Ratings based on 3,402 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel staff was great, the rooms are a bit dated and could use some TLC. Overall a nice place and good location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are really happy that you enjoyed our staff and your stay! We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for first time on island

Posted May 25, 2017
The staff was amazing. The area was perfectly located to allow me to walk virtually everywhere on the Island I wanted to. If you are going by yourself I strongly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and location! Mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

In Hawaii for son's college graduation.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Full size refrigerator, full size stove w/four burners. 700 watt microwave.
Cons: The bathroom had NO counter. We were forced to place all toiletries in our room or the small medicine chest. The pool should be open to 10pm.
Location: Easy access to H1 and local buses. Scooter rentals, shpping and Manoa Falls aren't too far away and accessible by car or bus. Waikiki beach close by.
The Ambassador hotel was conveniently located near the University of Hawaii, Manoa. The room was small but acceptable since we only slept and ate breakfast or brunch there. Only two plates, glasses, cups, forks, etc were provided without cleaning materials. The frying pan was teflon coated with numerous scratches without teflon friendly utensils. The pool was only open until 7pm which excluded evening relaxation. Of the three elevators, only two seemed to be working at any time. The A/C unit would run for one minute and then kick off for three or four minutes before starting again. Instead of a drain for the A/C unit, there was a bucket placed under it. The A/C unit appeared to be an afterthought and not part of the original room design. Parking cost $25 per day. We rented a three wheel scooter for 1/2 day that was a lot of fun. Only two small trash cans. One near the kitchen area and the other in the bathroom. The air was always clean and the weather good. Never too hot or humid. This is a budget hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Paul and thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed and utilized the full kitchen! While we do only supply two sets of kitchen dishes/utensils, we are happy to bring more upon request. We also would like to apologize for the inconveniences mentioned in your feedback. We will follow up on all of your comments. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and congratulations to your son on his college graduation! Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barstow, Calif.

Convenience

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Again, convenience!
Cons: Reduce parking fees and do away with the resort fee.
Location: Eateries, shopping, and the beach is close by. For the adventurous without a vehicle , the local bus system is awesome.
We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past because cost, safety, security, and convenience. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Bob and mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the convenience of our hotel and location. We also greatly appreciate your compliments to our wonderful staff, and we will let them all know! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel middle of wvwrything

Posted May 19, 2017
Staff was great. some of the hotel amenities are pretty old and outdated but still functional. I have to leave the hot water running at least five mins for the water to turn hot but overall it was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha jane and thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and will pass this along to them, as well. We greatly value your feedback and would like to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Looked clean in picture but the details were missi

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: no
Cons: renovations
Location: within walking distance to shops and Ala Moana Centre.Bus stop right in front
The hotel did not look anywhere like in the picture in the website.It was old and run down.The last renovation must be over 15 years ago.Elevator was noisy,rooms were unappealing (though spacious).The bed was too soft,carpet was dirty looking.Both I and my wife felt itchy when we were in the room,may be there were some bugs.It was only for one night ,and it was kind of close to the beach.It was not expensive compared to some others,so buyers beware
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha P and thank you for your review. We apologize that we were not able to fully accommodate your needs. We try our hardest to provide the best value for our very competitive rates. We appreciate you staying with us and we will follow up on your feedback. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extra charge surprise

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Felt like good deal - until after we provided CC info and found out that there are extra charges. We decided to still go with it but may skip next tim
Location: Downtown Waikiki - near everything
While booking hotel or reading about the hotel package there was no mention that there is special daily room charge and car parking charge until the VERY end of transaction - this is after providing credit card info. This makes the rate comparison misleading (this is why rating it at medium). Not sure how common this is in Hawaii but next time we will try other hotels before trying this one again because of this. Hotel and room have seen better days but nothing was broken and everything was functional. On plus side it, room had fridge (old but functional), range (again old but functional), some pans, dishes, glasses, cups and silverware - full set for 2 people. We used almost all of it and it was very useful for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you very much for your review. We appreciate hearing from you, and apologize for the inconvenience regarding the amenity fees. Expedia does notate under the room rate that there is a fee of $20.94 per day, even in the beginning of the booking process. However, it can sometimes be difficult to notice and we do apologize that you felt mislead. In addition, it is common throughout all Waikiki hotels. We would like to thank you for staying with us and apologize once again for any miscommunication. Mahalo for your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

will go back again

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: location and layout of the room (incl. full kitchen and partial ocean view).
Cons: busy hotel, but it's a good business looks like.
Location: walking distance to Waikiki beach. ABC store next door. excellent location and specious room and great rate. Loved it.
excellent location and staff! will stay at the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Christina, thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including the room layout and our location! We appreciate hearing from you and hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

One of the older hotel but in great shape

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and nice staff, easy walk to the beach and shopping
Cons: They need to have a couple suitcase stands in the room
Location: several blocks from downtown but a easy walk to Waikiki beach and shops
They let us check in a little early (2:15ish) since there was no parking to be had in the city and when we got to the room it was clean and cool. We were on the 16th floor so had to do the elevator but it seemed to be timely. We had the kitchen room so there was everything you needed to cook food instead of going out. Room was spacious, bed was comfortable and bathroom was big. Had a safe in the closet. The view (we had a "partial ocean" view) wasn't really that great since we were in town and the balcony was on the NE side of the building, but we just walked to the beach. Everything was close, plenty of shopping and sights to see easy to walk to from hotel. Check in and check out staff were very nice. Would recommend if you are on a budget and wanted something nice but affordable. And they had a nice lounging area and pool on the 3rd floor too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Tim, thank you very much for your review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our wonderful staff! Mahalo for all of your feedback, we appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading photos and unfriendly staff

Posted May 12, 2017
Upon our arrival the lobby was full of people waiting to check in with their luggage sprawled out everywhere. When the attendant was trying to find my reservation she kept asking me the spelling of my last name but would then cut me off mid sentence and ask me another question which she would again cut off my answer. When they finally found my reservation under the wrong spelling we asked if there was a way we could check in a little early since we needed rest before a conference. Without any empathy for our situation she quickly denied and stated there would be no way at all to check in early but they would hold our bags. When we returned to check in at the appropriate time, the attendant told us to go to bag check and receive our luggage. They gave us our luggage but did not direct us to he appropriate elevators so we went to the nearest one which ended up being the service elevator. Once we finally got into our room it proved to be highly misled by the photos. The cabinets in the kitchen smelled of mold, there was no coffee maker, the shower was old and dingy and the vent flap in the bathroom kept falling from the ceiling. Also, we were only provided with 2 bath towels which is a little strange for a room with 2 beds. I could go on about this stay but suffice to say, it was unpleasant and if I could I would request a full refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We would like to sincerely apologize, we are sorry to hear about your experience. While it is not always possible to allow for early check-ins (this is not up to the attendant, it is just based upon availability) we do want to deliver quality service to all of our guests, and we are sorry if you feel you did not receive this. We will follow up on all of your feedback, please feel free to reach out to us directly, as well. Mahalo.