Ratings based on 1,875 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from js

Quite central but that's about all

Posted May 12, 2017
Room very basic and bare. Decor from 1960s. Apart from tv and coffee maker nothing else. Swimming pool a laugh. Breakfast less than basic in chinese restaurant where staff not friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

2nd review

Posted May 9, 2017
Many thanks Tim for changing & upgrading our room. The extra space was appreciated. The outside noise is not drowned out by the air conditioning and sleep deprivation was a problem. It's like the street noise bounces off the buildings & the numerous sirens come straight through the window. Rather than aircon an overhead fan would do the trick with less noise. But I thank you for your attention. The Staff were very efficient & helpful. A note on the breakfast.. don't do it. Continental could include jam. Such a small thing but would improve buffet choices immensely. The old saying 'you get what you pay for' applies here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that the extra space made your stay more comfortable and that our team was attentive and efficient. It is disappointing to learn that you were still inconvenienced by the outside noise, and I appreciate your valuable feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with our leadership so that we may work to improve the overall guest experience. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Not as far from the beach as we thought.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
It needs a renovation but otherwise it was ok. The lanai had a tiny ocean view. Toilet was crooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, ON Canada

Affordable, comfortable hotel near beach/shopping

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff and the nearness to Waikiki Beach, the Honolulu Zoo, the Waikiki Aquarium, shopping and bus routes.
Cons: We missed having a chair in our room - we had to sit on the bed or stand. Also a small table to sit at would have been nice.
Location: The location is very good. We were within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, the Honolulu Zoo, the Waikiki Aquarium, the International Marketplace.
We enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. It was a short 2 block walk to the beach. It was also close to the International Marketplace as well as ABC stores and other convenience/grocery stores. And, it was only a block from a bus stop where you could catch a ride on one of several different bus routes. The daily breakfast buffet was a treat of Chinese and local foods as well as traditional Canadian/American foods such as eggs, muffins, pancakes, toast, ham, sausages. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. It was also quite affordable, averaging about $200 US per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha Selly! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We are so glad you appreciated our fantastic location, breakfast buffet and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff! We appreciate hearing from our guests as it provides us the insight to make improvements, and we will review your feedback with our leadership team for careful consideration. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Good quality for the price

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Close to beach and has a wide range of rooms/prices.
Cons: Location of beds next to air conditioning units.
Location: Only a 5 min walk to Waikiki beach and close to lots of restaurants and stores.
Given that we were on a budget, my fiancee and I found this place a good fit. It's close to the beach and near a lot of restaurants and nightlife. The staff is friendly and helpful too. My one complaint about the room was that the bed was right next to the air conditioning unit, which made sleeping on one side of the bed very cold, so we had to layer up to sleep comfortably. But overall it was a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha Phil! I am pleased to hear you received excellent service from our helpful and friendly staff and that you had a wonderful experience with us! I appreciate your valuable feedback and will share it with our leadership team for thoughtful consideration. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

far to the beach, very old hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: not so much
Cons: safety and smell
Location: beside a river
the room smell bad. space big. staff nice. environment too open, so it is not very safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I am happy to hear that you received excellent service from our friendly staff but are very sorry about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. The safety of our guests is a top priority and I am very sad to hear that your experience did not reflect the importance of this. I am also sorry to hear about the lack of cleanliness you experienced, and I wish that we had had the opportunity while you were with us to improve your stay. Your feedback is important to us and I have shared it with our leadership team in order to improve for future guests. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass, OR

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
I was very happy with our accommodations. Thank you for the nice time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Good for the price but don't expect to much minimal services for resort fees so if you looking for Hawaii on budget and don't need bells whistles . Otherwise was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

All we needed at a good price

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location and quiet!
Cons: Breakfast would have been better with more cereal choices.
Location: Location was great - 5 minute walk to beach and shops. Used the bookings desk just once but they were great.
This hotel is in a good location and we found the room to be smallish but comfortable. The A/C worked, the water was hot and the room was quiet. All we needed really. Staff were generally friendly but a little inattentive. Breakfast was included in the price but we only ate there once as it wasn't suitable for us (mostly fried). Overall I would stay here again as it had all we needed at an affordable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha Jeff and Colleen! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our quiet and comfortable accommodations, fantastic location and that you had a wonderful stay! I appreciate your valuable feedback as it allows us to continue to improve upon our guests' experience. Mahalo for staying with us, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Snohomish WA

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very outdated and run down hotel. Bugs on the bathroom counter. Manger switched us to a new room after telling them. Ok for a couple days but will book another hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review, Carrie. I am sincerely sorry that your experience was less then exceptional. I am very disappointed and embarrassed to hear about the state in which you found your room, and apologize for your discomfort and inconvenience. This is not the standard of cleanliness we are dedicated to providing for our guests, and we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. I appreciate your valuable feedback, and will share your review with our leadership team for careful consideration and improvement. Mahalo.