Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to tube.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
No shower even though it said there was one. I'm 6'1" and some parts of the room and bathroom were less than that. Staff nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan Capistrano, CA

Beautiful neighborhood, charming hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
I stayed here with my 3 daughters for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and had a very nice bathroom & shower/bath. The breakfast each morning made our stay, my daughters & I loved the choices. The staff were very helpful helping us navigate the tube. Will definitely stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norway

False advertisement during a heatwave

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and bedroom/sheets cleanliness was good (iffy tub in bathroom)
Cons: Climate-controlled air conditioning and use a sander on the tub
London was experiencing a heatwave so I booked a single room for the sole reason that the description says "Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping". There is NO air conditioning and with 34 degrees Celsius outside the room was a boiler room close to forty. The one thing I said while checking in was that AC was the only reason for booking (staff blatantly avoiding to mention to me the complete lack thereof). Cold water at least allowed for a cold bath which I pretty much ended up sleeping in all night. Extremely disappointed to say the least... The icing on the cake is that at checkout the staff were assembling standing room fans. Too late for me... they could have bought a small table fan for the room at least or kept the curtains closed during daytime to keep it cool. Also the tub is not exactly well maintained and cleaned. It was thickly encrusted with limescale but more disconcerting was the black mold in the joint sealer.
5 out of 5
by Joao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location very convenient. Street safe and nice. Building lovely exterior a little worn inside. Room clean. Bathroom old but efficient. Beds were comfortable and clean but the headboard was missing a piece and walls were marred - nothing a little attention couldn't fix. The breakfast was well worth the added cost. Overall a nice place for the money very well located with transit access just around the corner.
2 out of 5
by JUNICHI

Need to maintain

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Location was peefect , and staff was friendly and helpful. However condition was so bad. Sofa was so damaged. It made us feel miserable. The tear of sofa should be mended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great location, excellent breakfast

Posted May 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location, really close to the underground, good breakfast, great staff and most of all a wonderful sense of the classic English setting
5 out of 5
by Heather

Almost a perfect hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Cute little hotel off of an adorable street. Very close to the Tube so great location. Full bath tub and towel warmers give this hotel a very upscale feel compared to a typical European hotel. Staff is friendly and remembers you. Only complaint I have is the old plumbing which makes the toilets a problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a tired old building with much potential!

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
The pictures look so lovely and inviting but the reality is that this is a very tired 150 year old building and they are not keeping it up. For the price I expected a different level of both service and comfort. None of the clerks are native to London so no tourist help there. Never "how is the room?" or "what more can we do to make your stay outstanding?" "Are you enjoying the city?" Or even "we hope you'll come back again." Communication is the bare minimum to check you in and out. The breakfast was good, but the man serving was totally unhelpful and seemed put out at your presence...and as you walked to the breakfast area, you walked by the trash, the vacuum, the dirt linen..all collected in that halfway area..Very unappetizing. When I mentioned something that would improve the room I was told "this is a 150 year old building," ok..so much for suggestions! I'll find another place next time where I feel welcomed!
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good value, comfortable hotel in good locatio