Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leics

Good central location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Room quality
Lovely helpful staff, good breakfast, great location next to castle and within 5 mins of town centre . However visit spoiled by boiling hot stuffy room. I know we have a heatwave but in such a small room the temperature was unbearable. Air conditioning needs installing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Albergo nel centro di Nottingham

Posted Jul 23, 2016
L'albergo sarebbe stato OK se non fosse per la assenza di aria condizionata nelle camere con una temperatura esterna a Luglio di 25/28 gradi. Le stanze erano dotate di soli ventilatori elettrici....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Better similar rated hotels around

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Queued to check in whilst being ignored by other staff. Booked double room for single use, quite small. Hardly any room either side of bed. Bathroom not great condition, looking very tired. Shame as public areas of hotel look great. I stay in Nottingham regularly, to be honest I wouldn't rush back here. I did email hotel but have had no response
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca

Similar to NYC Hotels

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Spent only one night in order to catch a 5:30 am train to London. Single rooms are tiny but equipped with what you need. Clean and very helpful staff. Centrally located to the train station, castle, and main square. Absolutely walkable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: The wifi signal was rubbish. Couldn't get connected or stay connected for long.
Location: Nottingham Castle
Had a nice two night stay in St. James. It's extremely close to the castle and many places to eat. Also a short walk from the Tram to get around. The décor is very modern and I enjoyed my stay. As mentioned in other reviews, the room was smallish, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was not the size of a closet. The included amenities were nice, my room included a hairdryer, iron, fan, and one of those kettles that heats water very quickly for tea or coffee. Breakfast is not included, but I paid extra for it and it was a nice, hot breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Old, outdated

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The staff was kind. Check in was a breeze. The rooms are outdated. Toilets barely flush. Beds are bouncy. Bath/shower was elevated, mildew lined caulk. Two bulbs were burned out. Clock did not work. In the US, this would be comparable to a super 8 off the highway in a dodgy part of town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aangenaam, rustig en toch dicht bij het centrum

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Locatie
Cons: Enig punt ter verbetering; airco in de kamer.
Klassiek hotel met stijl. Prima locatie. Vriendelijk personeel.
3 out of 5
by Duncan from Weybridge

Not sure that I would go back??

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lets start with the good side - its a city centre hotel and in a great location. If I had had more time I would have been in a great place to experience Nottingham. The room was clean and the window opened to provide some ventilation so that I got a decent nights sleep. Breakfasts was OK - nothing special as far as the food goes but the lack of guests meant that it was cooked to order although it did seem to appear very quickly! Overall not bad. Now the downside. I've slept in bigger cupboards so beware what room you get. I was in 114 and there was so little room between the bed and the walls that I couldn't walk between them. I had to crawl over the bed to get in and out. The wifi is so slow and flaky that it was in effect unusable and that was just to get my work email. I ended up connecting to my phone which was quicker and more stable. and finally check out the small print. I booked this because they show "self parking". Its only when you scroll all the way down to the small print that you see they charge for parking (£10 a night) and I didn't find that out until I arrived and the receptionist was pretty surly too.
4 out of 5
by Charlotte from Lincs

Good central location

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great for a one night stay, nice and central, staff very friendly, room was comfortable and clean, good shower. Hotel décor is a little 'out there' eclectic & the lift carpet is not for the faint hearted! Great breakfast. enjoyed out stay. Good value for the price we paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, very good breakfast. Could be improved by having air con and a safe in the room. Will stay again.