Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Best western not a +

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Ok hotel but rated a 4 star ? Hotel is fairly basic,The bar closes early at 23:00 and facility's like ice machines not available on floors. Breakfast times and food good. Staff seem pretty miserable though and have to be their and see work as a chore (don't we all) but this does reflect when you are their for a few days. All in all overpriced compared to other deals in the available in the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
It is a run-down hotel: mattress is uncomfortable, mattress topper is not big enough to cover the mattress, bed linen is rather grey. Internet does not work in the room, one has to get near the lift to get connected. Staff is friendly though.
1 out of 5
by Simon

Awful Nights Sleep

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
On arriving at the hotel we were handed a letter saying there was a wedding at the hotel and the bar and restaurant would be closed. Not a great start as that was one of the facilities at the hotel that we had paid for. They should have contacted us before we got to the hotel. (We had booked months in advance and they had our contact details) The room was clean but noisy. Beds were not comfortable. Very thin mattress. We had to turn off the air conditioning as was too loud. You could hear the music from the wedding. When we called down to reception to ask what time it would finish we were told that we were told about the wedding when we arrived. Yes were told about the restaurant and bar being closed but not told we would have to listen to the music whilst we were trying to sleep. The windows also don't stop any of the noise from the road. We could hear talking in the road and cars driving up and down. Also lots of noise from people in the corridors throughout the night. Staff were very robotic. Not friendly and just seemed to be working to a script. We watched the next guests checkout and the staff didn't even look up and said exactly the same words they had said to us. Did not even ask how the stay was. Would not choose to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Good quality and reasonable price. Excellent location.
Location: Shopping and close to public transport
Close to city centre for shopping. Great location. Restaurant available for breakfast and dinner at reasonable rates.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great place ideally placed for Rock City which was around the corner. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peterborough

Close to town centre

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel was good and the receptionists were amazing so very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Great location in the city centre and right next to the tram stop, so it's easy to get around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Central, small, water issues.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
During our stay in the morning there was an issue with the water being dangerously hot. At first I thought I was having issues with the shower however quickly realised the only setting was scalding hot. When ringing down to front desk I was met with a 'we are looking into it'. However due to needing to check out within the next 2 hours I felt this was not acceptable. Due to the cost of the hotel I would recommend staying elsewhere. For £100 for one night the least I would expect is a working shower. Parking is a short walk and subsidised however the car park is a tight squeeze!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel would go back everyone was so nice breakfast was so nice