Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted May 7, 2018
Great hotel with nice food and rooms. Wonderful friendly staff. Had a great stay. Would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel, quiet location

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Friendly stuff, clean rooms
Cons: Wifi was very not stable all week.
Location: Swimming with turtles was nice.
Very nice and quite location hotel. We were with 2 kids - enjoyed it very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul, Turkey

Perfect spot on Nungwi Beach

Posted Feb 5, 2018
We stayed at Hideaway of Nungwi for a week in the last week of January. This is a well-designed and well-maintained hotel. Best thing about the hotel is abundant space for everyone even at 100% occupancy rate - we never had any issues in finding beach chairs or dinner tables during peak hours and never felt we are bumping into big crowds. Service many be slow at times as it is usually the case in Zanzibar but staff overall was attentive and very friendly. We had an issue with the reservation office in Italy but the local management made an extra effort to make up for it. Our room was a junior suite which had ample space to accomodate two adults and a child. It was tastefully decorated and clean. The only issue we had was the noise of the a/c so had to make the tradeoff to sleep without the a/c a few nights. Hideaway is located in one of the best spots of Nungwi Beach. There was security on the beach throughout the day and the staff worked hard to move around lounge chairs and umbrellas to adjust for high and low tides. There are no corals though so do not expect to see much if you have plans for snorkelling. Food overall was of good quality and there were plenty of options to choose from in every meal. We also tried the restaurants (one is a tepanyaki and the other serves game meat) and had a pleasant experience in both. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay and would very much recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Incredible Beach and Facilities

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The beach was incredible, the staff was super friendly, and Spa was fantastic.
Cons: If i had to find something that could be improved, i would suggest that the lightning on the pathways and the sea sports team could improve.
Location: The location is mind blowing, the beach is one of the best i've ever been to and the everything can be done through or at the hotel.
We had one of the most incredible experiences ever at Hideaway. As frequent travellers we were extremely happy with all aspects of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Alex

Nungwi Paradise

Posted Dec 5, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodation and setting at Hideaway far exceeded our expectations. The service provided by staff was warm, friendly and very professional. All were appreciative of the efforts we made to speak Swahili and took the time to teach us more. In terms of the setting, the beach, pool and restaurants were second to none! We were amazed by the colours of the sea and how well the hotel fits in with the surroundings. Overall this is in our top 2 resorts we have stayed in over 35 countries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Wonderful room, excellent buffet for all 3 meals everyday with a large number of choices. The beach was lovely and the water crystal clear with a sandy bottom. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little far from the main pool/ocean/ restaurant area but you can actually catch a ride in a golf cart with a staff member.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Honeymoon stay

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Ebookers
What can I say about this hotel - it really was such a special stay. The staff were phenomenal, the hotel was stunning and the beach was so beautiful. Most definitely hideaway has the most beautiful beach in Zanzibar! You will not regret booking here if you do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Very good all in all

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Good service. Needs more variety on food between the days and different meals. Birds are on the eating area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nairobi

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Amazing hote and staff. Good food very peaceful setting. Poolside service faultless easy access to beach.will definately revisit.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence

Paradise in Zanzibar

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing experience at a 5 star paradise Each room has a personal butler The food is amazing for an all inclusive resort and the location is divine White salt coloured sandy beach Quiet for the nightlife lovers though