Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2018
The room and venue were nice and as expected. Unfortunately the service did not keep up. They rely heavily on the butler service for the Start of the East part of the resort, however we found that our butlers were unresponsive and uncommunicative. We had planned to spent three relaxing days at the resort, however, most of our time was spent trying to figure out how to order food and how to find the facilities. The management was receptive to our issues and is working through a partial solution.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2018 by MSchibler , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback which we already have received on site during your stay. I am terribly sorry that your stay was not to your entire satisfaction and we will review the services in question. It is very unfortunate that there seems to have been an accumulation of mishaps in your case as the very vast majority of our guests are very happy with all aspects of their stay. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Wonderful family stay

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The staff, the spacious villa, the food, the grounds, and the weather -- it was pretty perfect in October.
Cons: A daily (free) excursion to Nungwi town might be nice. Make the private pool deeper, and create some direct beach access villas.
Location: Very far from airport and excursions (spice tour, monkey forest, The Rock).
My 8 year old and husband and I stayed here for 11 nights. Everything was as expected, and in some cases exceeded expectations. The villa is roomy, and plenty of space for privacy. The staff is incredibly friendly and eager to help sort out any problems. They taught us some swahili and really helped us feel comfortable and welcomed. We needed electrical tape to mend a frayed computer cord and that was provided quickly - so impressed. Our room was always cleaned well, and often with decorative surprises, even for my child's bed. The food was kind of hit or miss. Some of it was outstanding, but other times, really not good. We never starved though, and you are spoiled for choices so if something doesn't work out, just order something else! The service down at the beach was very good and we loved having the private beach and sun loungers. I would not have stayed at this property without that amenity! The only downside, which is VERY minor is that the private pool is more like a wading pool - it's only about 2 feet deep and the resort itself is a long drive from from doing excursions elsewhere. If you want to do those, I'd recommend staying for several nights in Stone Town and do them from there. Shopping is much better there too. Overall, we had a very good stay and I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Doris

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2018 by LAGEMMA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind feedback. We all hope you will be returning very soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2018 by LAGEMMA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your score. We appreciate it very much
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lujo a orillas del oceano indico

Posted Sep 3, 2018 on Hotels
Excelente hotel en la maravillosa zanzibar. Con todos los lujos, atencion personalizada por tu mayordomo las 24hs y por el manager del hotel tambien. La villa, el hotel, la comida, las playas y el staff, todo fue excelente. pasamos 5 noches increibles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2018 by Christopher Sardet , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us during your holiday in Zanzibar and for sharing your fantastic feedback on hotels.com. We are delighted to read that you were happy with your stay and we all hope you will return to The Star of the East very soon. Best regards. Christopher Sardet Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kiel

Sehr hübsche, ruhige Villa mit eigenem Pool

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Die freundlichen Menschen
Cons: fällt mir im Moment nichts ein
Location: Das Hotel liegt abgeschieden. Alle Auslüge haben wir mit einem Taxifahrer und Reiseleiter gemacht.
Die Villa war sehr hübsch und ruhig. Von anderen Gästen komplett abgeschieden. Super nettes Personal, tolle Küche , alles frisch zubereitet- a là Carte. Schöner Privatstrand mit super Service.