Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Dimitrios

No value for money

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
No value for money for this hotel. Although we special request for a double bed room we got twins bed room and the second night we were prepared to sleep on one of those only. No alcohol service in the restaurant and poor breakfast. Good location and willing to service personnel. Poor internet speed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

More affordable option at Zanzibar

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great hotel with some nice comforts but more affordable in a very expensive stretch on Nungwi beach. The hotel staff are very helpful and attentive to your needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice for active holiday

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
More than welcome one!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smiles is amazing!!

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Smiles was such a lovely place to stay! We had a triple room and the staff was so helpful. Amazing views right from our room! Asante sana smiles :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Smiling Beach Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will meet again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Great hotel near the beach!

Posted May 15, 2016
I think this hotel I underrated for all it has to offer. Right in beach clean rooms and great price! Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Good hotel for famillies. Amazing beach!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Our triple room was clean and comfortable. The housekeepers sprayed for mosquitoes every night. Nets were provided.
We stayed here with our two young children, ages 1 and 3 for 9 days and had an amazing experience. The beach was fine for the kids- water was very warm and shallow for part of the day, which allowed us to play on the beach. There are also chairs set up further away from the beach where we hung out and played in the sand. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to our family. Hotel staff treated us well and were responsive to our questions and requests for help. We recommend the Three Brothers tour company next door to the hotel. We took a half day Stone Town tour and Spice tour for $80 USD plus tips (two adults and two children). Definitely highly recommend that, especially the Spice tour. We got to visit a spice farm, have a tour of how spices are grown and harvested, and sample lots of different spices like lemongrass, pepper, and cinnamon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quiet property with an ocean view suite

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: A quiet hotel during the day and at night.
Cons: Fix the water problems, every time I used the sink faucet, air and water shot out all over the place.
Location: Nothing to do nearby.
I have a mixed feelings about this place as I had high hopes based on the reviews that it would be a 4-star stay. I was pleasantly surprised on the condition of the suite, however the next day everything turned for the worse. At 6AM, I noticed there was no water in my suite. I spoke to the front desk about this, and by the time I left the suite, it was 2.5 hours without water. The water issue was corrected by the time I got back later that day, but then my toilet didn't work. I reported the broken toilet to three different staff, and it was broken for two days before the maintenance guy repaired it. I spoke to the manager about this, she apologized and offered me a dinner in lieu of what happened. There also were two brief power outages, which were manageable to deal with and not relevant to the property's final rating. The wi-fi signal was strong, and one of the strengths of this property for amenities. The property grounds were well-maintained, the housekeeping staff were good, and the complimentary breakfast was decent. The hotel is on the quiet part of Nungwi beach, so you will have to walk west along the beach to get to better restaurants and avoid the seaweed in front of Smiles Beach Hotel. I like that the property was quiet, although the quality of beach in front of the property, the distance to the popular areas, coupled with the water and toilet problems that impacted my vacation, results in a disappointing 3-star review rating for a hotel that has potential.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Great view and excellent food!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at Smiles Beach Hotel, the view of the ocean and direct access to secluded beach was wonderful. Best of all was the amazing food at the Smiles beach restaurant... We tried different places in Nungwi, but the Smiles kitchen served the best local seafood!! (it takes a bit of time, but freshly prepared excellently crafted meals are worth the wait). Thanks to all the Smiles staff for your wonderful hospitality...
4 out of 5
by Christophe Blanchet from Québec, Canada

A good value hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
A good value hotel in a quieter area of Nungwi. Rooms are really clean. One thing that could be improved, but still is frequent all over zanzibar, is a longer time of hot water for the shower.