Ratings based on 3,414 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, decent staff and facilities

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Pretty close to most attractions, nice and large rooms with kitchen with utensils.
Cons: They should include the 21 dollar a day amenity fee to the hotel fee. This can be a bit misleading. also pool closes at 7 pm.
Location: Waikiki beach, couple of restaurants, subway, zoo, aquarium, car and bike rental place and a gas station right next to it.
Hotel was great, they checked me in around 1pm and room was nice and clean and spacy. View was great from the hotel even it said the city view I had a very nice balcony view. This hotel is close to waikiki beach, convention center, aquarium, zoo and couple of restaurants. Neighborhood is quiet and not that packed with tourists and the waikiki beach is 5 minutes walk. Hotel has a convenient store open till 24 00h so great to grab all your necessary stuff at hawaii trip including food, beverages, supplies and even gifts! Overall, great experiences and will definitely stay if i go to hawaii again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Very negative experience

Posted Jun 4, 2017
When we complained to the manager that we didn't get the room we requested, she said we don't always get the room we requested. That's absurd because I received a confirmation that it was reserved. On the first day of our stay, we had to take a cold shower because there was no hot running water. The manager didn't believe us because she said we didnt report it right away. We didn't because it was so late at night and we were too tired. We had to go out early the next day, too. On the second day, they moved us to a different room but the quality of the room was that of a cheap motel especially the bathroom. The worst thing was the attitude of the manager. She didn't speak to us nicely but her voice was stern and talked to me as if I did something wrong. She never said "I'm sorry" or apologize. I'll never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's really old, not maintained well, and the service is worst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. Unfortunately, we can't always accommodate every request as these are based on availability. We do our best to please each guest, but during the busy season we often sell out of rooms and don't have a great amount of flexibility to offer. We again would like to apologize, and let you know that we appreciate your feedback! We will follow up on your comments. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted May 31, 2017
Cheap room for Waikiki. Didn't realize the room was for 3 single beds for my husband and myself when booking. No other options available at check in. The bathroom ceiling had a sign taped covering a hole that stated do not remove, will cause severe flooding. Air conditioner was extremely loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Mahalo once again for your feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel staff was great, the rooms are a bit dated and could use some TLC. Overall a nice place and good location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are really happy that you enjoyed our staff and your stay! We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for first time on island

Posted May 25, 2017
The staff was amazing. The area was perfectly located to allow me to walk virtually everywhere on the Island I wanted to. If you are going by yourself I strongly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and location! Mahalo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

In Hawaii for son's college graduation.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Full size refrigerator, full size stove w/four burners. 700 watt microwave.
Cons: The bathroom had NO counter. We were forced to place all toiletries in our room or the small medicine chest. The pool should be open to 10pm.
Location: Easy access to H1 and local buses. Scooter rentals, shpping and Manoa Falls aren't too far away and accessible by car or bus. Waikiki beach close by.
The Ambassador hotel was conveniently located near the University of Hawaii, Manoa. The room was small but acceptable since we only slept and ate breakfast or brunch there. Only two plates, glasses, cups, forks, etc were provided without cleaning materials. The frying pan was teflon coated with numerous scratches without teflon friendly utensils. The pool was only open until 7pm which excluded evening relaxation. Of the three elevators, only two seemed to be working at any time. The A/C unit would run for one minute and then kick off for three or four minutes before starting again. Instead of a drain for the A/C unit, there was a bucket placed under it. The A/C unit appeared to be an afterthought and not part of the original room design. Parking cost $25 per day. We rented a three wheel scooter for 1/2 day that was a lot of fun. Only two small trash cans. One near the kitchen area and the other in the bathroom. The air was always clean and the weather good. Never too hot or humid. This is a budget hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Paul and thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed and utilized the full kitchen! While we do only supply two sets of kitchen dishes/utensils, we are happy to bring more upon request. We also would like to apologize for the inconveniences mentioned in your feedback. We will follow up on all of your comments. We greatly appreciate you staying with us and congratulations to your son on his college graduation! Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barstow, Calif.

Convenience

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Again, convenience!
Cons: Reduce parking fees and do away with the resort fee.
Location: Eateries, shopping, and the beach is close by. For the adventurous without a vehicle , the local bus system is awesome.
We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past because cost, safety, security, and convenience. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha Bob and mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the convenience of our hotel and location. We also greatly appreciate your compliments to our wonderful staff, and we will let them all know! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel middle of wvwrything

Posted May 19, 2017
Staff was great. some of the hotel amenities are pretty old and outdated but still functional. I have to leave the hot water running at least five mins for the water to turn hot but overall it was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha jane and thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and will pass this along to them, as well. We greatly value your feedback and would like to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Looked clean in picture but the details were missi

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: no
Cons: renovations
Location: within walking distance to shops and Ala Moana Centre.Bus stop right in front
The hotel did not look anywhere like in the picture in the website.It was old and run down.The last renovation must be over 15 years ago.Elevator was noisy,rooms were unappealing (though spacious).The bed was too soft,carpet was dirty looking.Both I and my wife felt itchy when we were in the room,may be there were some bugs.It was only for one night ,and it was kind of close to the beach.It was not expensive compared to some others,so buyers beware
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha P and thank you for your review. We apologize that we were not able to fully accommodate your needs. We try our hardest to provide the best value for our very competitive rates. We appreciate you staying with us and we will follow up on your feedback. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extra charge surprise

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Felt like good deal - until after we provided CC info and found out that there are extra charges. We decided to still go with it but may skip next tim
Location: Downtown Waikiki - near everything
While booking hotel or reading about the hotel package there was no mention that there is special daily room charge and car parking charge until the VERY end of transaction - this is after providing credit card info. This makes the rate comparison misleading (this is why rating it at medium). Not sure how common this is in Hawaii but next time we will try other hotels before trying this one again because of this. Hotel and room have seen better days but nothing was broken and everything was functional. On plus side it, room had fridge (old but functional), range (again old but functional), some pans, dishes, glasses, cups and silverware - full set for 2 people. We used almost all of it and it was very useful for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Amanda Lorenz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you very much for your review. We appreciate hearing from you, and apologize for the inconvenience regarding the amenity fees. Expedia does notate under the room rate that there is a fee of $20.94 per day, even in the beginning of the booking process. However, it can sometimes be difficult to notice and we do apologize that you felt mislead. In addition, it is common throughout all Waikiki hotels. We would like to thank you for staying with us and apologize once again for any miscommunication. Mahalo for your feedback!