Ratings based on 652 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane AU

Good value, convenient location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient, good value.
Cons: Nothing really. Initially I thought that access was poor until I realised that there was another lift that serviced the reception/street level.
Location: Very central. Close to castle, transport.
Hotel has all the expected amenities at a good price. Generally quiet with double glazing, (and effective aircon) except for some late-night noise from a nearby night-spot that was only slightly intrusive. Central to city, castle etc. A short cab ride (or long walk) to station, buses at the front door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay, thought the hotel was great value and the location was convenient. We hope to see you again soon when you're next in the area! Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice hotel.Room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the town.A bit noisy @ night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Claire- Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay overall and thought the hotel was nice. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room far too hot

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel is nice and in a great location. However, the room was far too hot and with broken windows we were unable to get any cool air in! Resulted in nobody being able to sleep and ruining our next day because we were all so tired!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations, Nottingham , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay with us didn't exceed your expectation and you were unable to have a comfortable nights sleep. I have personally checked the room you stayed in and it is clear that there needs to be some repairs done on the window handles, which restricted you from opening them. Our Chef Engineer has been made aware of this and is currently looking to this. Had you reported to us that you were uncomfortable in your room, we would have been more than happy to look at an alternate room for you, or looked into resolving the heating in your room. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location but not a 5*

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had 3 rooms. Room 116 the AC works when it feels like it and it looks like the hotel management knew about this as they already put a portable heater in the room. My disabled mother was cold during the night. There was also a musty smell in the room. Staff were not engaging and really looks disinterested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham, Hotel Management
Dear Mshif, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay was not to our usual high standards and that you encountered a few issues. With regards to the heating in the room, we're currently undergoing some essential improvement maintenance to our air conditioning units which is why you may have experienced some issues with the heating in your room. We ensured all guests that may be affected by this system upgrade had a portable heater in the room to ensure their stay was more comfortable. Had you let us know during your stay that you were uncomfortable and cold, we could have looked at alternative options for yourself and your mother as we like to make sure all our guests are looked after to the best of our ability. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and can only hope you haven’t lost faith in us as a hotel. Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel,

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: good size room, comfy beds,
Cons: the shower was poor water flow ,leaking hose on shower ,bed side lights not working properly, no bedside cabinet on one side ,
Location: very good location for market square ,town centre
reasonable rooms, asked for twin was given double ,changed to twin but light switch for bedside light configured wrong ,no bedside cabinet on one side of bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay overall and found the beds comfy. However I am sorry your encountered a few issues during you stay but we appreciate you bringing these to our attention. With regards to the bedside lighting, we have designed this specifically with your comfort in mind. The switch nearest your side will turn on the light above the other side of the bed. This is to minimise the potential glare from the overhead light. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Never again

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Location: Was central
Worst night ever ,3 rooms next to me where a group of friends. There was noise from when they checked in till midnight then all went out . But the scariest part of night started at 3 30 am when they came back , shouting,screaming profanity.then trying to get in my room ,took hotel 3 hours to sort them out ,half the people where not even guests .never felt scared in a hotel before and stayed alone may times. When complained at reception on checked where not that bothered all that was took off bill was cup of tea I'd ordered. So never recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay with us didn’t meet your expectations and I’d like to assure you that I have shared your feedback with all relevant departments. We are aware that there were a few concerns with the noise levels during the weekend you stayed and I'd like to apologise for this. Our nights team work hard to control the noise level of guests and prevent any disturbance to other guest. The guests which were causing the issues were asked to leave by our Duty Manager after several warnings. However it's disappointing to see that your stay was disturbed and you felt unsafe. Please be assured that the safety of our guests is our main priority. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and can only hope you haven’t lost faith in us as a hotel. Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Very close to city centre

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Excellent hotel with bars, restaurants & shops within a couple of minutes walk. Great choice if you want everything on your doorstep. Hotel a little expensive but there is always offers on offering a discount for booking a night would definately recommend the hotel is very clean & the rooms immaculate, have stayed here many times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Clare - Park Plaza Nottingham , Hotel Management
Dear Hyd, Thank you for your lovely review. It's brilliant to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us once again. I'm pleased that the location is perfect for everything you need, right on your doorstep and would recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for parking

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Parking charge not obvious was 1/3 the cost of the hotel. Lovely hotel otherwise and great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's great to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the staff welcoming. We advised all our guest to pre-book a parking space in our secure on-site car park as we have limited spaces, with a charge of £15.00 per night. Should you wish for an alternative parking option, we do offer a discounted rate at the St James' Street Car Park which is just across the road from the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Best Wishes, Claire Felton Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Perfect hotel, perfect location

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Can't fault this hotel. Ideally located right in the city centre. Staff couldn't be more helpful, rooms immaculate and the best beds ever, gutted to go home. So comfortable and spacious. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Claire@ParkPlazaNottingham, Hotel Management
Dear Cyprusjiggler, Thank you for your brilliant review. I'm fantastic to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, found the location perfect and the beds extra comfy. We hope you will stay with us again soon at Park Plaza Nottingham! Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Chilled relaxing Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: I loved everything about this Hotel
I spent my Christmas stay in Nottingham at this super hotel, the staff were wonderful my room was clean and comfortable in short a home from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Claire , Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for your brilliant review. It's lovely to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over Christmas and found the room very comfortable. I have shared your compliments with the rest of the team to let them know what a great job they're doing. I hope you will stay with us again in the New Year! Best Wishes, Claire Felton Guest Relations