Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Cumbria

The hotel was central

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, meals & linen were good & clean.
Cons: Hotel needs a complete makeover. held together with sticky tape!
Location: Situated in a pleasant area, 15mins walk to nearest public transport.
The rooms were in poor condition. the staff were good and helpful. OK for one night stay in London.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and service but rooms fair.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The location was good near tube and local pubs. Room very small and beds not comfortable. Staff worked hard. A little underwhelmed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina from Sydney Australia

great location, close to sights transport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: affordable and close to everything we wanted to see. staff were fantastic.loved that we had a view of the gorgeous park across the road.
Cons: the bathroom really needed an upgrade very tired
Location: close by to transport and an easy walk to a variety of cafes and restaurants
ideal location staff fantastic excellent barista. bathroom really needs a reno.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by craig from peterborough

Good value

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Very good location we went to the royal Albert hall we were able to walk
Shame the hotel doesn't spend a little money on the bathroom we had room 302 yes it's dated but very clean and good bedding and nice towels we didn't use the night gowns take the cost of these out and buy a pot of good bathroom paint and I'll be back For the money I would still recommend the umi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by craig from peterborough

Good value

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Very good location we went to the royal Albert hall we were able to walk
Shame the hotel doesn't spend a little money on the bathroom we had room 302 yes it's dated but very clean and good bedding and nice towels we didn't use the night gowns take the cost of these out and buy a pot of good bathroom paint and I'll be back For the money I would still recommend the umi
2 out of 5
by sc from usa

Very old building

Posted May 1, 2014
The first room was dirty, the door lock was broken, the bathroom didn't flush properly and filled with mold. The window didn't close and worst of all I had to pay for WiFi. The night manager Antony was rude and sarcastic when I mentioned the room conditions.
1 out of 5
by yamil from elneser

Bad service

Posted Apr 18, 2014
i arrived at the hotel and they said my reservation was cancelled never knew why. I had to walk with my bags all around London to find another hotel to stay in
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from UK

First time for everything

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: I suspect a maintenance man on a Sunday would be a good idea
I've stayed at this hotel probably 8-10 times and this is the first time I have had cause to rate it anything other than first class. I arrived to find my reservation had not been processed but the staff dealt this a minor IT glitch well and I was checked in. Room to the normal standard but at 05:30 I was awoken by the most horrendous disturbance in the street as the "milk lorry" seemed to deliver enough milk to last the hotel a year. Men laughing and shouting and obviously having no respect for guests. I would have hoped the night staff would have said something. Oh... and no electric in the room (hotel) when I arrived back after my evening. That said it is easy t forgive, this remains excellent value for money with a great, friendly staff and is in an excellent location. Shame about the milk lorry !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place with a great price.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Really nice. Room was tiny but it's London, so to be expected. Pretty central location. Bed was probably the most comfortable of any hotel I've ever stayed at in London. Secret gem in the midst of not very good hotels in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from UK

EXCELLENT VALUE AND LOCATION

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Walking distance shops, Notting Hill etc. Staff are excellent, efficient and friendly
Cons: TV took some working out but that is probably me!! It comes on under "AV" on "TV" -
Location: Shops and pubs close by, parking outside - ideal for a stay in London. There is also a hotel bar and restaurant.
Booked one night and then had to arrive the day before so extended my stay with another booking. I rang the hotel to ensure I had the same room and they assured me it was not a problem - and it wasn't. Friendly welcome and you actually feel they want you to enjoy your stay - very helpful throughout my stay. Room was clean and well equipped. Like these "old" buildings there are some creaks and odd corners but that is part of the character.