Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to HWY 101

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Motel was in a low-traffic area but was still convenient to Hwy 101.
Cons: The wall outlets; I was unable to plug electronic devices into the wall outlets because the prong openings were too large to hold the device plugs.
Location: Motel is not near anything - the closest restaurants and gas stations are 10 minutes away by car.
You get what you pay for. Location is convenient to Napa, the coast, and San Francisco. The rooms were appropriate for the room rate, but could have been cleaner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon. uk

Out in the sticks.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Stayed for 4 nights. Cleaners did not speak any English. Our rooms were not cleaned on two occasions. We had to report this to reception before it they were cleaned. Pool was freezing cold. Breakfast was the same as our room very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Near to where I needed to visit.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Location for where I wanted to be.
Cons: Rooms (at least mine) could use a good face lift.
Location: Physical location seems isolated.
Enjoyed the included breakfast. Office personnel assisted me with flight check-ins.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Not great

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Hotel NEEDSs to upgrade ASAP. Pool was awesome. But rooms not so much. Beyond beat up and old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Adequate Hotel with a questionable staff

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Affordable room rate, double beds, swimming pool, hot tub, included breakfast, and close proximity to the 101 Highway.
Cons: The staff, training, and following the Days Inn promise of making things right.
Location: Grand Street, Historic Downtown Novato. Hiking in Mill Valley, to Stinson Beach, or Muir Woods. Shopping at Nordstrom in Corte Madera.
I recently stayed at the DAYS INN, NOVATO, CA, which is north of the San Francisco Bay Area. The room rate was affordable, the room superficially clean (although musty and a bit run down), the property attractive (pool, hot tub, apple tree, and large sliding glass door), but the staff needs improvement. My room was NOT CLEANED, although I called to request cleaning to the front desk (no answer), and spoke with a housekeeper who confirmed service would be performed that day. When I brought this to the night staff's attention, clean sheets and towels were provided, so that I could tidy up the room myself. I wanted to follow up with the day staff to ensure that housekeeping would be performed each day of my stay, but was greeted with a completely inappropriate, undertrained response. Staffer Michelle refused to apologize, as she was not personally responsible for any misunderstanding that I might have had with other staffers, and was reluctant to make things right (ensure service), and was so confrontational and verbally abusive, I was left in tears. It's not the problems of a hotel that make it bad. We are all human, and mistakes happen. It's how the mistakes are handled that can make or break an experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Very nice place

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet
Location: Not much - there's nothing within walking distance. Convenient to the freeway.
Well maintained and clean, the grounds are nicely landscaped. The A/C was pretty loud. It's fairly isolated on a frontage road next to the 101 freeway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Price for a Comfortable Stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The hotel was clean, but a little aged. Staff were terrific and friendly. Situated close to San Francisco so that it was easy to go in and see the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel cozy feel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This hotel is exactly what I was looking for. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay in novato and don't mind being in a little bit nowhere it's perfect. There is a highway right best by but it was not loud at all while I was there. Staff was friendly and stayed out of our way. Hotel felt safe they're large trucks in parking lot much of the time but once again noise was not an issue. Bed was nice comforter was surprisingly soft the pillows however were classic hotel I needed three just to get the density. Overall it filled my needs quite well and hotel staff was accommodating. If you're looking for quiet calamity awaus from town or visiting muir woods its great. If you're looking for action at all close by or fancy accommodations this probably isn't right for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Lcation from San Francisco.
Cons: Clean the room, new paint and furniture to start.
Room was disgustingly dirty and run-down. Reception was unable to provide alternative room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

OK but needs help

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Doable facility but needs updating. No light bulb in desk lamp. A/C barely kept room cool. Bathroom looked like it was worked on by a kid. Breakfast area was really bad. Sam the desk person was very good, made the stay OK.