Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This was a fantastic place to stay. Staff were welcoming and facilities perfect for relaxation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely peaceful setting, excellent service

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: a step to get into the bath.
Location: We were there for a 40th party and seeing family, the location of the hotel is very quiet and peaceful but within 10 mins of the town.
Wonderful peaceful setting, excellent service all staff we spoke to were very helpful and friendly, food was superb and the hotel room was very comfortable , would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great atmosphere!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
We stayed here for our anniversary. We enjoyed the quieter atmosphere and slower pace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Nutfield Priory and that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm regards Michael A McKay FIH GENERAL MANAGER
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gladgow

Unwelcoming and lacking in warm atmosphere

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Booked this hotel as a pre Christmas treat the weekend before Christmas however was extremely disappointed by the lack of warm atmospheric public rooms . The large hall had a wonderful fireplace with 1 only 1 log pathetically burning and no comfortable seating placed near to it. The bar area was terrible, no fire and a constantly flashing overhead chandelier ! The library also was dismal to grim . The room itself was very poorly lit and mould in the bathroom . Very poorly designed. Room blinds would not go up and view if we had seen past the blinds was on to the car park. Only redeeming factor was good breakfast in cloistered dining room but otherwise would not recommend for it's lack of ambience
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by MMC, Hotel Management
May I thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to me with feedback after your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the ambience of the public areas and found them to be dismal; that is not a comment I have received from other guests and I regret that you felt this way. Unfortunately we have been prevented from using the bar fire this winter because of damage to the chimney lining which was discovered during a routine camera inspection and it has not been possible to close the bar to undertake the work before Christmas. The library chimney is purely a decorational feature having been sealed during the conversion to a hotel many years ago. However I am surprised that the Grand Hall fire was as small as you describe as there is no reason it was not sufficiently stocked and I have passed on your comments to the team responsible for its upkeep. I have sent your feedback about the room fixtures and lighting levels to our in-house designers, as we are currently planning bedroom refurbishments over the coming 18 months and I am sure they will take into consideration your feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not fully match your expectations during this visit and I would be delighted to upgrade your next stay with us to one of our recently-refurbished feature rooms, subject to availability, as a token of my appreciation for your constructive help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful historic building

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The hotel itself is beautiful, old world charm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was tasty and the variety of food at breakfast was great. Our room was very warm, we turned the heating right down and slept with open windows. The shower was for disabled access and therfore not comfortable for me. The water took about five minutes to heat up too. The spa facilities were very disappointing. Small pool and full of children on the Thursday morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind comments; I'm delighted that you chose to spend your festive break with us and enjoyed the food we served you. I am sorry you did not enjoy the walk-in shower in your room and the pool, which is a fairly normal size for a hotel pool. Unfortunately over the festive period it is very popular with the members of our private health club and their children and I'm sorry it was disappointing for you. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not-too-distant future. Warm regards Michael A McKay GENERAL MANAGER
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So comfortable with superb, caring staff

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was 'perfect in every way'.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind feedback; it is much appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for weddings

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for a wedding that was being held here. I cannot rate this hotel high enough. The room was clean with a stunning view, the staff were polite and nothing was any trouble. Would love to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind comments; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us for your friends wedding and I would be delighted to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future. Warm regards Michael A McKay GENERAL MANAGER
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Room was excellent, bed was huge and so comfy...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind comments; I'm pleased that you enjoyed your short visit to Nutfield and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Michael A McKay GENERAL MANAGER
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Not the best hotel for service or price. Meant to book in at 3, didn't get in till 4, no mini bar as stated! Went to swimming pool had towel stolen. I'd look elsewhere if you want a relaxing weekend. On the plus side the restaurant is amazing if a tad on the expensive side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Beautiful terrace. Breakfast was excellent; fresh fruits, Goji berries, seed mixture at the yogurt cereal bar, wonderful hot foods, etc. Helpful staff. One con: the food served in the lounge was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind comments; I am delighted that particularly enjoyed breakfast and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not-too-distant future. Warm regards Michael A McKay GENERAL MANAGER