Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dar es salaam, tz

Posted Mar 18, 2019
Location and perfect environmentally friendly management
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2019 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a great review on your recent stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in future. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2019
Beautiful beach and fun bar on the ocean with nightly entertainment. The rooms were dated, food was average and the all-inclusive was limited to two restaurants and a beach bar with limited drink options. Seemed overpriced to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2019 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est Team, Hotel Management
Dear Smitty, Thank you for sharing your personal opinion on your stay with us. We are sorry if some areas of your stay did not meet all of your expectations. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 25, 2018 on Hotels
My wife and I had a great stay at Diamonds La Gemma a few weeks ago. But we need to make some considerations about this resort: first, this is not a truly 5-star resort. The beachfront rooms are very dated with dark wood furniture, old & stained curtains and need some serious renovations. The beachfront rooms area does not have that light fresh beach feeling. Second, the "all inclusive" package is NOT really ALL inclusive. With only one type of alcoholic drink in each "category"... ONLY one brand of wine, vodka, rum, whiskey and so on. If you want another brand you have to pay extra for it! And not all cocktails are included either. Having stayed at a few all-inclusive resorts around the world, this was a bit weird and disappointing. The hotel grounds are amazing and very well maintained. The vibe is perfect for relaxation and laid back days on a stunning beach. And there's the staff! The staff is definitely 5 stars! They would do anything for you to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable, even though sometimes it seems they need more training. Hats off for Jeremiah at the Tropicana bar! He went far and beyond to make us happy throughout our stay, always with a smile on his face. Thanks Eric at reception who gave us a 4 pm checkout. Olga was also very kind and nice, thanks a lot. Last, make sure you bring enough cash as there's no ATM machine in the resort or nearby. Overall our stay was perfect and we would stay there again! Hopefully, they do some renovations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2018 by La Gemma dell'Est Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Regis, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Gemma dell'Est and we sincerely appreciate your positive comments on our garden and our beach. We will pass your special mention to Jeremiah, Erick and Olga which we are sure will encourage them to perform even better. We are however saddened that some aspects of your stay did not meet all your expectations but we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again whenever your travel plans bring you back to Zanzibar and experience a future stay in one of our renovated room category. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Nice hotel - great location, food & service

Posted Oct 12, 2018
Lovely hotel with private beach and swimming pool. Good choice of activities. Stunning location. Fabulous staff and food choice and quality. I can’t recommend this place enough and look forward to returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2018 by La Gemma dell'Est Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear S, Thank you for your recent stay at Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est and for taking your time to write a review. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments on our beach, pool as well as our activities. We trust that we will see you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Gemma dell'Est in future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, UK

Nice hotel on a great location.

Posted Sep 18, 2018
Fantastic staff who cannot do enough for you; great location with 180 views to die for; large choice of very nice food. Some constructive criticism: Pity the rooms were dark and needing an upgrade. Some lights didn’t work at all and some worked some of the time (switch needed changing). Asked the reception for assistance, they promised somebody would come but nobody turned up; disappointing. Overall had a great holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2018 by LAGEMMA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind feedback and for sharing it with us. I will personally follow up on your point raised and we all hope you will come back very soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2018 by MSchibler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your stay and for your kind feedback. Me and my team are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Sep 9, 2018 on Orbitz
3 things were broken in the room to start off with. Room quality was terrible for the price! Worth maybe 100$ if that. Construction going on at the room right in front of us... that was our view.... seriously though the room is same as a 3 Star best western in the USA for comparison. Only the cheapest of cheap drinks are included in the package. Pool was also sad and needs to be redone. Hotel needs lots of improvement and I don’t recommend it for the crazy price they are charging. I know hotels, trust me on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2018 by LAGEMMA, Hotel Management
Dear guest. Thank you for your feedback. Our policy is to guarantee full satisfaction to all our guests. Our records show that you have not brought forward your issues to us while at the resort which makes it unfortunately impossible for us to rectify. The constructions that you are referring to became necessary due to a problem in the wood of the roof of the porch to your building. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2018 by LAGEMMA, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you for your rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Brilliant hotel in a quiet area of Nungwi

Posted Jun 25, 2018
Pros: Staff is courteous and genuinely nice! The big bungalow over the water is a gem and you can enjoy the most beautiful sunsets sipping a glass of wine.
Cons: Food was plenty and tasted fresh, but we felt the breakfast was boring and repetitive, lacking good quality fresh breads and more variety of cold meat
Location: Location couldn't be better, the beach in front of the hotel is a dream, and if you walk southbond, the little pristine bay is even better for a swim!
Very nice hotel with great staff and lovely location. Deluxe rooms are good sized and seems enough for a pleasant stay. Make sure you plan your stay to be there at La Gemma on any Thursday, as they have an Swahili Dinner at the African Village, with local dishes and delicacies prepared fresh on an open-air environment and you can enjoy live local music and a Masai presentation. Having booked with Expedia, we were surprised to get a VIP complimentary A La Carte dinner in the Beach Grill restaurant - what an experience it was! Go for the Mixed Seafood platter and Indian Ocean Lobster - the dishes were enourmous and fresh - best seafood we had in a long time. We were served by the nicest waitress, Betha, which was charming and all smiles. About the reception and check in staff, we felt that local ones lacked a bit of english, as they passed wrong information (i.e. check out times and availability of late check out) more than once. Kudos to Michela, the italian assistant, who helped us a couple of times and sorted the minor inconvenients. We had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to recommend La Gemma dell'Este to anyone wishing to stay in Nungwi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, Thank you for your positive review. Me and my team are very happy that you did like your stay at our resort. We do our best to assure all our guests a great stay and we appreciate your feedback very much. We all hope that you will visit us very soon again. Best regards, MSchibler
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2018 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, thank you very much for your feedback and for being with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Diamonds La Gemma Dell'Est, we wish you all the best. Kind regards