Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beachfront friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The Riu Mazatlan is an excellent hotel with many amenities, friendly staff and great beach. The food was excellent as well as the cleanliness of the entire place and the price is right. Highly recommend it, you’ll have a super great time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yes

Posted Nov 14, 2017
No coffee available in. Room. Shoul have a coffe machine available and more comfortable pillows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Will not be back ever again

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful beach but not too safe to swim at...but lovely beach
Cons: Friendlier staff by paying attention to details, UPGRADE beds and pillows, make bath tub smaller/safer
Location: Everything is within reach.
The bed is probably one of the worst I have ever slept on, really hard and old. Pillows are the worst! Some of the staff are not friendly at all. We wanted to talk to a front desk manager and this girl by the name of Cynthia said there are no managers to talk to. Tub not safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim Hills, CA

Great hiotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Buffet style meals were great for lunch, and the red wine flowed freely!
Cons: Unfortunately, the hotel can't do much to improve my one negative --too many unattended children running wild at the buffets, elevators, and pools.
Location: We took many excursions - Deer Island, Stone Island, speed boating, ATV tours.
The hotel staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. The dining staff went out of their way to ensure we were satisfied with the meals, and even had the cooks prepare fried fish one night at dinner when there was only grilled options available on their buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton utah

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Very clean
Cons: The elevators air conditioning
Location: Is a little for every thing but is because have a long beach
Was fun, good food, the service excellent, we think back again very soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winlock, washington

40 year old couple

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Beds okay for an all inclusive hotel. Beach was awesome, best we've been to in all of our Mexico vacations. Ocean is like bath water, clean water, sand is great and you can swim in the ocean here! Leo the bartender at the sports bar was the best bartender there, very friendly, quick service and made great drinks. Food was the same at all the restaurants, buffets...Average! Nightly Entertainment was good, geared more towards children rather than adults! This time of year is 99% nationals and we we're told winter time is more Canadian and American tourists!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Right on the beach

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: room was always clean
Nice location but very hot in August so be prepared. Elevators are awful. They seem to skip floors for no reason. The food on the buffets were usually the same everyday. We found a place just north with a 10 minute walk that was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Excellent

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: all
Cons: nothing
Service and attention of the best, unique experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el paso tx

avoid this old outdated hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: food is ok
Cons: the fountain at the pool are loose.
room 1109 with no a/c, as soon as we arrived we made the report of the problem no one fixed it. at the second day of our stay, water start dropping from the roof where the a/c vent is, no one came never to fix it..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Adequate

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Orbitz
I would say most things in the hotel are adequate. First the good. The ocean had the warmest water I have ever experienced. The pools are good too. Great kids pool with lots to do. The staff is pretty courteous especially when you tip. What is not good is that you only get one set of towels a day. So if you want a set of fresh ones because you want to take an afternoon break from the sun, sorry. The rooms are pretty clean except for the occasional mold on light switches and shower curtains. In our room the remote control didn't work. We had to ask twice to have it exchanged. The towels feel like a sandpaper (which is an issue if you forgot to reapply sunscreen). All the reviews about the elevators being slow is 100% correct. Many times we had to take the stairs. My biggest issue was the food. I have stayed in many all inclusive resorts and 2 other Riu. I have never complained about the food. There are 2 buffets both have almost the same thing. Both disappointing. Several stations serve the same thing for both dinner and breakfast. Food is bland and sloppy. The restaurants that need reservations are decent but super hard to get into. I would not stay here again.