Ratings based on 6,654 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice location

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Awesome hotel with the best location. Lots of shop nearby with excellent choice of food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Mauro, Hotel Management
Dear Naveen, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be very glad to welcoming you again at London House Hotel. Best Regards, London House Hotel team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Great Location!

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: Location location location
Cons: The internet needs to be faster. This was like dial-up from 15 years ago slow.
Location: Tube stations in walking distance ( under 4 minutes) and so many places to eat there are too many to name. Something close by for every taste.
I was here with a friend for a week to visit London. This is a great location. Close to 3 tube stations, and close to so many great restaurants and markets, little bakeries and sandwich places. Totally safe area on a quiet street. We walked night and day and never had any issues. The room was small but so is almost every room in Europe. Nothing new there. Beds were comfy, TV was small but there were decent shows and channels to watch. The internet was SLOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW like molasses slow. But since we were only using it occasionally it wasn't a huge issue however my husband would have gone crazy with how slow it was. We didn't try the breakfast. The water pressure in the shower was powerful. Rooms were always cleaned nicely with fresh towels daily. I would definately stay here again. PS I did ask about the internet and was told they knew it was an issue and were workign on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Mauro, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, Thank you for staying at London House Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Besides, we appreciate that the room size, features and cleanliness were up to your standards. The location is indeed very convenient thanks to the proximity of Bayswater and Queensway underground stations. We are sorry to hear that our internet did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing some issues with our wi-fi network upon the past few weeks. We do apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused to you. However, we would like to ensure you that we always try our best in order to improve the hotel facility and provide the best service possible to our guests. We really hope to see you again at London House Hotel soon. Kind Regards, London House Hotel team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Don’t go for a room marked L

Posted Jan 29, 2018
We booked a double room and were given a king single bed in harry potters stairwell cupboard. These rooms have a prefix of L on their numbers. I had to sleep on the floor to get any sleep as the bed wasn’t big enough for two. The next day we upgraded to a triple room at a reasonable fee for much higher comfort. Rooms are quite small. Location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Mauro, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, Thank you for booking your accommodation at London House Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that the size of the room you were staying in did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that the hotel has different types of double rooms and the room you booked was a small double room, the smallest type of double room we have. Besides, all the hotel double rooms are provided with standard size double beds. We do not have any double rooms provided with queen/king size double beds. We would like to suggest you to have a look at the hotel website in case you wished to make a future reservation at London House Hotel. Room sizes and features are very well described there. We do really hope to see you again at London House Hotel. Best Regards, London House Hotel team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Convenient hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Close to the Tube, excellent breakfast, nice room but beds quite hard. Clean room but daily service not what I’m used to. Overall I still recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Internet was unusable, but other than that had a treat experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pervert for the price.

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Perfect as a base. For the price what we expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantic Beach

Close to Underground Station

Posted Jan 24, 2018
The room was clean and convenient. However, bear in mind that if you book a small room it will be really small!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Nice hotel, but a lot more basic than expected

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Pros: The staff was very friendly. The bellhop carried my bags for me, the women at the front desk answered all of my questions, and check in/out was quick.
Cons: If such a small selection is going to be presented for breakfast, lower the price. Better wifi. Bigger rooms for two people.
Location: The location was just off of a main road, so it was easy to get to shops and restaurants. Nice part of Bayswater, right by Westminster.
The biggest issue I had was the size of the twin room I had for five nights. A room that size needs to be a single. It was WAY too small for two people, making it downright cramped and hard to move around in once we both had our things in there and started taking things out of our bags. The beds were comfortable, at least, and despite the tv being the smallest tv I've ever seen in my life, it was still watchable. The second biggest issue I had was the spotty wifi. Being from the states and on a T-Mobile plan, my phone was basically useless without wifi in the UK. I had hope I'd at least be connected in the hotel - nope. I'd be connected for ten minutes, and then fight with it to reconnect for at least thirty. The desk couldn't seem to do anything about that, so I spent a lot of my UK time disconnected from my phone. Breakfast costing $10 and not offering anything of substance was just extortion. I ate elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice newly renovated hotel in Central London

Posted Jan 18, 2018
The staff has been very helpful and accomodating to ensure comfort and peace in mind. They made sure our luggage were taken care even when we were away to Paris
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Hotel is central to both district and circle line on the tube which is really convenient. We had asked for a roll on bed and decided that because of the room size, they wouldn't be able to cater to that request. However, they informed me of that when arriving to the hotel and not prior. Although, i was given some leverage for another room, i was asked to pay for an upgrade. At the end, my stay was good and the staff was very accomodating to me and my family.