Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

It’s ok

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The hotel was a good location and a decent price but the rooms are not cleaned frequently while you are there for an extended period and the hallways have an odd odor. The elevator was not vacuumed and there was trash and dirt on the floors and walls. The pool was unkept. The laundromat was messy but all machines were in working order. There was no continental breakfast just free coffee. The kitchenette was nice with supplies pan and some some plates, bowls, cups and flatware. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. I probably would stay there again but I would have been happier if it had been cleaned better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
It was okay. Staff was great. Pool was clean. They gave me more pillows when asked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Raza, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I feel great when i see review like yours. We really appreciate your feedback and i will share your comments with my team.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O'Fallon, IL

Disappointing

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Cons: Update!
First, let's start with the fact that the beds are made of mattresses sitting on metal bed frames like a pullout sofa. The pillows were a joke. The outlets in the kitchenette and bathroom did not work. There were no utensils in the kitchenette. The elevator and third floor reeked like marijuana. We killed a cockroach in the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Raza, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize you encountered issues during your stay. I will share your feedback with my team and correct all the issues you have mentioned. Again, thank you for your review and staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Only nice thing here is the very friendly staff. EXTREMELY DIRTY ROOMS, old beds with springs poking out, no daily room cleaning service for towels, linens, etc. Absolutely FILTHY room. NO sanitation standards here at all!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madisonville Ky

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The clerk was friendly. They advertise a hot tub, which is why we chose the motel, it was out of order. We rented for 2 nights, our room was not cleaned, not even the beds made, no clean towels or coffee, shampoo or soap replaced. We will never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Raza, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I have shared your review with my team and we have already fixed all the issues you mentioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Very nice. Not seen parts of room not so clean, but otherwise good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Raza, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review. I appreciate it. Thank you for staying with us and i will share your review with my team.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ran out of towels

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
No towels, minimal toiletries, pillows are small and uncomfortable, a/c was too loud. This hotel definitely needs an major uphaul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Downers Grove

Nice hotel close to restaurants and St. Louis

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location, close to restaurants and major highway 64 the staff. the pool was working and clean.
Cons: If they could have breakfast, that would be great. Usually we stay where there is a morning breakfast
Location: Sl Louis, Mo is about 15 min away. the art museum, the budweiser tours, O'Fallon has a mall and good restaurants.
Very nice and cozy hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. After dropping our son back to SIU, we traveled an hour and a half to O'Fallon. We wanted to catch back up with our son on Monday for the Eclipse. The bed was VERY comfortable, but there were only 3 pillows for a king bed and there is usually 4. We needed towels, they were finishing some up, but when we got them they were very clean and warm. Overall, the room, the staff, location and close to restaurants and a mall was great for us. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN AND THANKYOU TO THE VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.
3 out of 5
by Katherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
On check in we got our room key and headed upstairs and were met by the check-in clerk stating that there was someone already in the room she gave us keys to. We went back downstairs and then after a bit she decided that there was no one in that room after all and gave us the key card back to that room and we were able to go to our room with no additional issues. Room service did come into our room on day 2 of our stay and turned the lights off but did no cleaning and did not replace the dirty towels on the floor with clean ones and we had to go down to the desk to get clean towels. Other than that it was a good visit and the place seemed clean and well taken care of. Selection of places to go do things and eat was great, not too far from anything.