Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Nice hotel. 20 mins walk to motorsport arena

Posted May 12, 2017
Hotel looks outdated on the outside but the inside is very lovely. Our hotel room was very nice and spacious. Breakfast was good too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Claire- Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us and your room was comfortable. We hope to welcome you back when you're next in the area. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

It was rubbish

Posted May 11, 2017
The staff was really rude they kicked out my 2 friends for no reason by force, called the police, my friend left her phone in the room none of the staff contacted us about it, my friends where stuck out on the the streets even though we are not from Nottingham at all we tried to explain but they wouldn't listen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Milan, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and your friends were unable to stay at the hotel. From looking at this further, I understand that there were numerous noise complaints reported from other guests next to your room and a staff member had to visit your room on two occasions to request the noise be kept to a minimum and to be considerate of the other guests. A warning was given, and on the 3rd occasion our Duty Manager asked the 2 guests which were not affiliated with the reservation to leave. Please be assured that the police were called due to your friends causing disturbance to all guests on the 4th floor and guest doors were being kicked. As a hotel it is our duty of care to ensure that all guests are safe and comfortable during their stay, and therefore appropriate action needed to be taken. I understand your friends were in the care of the police officers who attended and made sure they could make other arrangements for the night. I do apologise for the inconvenience but hope you can understand why the hotel management took such action. As a hotel, we do not accept this behaviour and appropriate action will be taken to care for our guests. Once again, I apologise for your disappointing stay. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

Staff are not brilliant...

Posted May 7, 2017
I requested a twin room when booking on line, I was given a queen which was no good, I explained that I had requested a twin and was told I should have phoned the hotel to book. I also tried to use the hotel car park but apparently I had to pre book which I was not informed of when booking and it was full. Not impressed over all, I've had much better service at other hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Daz, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay was not to our usual high standards and you didn't get the room you had booked. I have looked into this for you and I understand that the Expedia booking form does mention that bedding requests cannot be guaranteed and to contact the hotel to confirm. However I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate the feedback and hope we can exceed your expectations should you stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nice but poor parking

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: beautiful rooms, great restaurant facilities
Cons: parking
Location: downtown
Nice hotel, but poor parking. When we got there, we had to park in the above ground garage across the street and pay 15 pounds to park with no compensation. Get there early.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had a lovely stay, thought the rooms were beautiful and liked the restaurant. With regards to the parking, we ask all guests to book a space prior to arriving at the hotel due to the limited car parking spaces we have. I'm pleased we were able to redirect you to the nearest car park from the hotel as an alternative option. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kindest Regards, Claire Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane AU

Good value, convenient location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient, good value.
Cons: Nothing really. Initially I thought that access was poor until I realised that there was another lift that serviced the reception/street level.
Location: Very central. Close to castle, transport.
Hotel has all the expected amenities at a good price. Generally quiet with double glazing, (and effective aircon) except for some late-night noise from a nearby night-spot that was only slightly intrusive. Central to city, castle etc. A short cab ride (or long walk) to station, buses at the front door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay, thought the hotel was great value and the location was convenient. We hope to see you again soon when you're next in the area! Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Nice hotel.Room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the town.A bit noisy @ night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Claire- Guest Relations , Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay overall and thought the hotel was nice. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room far too hot

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The hotel is nice and in a great location. However, the room was far too hot and with broken windows we were unable to get any cool air in! Resulted in nobody being able to sleep and ruining our next day because we were all so tired!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Claire - Guest Relations, Nottingham , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay with us didn't exceed your expectation and you were unable to have a comfortable nights sleep. I have personally checked the room you stayed in and it is clear that there needs to be some repairs done on the window handles, which restricted you from opening them. Our Chef Engineer has been made aware of this and is currently looking to this. Had you reported to us that you were uncomfortable in your room, we would have been more than happy to look at an alternate room for you, or looked into resolving the heating in your room. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, Claire Guest Relations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's great to see you enjoyed your recent stay and thought it was worth 4 stars! We hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by Tom

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room and food at breakfast was amazing. The only down side was the greeting we received at reception was very poor. The attitude of the the young male who served us was quite rude and abrupt. We had reserved our rooms months in advance only to be told he couldn't find our reservation. It was for my friends stag do so there was 11 of us and he was suggesting I'd made a mistake and it wasn't booked!! It turned out the system uses your first name and not surname as the booking reference - surely the staff should be trained to know this basic detail?! After about 5-10 minutes his female colleague took over, who was also very cold and abrupt. Eventually she found our reservations, no attempt to apologize for suggesting I'd made a mistake at booking! The young male was much friendlier later in the evening when he saw the groom dressed up in his costume so maybe he was just having a bad moment. Either way it was a poor first impression to what ended up being a nice, contemporary, comfortable hotel. The food at breakfast was very good. Service was unfortunately compromised as there wasn't enough staff. The only other niggle was that a team of tradesmen we're installing/repairing the air conditioning pipes in the hallway outside our room which didn't leave us much room to manoeuvre (2nd floor, room 201). Seems like an odd day to book this kind of maintenance on your busiest trading day of the week?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write your honest feedback. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay overall and thought breakfast was amazing. Please be assured that I have shared your comments about our reception team with our Front Office Manager who is currently investigating and addressing the staff attitude. This is not to our usual high standard of customer service and I am sorry you had such a poor experience. With regards to the air conditioning, we're currently undergoing some essential improvement maintenance to upgrade the hotel's systems, and we're aiming to get this done as soon as possible. However you should not have been affected by this work and our contractors should be more aware of our guests in house. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, so that our Chief Engineer can address this appropriately. I hope you were still able to enjoy your evening for your friend's stag do and that the groom had a memorable night out in Nottingham! Kind Regards, Claire
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location but not a 5*

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had 3 rooms. Room 116 the AC works when it feels like it and it looks like the hotel management knew about this as they already put a portable heater in the room. My disabled mother was cold during the night. There was also a musty smell in the room. Staff were not engaging and really looks disinterested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Claire - Park Plaza Nottingham, Hotel Management
Dear Mshif, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to see your recent stay was not to our usual high standards and that you encountered a few issues. With regards to the heating in the room, we're currently undergoing some essential improvement maintenance to our air conditioning units which is why you may have experienced some issues with the heating in your room. We ensured all guests that may be affected by this system upgrade had a portable heater in the room to ensure their stay was more comfortable. Had you let us know during your stay that you were uncomfortable and cold, we could have looked at alternative options for yourself and your mother as we like to make sure all our guests are looked after to the best of our ability. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and can only hope you haven’t lost faith in us as a hotel. Kind Regards, Claire Felton Guest Relations