Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harts

Nice hotel at a good price.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The stay was lovely, the hotel is very old with character friendly staff. The selection of beers was good. The room was clear and comfortable.
Cons: They need another kettle in the kitchen and the tv needed turning in our room.
Location: We had gone to see my son in Nottingham.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic classic pub.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, beer, food
Cons: Not much, fire alarm at 4am!
We stayed for one night only before heading to Newark the next day. We arrived around 7pm, met by a friendly barmaid and shown to our rooms. Looks like the rooms have been recently updated, nice and modern and clean. We ate downstairs in the bar, food was great and plenty of it. Great selection of beers and the staff made us very welcome. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This pub was above my expectations. The room was finished with a 7 foot bed for a start. Something we were not expecting so no need to explain if the room was small, we needed to telephone each other to say goodnight. Breakfast was hot and plenty avaliable. The staff were at all times helpful with advice for the local area and together with the locals at the bar area made our stay memerable. Mick and his team fully justify there high rating for excellent service.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Bognor

A wonderful pub

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights for a family wedding in Ripley. The pub does very good meals and beer, and the room was surprisingly quiet and airy. The light-pull in the bathroom needed cleaning, but otherwise our stay was perfect, and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the Peak or heading north/south
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Francis from Surbiton

Lovely bed and breakfast, good value-for-money

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely bed and breakfast giving e. The rooms were spacious so there was enough space for the cot bed. The decoration was spot on, simple but luxurious. Mattress was comfortable e.g not too soft which you find in many B&B or hotels. Only niggle would be that the bathroom window could not be opened and bedroom window could not be left open (sash cord missing), which resulted in damp room after shower.
4 out of 5
by john from durham

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
nice setting in friendly village , good parking on site , very good breakfast ,bus service into Nottingham just yards away , nice pub atmosphere , would stay again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable Weekend

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Cons: A Quieter Jukebox !!
Location: Handy for Nottingham and things West
A very pleasant stay in a convivial pub wth good simple food, good real ales , a welcoming staff. The Inn is pleasantly situated and the room was superb.
3 out of 5
by Kay from Durham

Good parking friendly staff.

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel inn is very cosy great parking friendly staff ok breakfast. Room was very very small shabby and directly next to the smoking area so we were woken by people talking loud. The bathroom was dirty with mould all over the bath mat. This hotel wasn't worth the money we made comparing it with other rooms in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels