Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by SHAUN

Perfect break

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I came to stay for two nights and had a fantastic relaxing break. Great location, staff, facilities and food! I recommend to take their all-inclusive package - so much good food and drinks - cocktails at the pool bar. They organised a nice sunset cruise for us and were very helpful. Our room was great, with a view of the ocean and the pool. We will be back for sure!
5 out of 5
by Wiaan

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!! Great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ali Mussa made our stay very special in Zanzibar

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was an amazing stay, thanks to Ali Mussa our stay was even better. From welcoming us, helping us with the luggage, to telling us more about Zanzibar and arranging a romantic dinner for me and my girlfriend etc, he was very kind, and if we asked something he arranged it or made it all possible. Thanks a lot Ali, hope to see you again when we come back one day.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Amazing Hotel!!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Super amazing place!! Rooms are spacious and clean, so is the bathroom. The staff here is so great and attentive. Food at the Fisherman's Grill is so good!! Pool staff is great and so are the drinks. You have direct access to the beach and security at all times so as to not be bothered by beach vendors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Michelle, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team and on behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not to my expectations of a hilton hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: the pool and beach
Cons: - hospitality -accomodating guests entirely - lighting in rooms
Location: the road to the hotel is atrocious, there are many hotels near by which you can walk to and lots of guys on the beach offering various beach activitie
- staff are not as accomodating and friendly as you would expect, being able to cater to your every need - staff barely speak english or understand it - breakfast isnt served before 7, and even then everything is not organized - rooms are stuffy and a bit gloomy - check in and check out wasnt as smooth sailing as expected - werent really welcomed or thanked for our stay - found hair in our room service, when we complained we were told oh sorry and given a bottle of water as compensation - the beaches are amazing - pool is great too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A

Good for a realxing stay, away from everything

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel is great if you want to get away and be sucluded. I spent 6 days, 5 nights here. It is close to the very top of Zanzibar so you are farther away from a lot of touristy stuff. The beach is beautiful and the hotel provides loungers and towels to guests for free. You are on island time so be mindful of that when ordering food (as in don't wait until you're starving or you'll be very upset). Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would go again for a more relaxed vacation. If you are planning on doing A LOT of sightseeing I would stay in a more central location as tours from this location can be very pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice stay at Doubletree

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: the rooms were great, comfortable and relaxing
Nice hotel, great location, attentive and friendly staff at reception. Would recommend for anyone wanting a relaxing stay at a resort. Beach is close, nice and walkable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise in Paradise

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic resort. Great food and bands. Large comfy rooms. White sand beach! Great staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Branco

Very convenient hotel with good facilities

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel very convenient in Nungwi with easy access to restaurants, pubs and front view to the beach! Rooms very spacious and with pool or ocean view! Good breakfast with lot of varieties. Some room of improvement in terms of activities indoor (e.g. Gym/dance in the pool, games, etc). Very happy with our choice and with services and facilities existent in the hotel!
5 out of 5
by Mukulanshonyi

Great hotel, awesome staff, with all facilities.

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in a remote untamed nature. The staff was exceptional, attentive to our needs. The room we booked Had 2 single beds, this was the last one available when booking, but on arrival we requested a room with a large bed, and the next day we were given a room with a large bed, on the beachfront. At night we could hear the soothing sound from the waves. It was awesome.