Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Quzhen

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ia Orana Quzhen, Thank you for your grade, we were happy to host you and hope to welcome you back again. Mauruuru !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as expected for the price tag

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Most hotel staff are friendly but much is lost in translation or lack of translation. Food and drinks on Resort premises were only fair. Not enough tour choices nor outside restaurant choices. Neighborhood outside Resort looked poor. We asked for help to upgrade flight seating back to LAX but that never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Sofitel Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Ia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort. Your feedbacks are very important to us! Please, be sure that we will take in consideration each point you mentionned in order to improve our guests experience. We would like to sincerely apalogize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Thanks again to have choosing us for your stay in Bora Bora. Maururu !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place! Unfortunately we did not get to see many fish in the water around our cabin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ia Orana Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Maururu !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much moving

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The staff and people are very friendly.
We came here for our honeymoon. Everything with our flight was good, but once we got to the resort they told us our room wasn't available and we would be staying in the garden bungalow instead even though we didn't get notified. They said there was a storm so they were fixing the over water and lagoon bungalows but all the other bungalows seemed fine as well as with the other resorts and it looked like they were just remodeling a bit. There was a lot of confusion and we were told they didn't receive our payment even though we bought it through expedia ahead of time and we didn't have any issues with our flight. We were then told we'd need to repay or we could call expedia and figure out the issue with the payment. This is not how we expected to be greeted especially coming for our honeymoon after a long flight. We then spoke to the manager who apologized for the confusion and said they'll look into it and figure it out. We were at least able to get the beach bungallow for 3 days and then had to move to the garden and then to the lagoon bungallow which we originally paid for. It was a hassle to keep moving but they gave us a refund on the price differences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Sofitel Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort. Your comment is very important to us! Please, be sure that we will consider each point you mentionned in order to improve our guests experience. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Thanks again to have choosing us for your stay in Bora Bora. Maururu !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet escape with my honey

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location, service staff and private bungalows
Cons: Concierge staff seemed clueless at times
Location: Lots of water activities and restaurants. Don't miss Matira Beach Restaurant, avoid Bloody Mary's
We were on our honeymoon, perfect place to get away from it all and spend time together. Great staff at the bar and restaurant. Excelent private events.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Ia Orana Alan, thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! Please, be sure that we will tconsider your feedbacks about the conciergerie in order to improve our guests experience. We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again! Maururu !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Private Island is the best!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had Bungalow 101 on the Private Island. Incredible experience. No children under the age of 14 allowed. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We did have 1 bad experience that had nothing to do with the hotel. We went to Matira Beach which is one of the highest rated beaches in the world. The beach is beautiful and it is fine to walk and swim there. But don't dare lay down your towel. Even though the beach is public, we were intimidated on 3 separate occasions to move our towels by the locals who live there. The owner of the La Mitira Beach restaurant (large man with tattoos) actually threatened us with violence because we didn't approve of his wife's (tall thin blonde woman) request to move our towels for the 3rd time. It was not worth the trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, Hotel Management
Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Private Island! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again! Maururu !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m, austin, TX

Good hotel, a little run down

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We were delighted with the upgrade and welcome bottle of champagne. The bungalow was on the rather small beach but still adequate. It seems that recent rains have impacted the property significantly. Bar and restaurant staff were wonderful and food was good. Breakfast was little tired but plentiful. The front desk staff is not very attentive to the customer. Our simple checkout took over 15 minutes. Great kayak and snorkel available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! Please, be sure that we will take your feedbacks in consideration in order to improve our guests experience. We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again! Maururu !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, great restaurant and wonderful staf

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Internet wifi and upgrade some rooms.
Location: Don't go to Bloody Mary's restaurant. Very rude!
We had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel. The surroundings were amazing and the food at the restaurants were amazingly delicious. We would go back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again! Maururu !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great friendly staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Small size, friendly staff
Location: Coral gardens, a short kayak ride away is truely amazing. Lovely sand beach, we rented bikes and rode around the island (2.5 hours)
The hotel property is in an excellent location. The gardens are well kept, rooms could use a little TLC. Food at the restaurant was pretty good, some times the consistancy was lacking. We didn't use the spa or fitness room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, Hotel Management
Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora! We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back again! Mauruuru!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

AVOID, go to private island if you want relaxing

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Solange the manager was the only good thing about this hotel.
Cons: Everything. The hotel needs a complete lift up.
Before my detailed bad experience I want to start with the good ones. THE STAFF WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! We went all over the world with my wife and we have NEVER found such an amazing, dedicated, helpful person in the staff. Solange, the manager, made absolutely everything she could so that my wife and I had an amazing experience. Now for the bad... *The hotel was under construction. There were maintenance being done all over the hotel. At one point there was a band playing near the bar but all you could hear was hammers. *Internet was NON EXISTENT. Wi-Fi never worked. We complained to the manager and she was so kind as to go to the store and bought us a Wi-Fi router with a pre-paid card specially for us. *You could see broken drawers, mold on the wood, scratches all over the floor, non working windows on the room. *The gym is just a joke. No treadmill, only 2 lift weighting machines. *The Water from the Overwater Bungalow is so deep that you don't see any corals or at least I could keep on writing but I have no more space for my thoughts... On the second day we talked to Solange about leaving the hotel (we booked for 8 days) and she said they would give us all the money back or they could move us to the Private Island Hotel. This is were our real Bora Bora experience started. The private Hotel is a 5 stars. Exclusive, relaxing, incredible for snorkeling. Room was perfect. Staff also incredible. So to sum up AVOID this hotel and go to the private island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Sofitel Marara Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort. Your comment is very important to us. Please, be sure that we will take in consideration each point you detailed to improve our guests experience. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Thanks again to have choosing us for your stay in Bora Bora. Maururu !