Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibraltar

Good hotel;some improvements to enhance experience

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Overall pleasant stay but a bit overcrowded e.g. Andalus restaurant with only one food station meant long queues. Some tired facilities (broken chairs), but I understand that the hotel will be undergoing renovations for next season. Food quality was mainly very good. Wine quality was average, perhaps introduce wine list even if at extra cost. Entertainment was a mixed match, some shows were very good, magician and flamenco (better than many tourist oriented) content of one I felt was not suitable for children. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Look forward to the improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Comfortable fun

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Pool, Pizza
Cons: Maintenance, availability of sight-seeing tours
Location: This property is miles from any thing to do. There is nothing nearby.
This is a difficult review to write. Overall, we liked the Riu Chiclana better than this review will sound. The food was very good. The service staff friendly, helpful and charming. The rooms were clean, the pools were beautiful and the beach is incredible. However, there are some downsides. The hotel is an older property and is showing its age. It needs some major repairs and, possibly, some reconstruction. The rooms are small, windowless and claustrophobic. The air conditioning is older and doesn't work very well. Also, this is a resort for people who do not want to do anything but sit in the sun and relax by the water. The hotel is miles from anywhere you might want to visit and there is only one tour operator to speak with if you want to go off property. This tour operator has very limited offerings. The front desk staff is very nice and tries to be helpful but most of the information received about things that were not on the property was wrong. Overall the ClubHotel Riu Chiclana deserves 4 stars and I would give it 4.5 if I could but it isn't perfect.
5 out of 5
by James from Gibraltar

Ruicadiz

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel for family, pool was excellent and food was pretty decent. Would be staying again in the near future
5 out of 5
by Michael from Gibraltar

Riu chiclana

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice hotel all what you need in a hotel very nice place food and facilities were great
1 out of 5
by jeff mac

not 5 star

Posted Jul 22, 2012 on Hotels
staff food rooms very poor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Monica from England, UK

Family stay 5 nights near Easter

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Relaxing, clean, beach and facilities inc. indoor pool
Cons: Location slightly isolated, surrounded by other hotels but no real centre to walk to
Location: Good proximity to beach. Otherwise nowhere to walk to and cycling would not be great. Good access to major roads for sightseeing eg Cadiz, Jerez
Family 2 adults 2 kids age 6 and 8 all inclusive. Family room more like an apartment, bedroom kingsize bed, lounge two beds with cushions on easy to covert to sofas and good size bathroom. Rooms cleaned daily if required. Stayed early April pleasantly busy. Outdoor pools used by a few but not widely as too cold, indoor pool/jacuzzi excellent and open 8am-8pm. Shows on a nightime that my 8 year old inparticular loved. Food very good, wide choice. Guests predominantly German and Spanish but staff spoke some English if required so no problems although we tried to use our limited Spanish where we could. Very short and pleasant walk to excellent beach.Hotel friendly and family orientated.They had kids clubs and other activities for all daily but we didn't use them partly as not many English but mainly because plenty of other stuff to do (inparticular because we had a car) -hotel is a little isolated - no major centre to walk to. Parking not a problem outside hotel.When we picked the car up in Malaga the car hire staff knew of the hotel immediately. It has a good reputation and we could see why as we had a relaxing, comfortable and memorable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sevilla

Es un hotel familiar y cofortable

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Muy cómodo divertido Comida buena pero el horario se puede poner también para españoles no solo para estranjeros por lo demás de 10
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huelva

Hotel estupendo

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Personal estupendo y la animación excelente! El hotel en si esta muy bien, buena comida pero instalaciones muy antiguas aunque muy limpio todo. En el buffet lo que cambiaría seria los postres, muy repetitivo ,todos los días lo mismo y la calidad deja mucho que desear...la comida muy buena pero los postres...de bajo coste sin duda. Las camas supletorias fatal, ya que te ponen un sofá cama para los niños que es peor que dormir en el suelo, aunque en cúanto nos quejamos nos pusieron otra cama sin problema. Creo que deberían hacerlo desde u. Principio y no esperar a que te quejes para cambiarlo. Por lo demás, todo muy bien, unas vacaciones muy buenas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asturias

Muy buena experiencia, sin duda para repetir.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Todo.
Cons: Nada.
Location: Buena ubicación, no es difícil acceder al hotel y la playa está muy cerca.
El hotel increíble, tal cual indican las fotografías, a 50 metros de la playa. Sin duda repetiría y lo recomendaría. Fuimos en pareja y estuvimos encantados, muy bien todo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Esta muy anticuado

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Esta muy anticuado y uno de los dos dias que estuve no funciona el bar de la piscina lo cual fue un rollo. Otra cosa que no me gusto fue que los espectáculos empezaran tan temprano pues no nos daba tiempo de cenar si no lo haces como los ingleses claro