Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 night stay after a 9 day safari w/a 10 year old

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Like the other reviews correctly indicated, the beach at this resort is the best due to the tide variations.
Cons: Dive shop: we are active healthy people who didn't mind pulling the equipment out of the water ourselves.
Location: We enjoyed swimming, SUP, and just walking on the beach in both directions at low tide, which could take 3-4 hours!
We booked the resort on Expedia.com with only relaxation and water activities in mind. We were pleasantly surprised about pretty much everything and we have a good number of all-inclusive resorts under our belt, mostly in the Caribbean and Mexico and some in Turkey. We really liked the saltwater pool also. The check in was VERY smooth and fast. Food & staff great. We even found the resort shop to be reasonably priced, which was a huge surprise. Kudos to Expedia.com: we were upgraded to a newly built suite, which also came with an in room appetizer service in the evenings! The suites have an amazing yard, really huge, and beautiful decor, Italian furniture, very tasty and clean. The grounds are impeccable, it's like a botanical garden/museum! The resort offers a running map which was really nice. We thought the price was quite reasonable for this property, with impressive service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Andrew C., Hotel Management
Dear IremK, Thank you very much for leaving your wonderful review on Diamonds La Gemma Dell’Est. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and your accommodation, our private beach, the cuisine of our restaurant and the watersports. The marine life in Zanzibar is a spectacle that amazes everyone in the island. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from zurich

wxcellent rooms, even better beach, great bar

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Very clean and spacious, great beach, good food
Location: A bit of a distance from the airport but well worth it as beaches near town are nowhere as good.
Most relaxing 4 days, wish could stay longer. Spacious and comfortable rooms, lovely gardens, abundant and friendly staff. White fine sandy beach, clear waters, gerät bar on the water. Good choice of restaurants with the main Pavilion restaurant having a wide variety in the buffets. Would need to search very hard to find an equivalent relaxing atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear paresh, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our resort and that you enjoyed in particular our beach, our Pavilion restaurant, the room, the gardens, and the cleanliness of our facilities and friendliness of our staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy another wonderful holiday with us. Kind regards, Andrew Cook General Manager
5 out of 5
by Alwin

paradise in zanzibar

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is absolutely stunning. from check-in to check-out the service was excellent. we have vegetarian and vegan in our family and the food provided catered for all dietery requirements. always greeted with a smile. beautiful beach with security and the sellers on the beach cannot come up to where you sit so you are not hounded to buy. the sunset bar at sunset is stunning with breathtaking view of the ocean. the package is well worth the money paid for the fully inclusive option. we will be back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017
Alwin Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is absolutely stunning. from check-in to check-out the service was excellent. we have vegetarian and vegan in our family and the food provided catered for all dietery requirements. always greeted with a smile. beautiful beach with security and the sellers on the beach cannot come up to where you sit so you are not hounded to buy. the sunset bar at sunset is stunning with breathtaking view of the ocean. the package is well worth the money paid for the fully inclusive option. we will be back . Dear Alwin, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our resort. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to satisfy your expectations, in particular concerning the food to offer you a menu that met your diet. Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Andrew Cook General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel close to the beach with beautiful views

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It was nice getting away from everything; beach was very nice
Cons: Wasn't too impressed with the buffet food although the paying restaurants were very nice; bit confusing as what was included in an All Inclusive hotel
Location: Stonetown for history; Prison Island for history and see giant tortoises; The Rock, arrived on foot to The Rock but left by boat because of the tide.
Hotel staff were excellent especially as we travelled with 2 three year olds. Our room was very spacious and kept clean with a garden. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. They need to be regular with replenishing towels and face flannels every day, had to call them a couple of times for this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Miss P, Thank you very much for your time in leaving us your nice review. We are glad to hear that you and your young family enjoyed our resort from the room, gardens, to the beach and our staff. Thank your also for your constructive feedback that we have corrective steps in the areas highlighted. Thank you also for sharing your tour recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon again for another wonderful holiday in Zanzibar. Kind regards, Andrew
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Hotel just beside the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel is in nice place and the room was very comfortable. Generally all the staff were nice. However, the tap water was not in good condition which I couldn't put into my mouth even to brush my teeth (all the room gets complimentary big water bottles) Food were acceptable but not something I want to recommend my friend. Upon checking out, I was asking the reception about a cloth I left two nights ago in the restaurant. They don't share the lost and found items information each other. The hotel staff went to the restaurant and came back to tell me that nothing was found. Then I saw a one of the staff was leaving the reception holding a cloth which was really alike mine. I was asking the reception about it but he told me it was there for A WEEK. I asked the person at least to show me then I found out it was MINE!! They cannot even make a note for the lost and found item when it was found. What made me dissapoined was they didn't even show that item to me (the item was exactly the one as I explained). Overall, this hotel is nice but cannot expect a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Diamonds La Gemma dell'Est, Hotel Management
Dear Tam, Thank you very much for your time in leaving us your review. We are naturally disappointed to hear that all our service did not meet all your expectations. However we have seriously taken on board your comments about this inconvenience and taken corrective steps to ensure there is no repetition in the future. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our resort especially our beach and our rooms and thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff. We look forward to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Andrew
5 out of 5
by Andre

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable and even better than our expectation and worth every cent paid for the stay. Sea breeze restaurant's food was incredible
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great rooms. Good Service. Annoying Beach Salesman

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great room! Check in was an hour and a half delayed. But all in all it was a great place. The beach was clean and super nice. The people selling stuff on the beach were super annoying and super persistent. I had to tell them over and over to go away. Some people liked that though. You know the whole buying stuff that you'll never use or wear again thing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Racist management

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
The management at the hotel (the senior management is all white) is racist towards locals and anyone who looks like a local. My friend from Dar Es Salaam was with me at the hotel and repeatedly got stopped by security or staff (apparently he did not look rich enough to be able to afford the hotel) when I asked the staff I was told that the instructions from management is to not let locals on the resort grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. The security of our in-house guests is paramount and our guests are identified with the coloured wristband on arrival. If guests do not wear the wristband issued the staff and security will check. We have a very strong local market following and we employ over 500 local staff with a number of local staff in senior management and supervisory positions. We also work very closely with the local community on a number of key projects. For the security of our in-house guests we cannot just allow anyone to come in the resort unannounced. The challenge we face is the control and access of external guests that visit the resort without prior notice and this is a daily challenge with people trying to use our facilities for free. All external guests have to check in at reception, pre pay for the day use of the resort facilities and they are given a specific wristband that the staff and security can identify. If an external guest visiting an in-house guests bypasses this control the staff and security will check and verify who they are. I apologise if you felt that our actions came over as racist as this is certainly not the case. Kind regards Andrew
5 out of 5
by Nurzhan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Apr 18, 2016
We stayed 2 night, April 15 & 16 and enjoyed our stay and the beach. The hotel staff is outstanding. Very nice overall just not 5 stars. Laundry services and can fate cost more than you'd pay in America. I would highly recommend this property if your looking for a beach experience.