Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Excellent hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lovely hotel, staff extremely polite and helpful. Room was clean and well laid out. Only niggle was that you had to contact reception to get the Wi-Fi password and as there was a wedding reception on they were very busy and we didn't have the time to wait around. (Phone line to reception was also busy). Our overall experience was relaxing and stress free which is what you want from a weekend break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We stayed in exclusive double room and it was lovely! The bed was huge and so comfy! Lots of added extras such as bath robes and slippers. The reception area and bar were also just as good! I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

V Cental to Nottingham centre

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Sound proofing
Clean and pleasant stay. Easy to find Central location within easy walking distance to all that Nottingham as to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Convenient to city centre

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The entrance.
Cons: Decorating in the bedroom area and bathroom.
Disappointed that we need to park in public car park and pay extra, even though discounted rate. Reception area looked good. Lift and other areas not vacuumed. Bedroom very small, needs updating with smarter fabrics, colour and better workmanship. Bed itself was comfortable to sleep in even though my feet were over the end, I am only 5.5ft!! Breakfast and staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Very convenient for the city centre.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything but especially the location.
Lovely hotel, attractively furnished and in an excellent location. Situated next to the castle, it is in a lovely part of the city. Great breakfast and very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by The St James Hotel, Nottingham, Hotel Management
Hello Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay with us. We're delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and liked the design of the hotel as well as the location. We will certainly pass your comments onto the staff at the hotel, in particular the breakfast department. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at the hotel. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Convenient for city centre overnight.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Stayed for one night to attend function in city centre. Staff very friendly and efficient on check in. Room VERY small but was expecting that after a previous stay but was very comfortable and clean. Didn't use any other hotel facilities as was just using it as a place to sleep. If you park in the multi storey next door get your ticket stamped at reception when leaving and it will discount to £11 per night. Will happily use again if staying overnight in Nottingham.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by The St James Hotel, Nottingham, Hotel Management
Hello Kev, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're happy to read that you had a great stay with us and will pass your comments onto our reception and housekeeping teams. Thank you once again for your feedback and hopefully we'll see you again soon at the hotel. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great hotel in walking distance to castle

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: We booked this hotel because we were in town for just 2 nights and wanted to be able to walk places. From the moment we set foot inside the foyer, we were impressed by everything about it: all the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and fully equipped with TV, internet, a coffee maker, a full bath, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast buffet offered super good full English breakfast, and there's even a comfortable bar.
Cons: I liked everything about this hotel and will definitely stay there again if I ever go to Nottingham again. The only thing that was kind of funny was the elevator ("the doors are now closing...")
Location: Walking distance to Nottingham Castle, to The Old Trip to Jerusalem, and less than 10 minutes walk to shops; also 5 min walk to a car hire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice remodel, best hotel I stayed in England

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Biggest rooms and nicest bathroom facilities I saw during a 9 night stay in England. Well done remodel. Worth a stay if you're in Notts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The hotel is just a few steps from the castle and close to the shopping are. They did only have one power adapter for the entire hotel though. Very odd! I could not recharge my phone and computer which was a clear minus, but the hotel was nice and the staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect Castle District Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location and character.
Cons: Room cleanliness (rug).
Location: Walking distance to the Castle and surrounding sights and sounds. Lovely old pubs and decent restaurants nearby.
My second stay at the St. James. This time, just for one night, but scored a free stay with Expedia points. I booked a single room, which is obviously on the smaller side, but with all the necessary amenities. Room was perfect, except the rug smelled like a wet dog... Would recommend this hotel for location and overall quality.