined. The room was smaller than I would like. They ended up giving a discount to me if I ever stay there again due to the inconvenience. The location near Hyde Park is great though, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. The hotel itself was very ornate, and the staff was helpful and kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Eh... Not great, but doable.

Posted May 25, 2017
Staff was nice but was disappointed by the size of the rooms because all the pics on the website are misleading. The room was tiny. The hallway to get to the room brought out a claustrophobic reaction. My view overlooked the roof. It was a bit depressing. Now the stay wasn't terrible, I would say it was doable for just one night. It's near two different tube lines which was convenient and Hyde park was right across the street. It was just ok. But the one major thing that turned me off is when taking a bath I could see so much blackened mildew all around the tub. Then there was the constant bumping that could be heard all night. I don't think I would stay here again... even if the building and lobby are gorgeous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Service was great and location was excellent

Posted May 25, 2017
Rooms are extremely small. We stayed at a different hotel in London before, and it had significantly more space. The queen bed barely fit in the bedroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon, UK

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Posted May 20, 2017
Booked this hotel last minute and despite a hiccup at reception where we hadn't been added to their system it was a pleasant stay. Rooms clean if a little small, bathroom good. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast great. The hotel has fantastic character with all the old wooden panelling in public areas. Easy access to the tourist areas of London. Would definitely stay again.