Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel was nice staff where really helpful, however restaurant was to full and the breakfast was cold. Despite this I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brentwood

Comfortable but noisy!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Good basic hotel. On the plus side, the restaurant food is good and the bar is a nice area. On the downside, I've stayed here twice recently and both times woken by banging doors. This time my sleep was disturbed almost the whole night as building works started outside at about 1am through the night. I can only think this was noise carrying from the night works on the M1. Receptionist seemed uninterested when I told her upon checkout. For the noise reason I won't be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancing West Sussex UK

family visit with dog

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: as above.
Cons: Nothing unless you want to make it cheaper but l know then it would not be as good so leave it alone. Gave daughter the xmas meal leaflet for work.
Location: My Grandsons school. The city plus shops,Prison museum Ikea ( next junction on M1)and Garden Centre on roundabout after turning left on leaving hotel.
Great breakfast after good nights sleep, We did visit the attached bar for food which was really good if a little high price but at least it was good and worth paying for. The dog was well accepted and has grass areas which you need if you have dog and you can walk around the hotel. All staff were great and ready to give extras in the tea and coffee in rooms which did save some pennies. Not too far from the family and turn right when leaving the hotel and off the round about is a really good Garden Centre (Dogs welcome) it also has a cafe which has good food from full breakfast to lunch, with 4 tables out side to eat when you have dogs. Thank you all very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penang, Malaysia

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Good hotel near M1 motorway and value for money stay. A bit far away to walk to shopping and restaurants but no problem if you have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burscough

Very handy to M1

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The grill room and dog friendly and free of charge.
Cons: More staff at brekkie.
Location: Good walk 50 yds away.
We stayed on the far side ,didn't hear the M1 Excellent breakfast and dinner. Very big bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Good location just off m1

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Very pleasantly surprised- room spacious, clean and we took our small dog with us. Had a lovely meal in the grill restaurant off their specialls board. Traffic a bit noisy but you expect that due to it's location but would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleckheaton, west yorkshire

Excellent choice for a couple of nights stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We (myself, my wife and 3 kids (aged 17, 7 & 3) decided to spend a few days in the area visiting the local tourist places, such as the heights of Abraham and crich tramway museum) and needed somewhere as our base for a couple of nights. The hotel was excellently located and we wee also able to visit the centre of both Nottingham and Derby. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. The breakfast catered for all tastes and everything was lovely. The staff were very helpful and accomadating to our specific requirements of 2 rooms next to each other. For the length of time we stayed there we couldn't have asked for anything else. It was also very reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

1 night stay in Best Western Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff - so welcoming
Cons: put locks on bathroom doors! could do with a small fridge - milk to be stored for kids
Location: we stayed only 1 night for a wedding, although they had a grill dinner right opposite the hotel which we did not visit.
Staff was amazing, Room was really clean. Only prob. was that the bathroom door had no lock.!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aus

Noisy

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Basic
Cons: Fridge, lift
Location: Location is terrible next to M1 motorway
No lifts, no fridge in room, needed to be double bed not two singles put together
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Serious door problem

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Shower and bed
Cons: Pillows, staff and doors
Location: We were here for an event in Long Eaton so the location was good for us.
Check in was fairly quick albeit with a very miserable, disinterested receptionist. The room was fine with a comfortable bed but dreadful pillows. The room was clean and had everything needed to make tea/coffee and with complimentary toiletries. The shower was also good. BUT this hotel has one big failing, it is impossible to shut a door quietly, constantly you can hear doors banging and we know it was not the guests responsible since we repeatedly tried to shut both our bathroom and room door quietly so as not to annoy others and due to the way they are designed it is physically impossible! If you want to be disturbed constantly day and night, this is the hotel for you otherwise look elsewhere. Check out was also quick with an unfriendly receptionist.