Ratings based on 2,754 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for good price

Posted Jun 28, 2017
I like this as a budget hotel option in waikiki. It's walking distance to everything and right across the street from five big Hilton Hawaiian Village which costs a lot more. Only a 3 min walk to the beach. It's always been a comfortable stay for us. It's getting a little older and could use a refresh on the carpets but it's still a good place to stay and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by aqua palms, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback and your patronage. We hope to see you in the near future! mahalo nui loa, Aqua Palms Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good area.Comfortable.Friendly staff.Filthy carpet

Posted Jun 22, 2017
I wouldn't recommend this to a friend, but it's probably a reasonable accommodation for some folks. Good feedback: Friendly staff, proximity to beach/marina/shopping/dining, Tidiness of lobby and hallways, including it looked like new carpet on the hallway of our floor. Beds were very comfortable. I never heard noise from the hallway or adjoining rooms. The not-so-good news: Furniture was tired - the chest of drawers looked like a $2 purchase at a garage sale. We killed two cockroaches in our room. Housekeeping didn't clean the coffee area (including cups) well. Even with the sliding glass door closed, street noises were awfully loud. The carpet in our room was absolutely filthy - we would not walk barefoot on it; I lifted an area rug and could see that the carpet beneath it was MANY SHADES LIGHTER than the uncovered area. Disgusting. And the final lovely gem...a fire alarm at about 3am. We used the stairs from the 9th floor to exit. When we got to the lobby, NO ONE was in charge of evacuation. Staff were completely unengaged. A few folks were in the lobby, and I only found a few smokers actually in the street for the evacuation. It was a false alarm. We were eventually told via word of mouth. If it had been a real emergency, I'm convinced people would have died. I almost called the fire department to raise my concerns. And so for this reason, I will never stay there again. Guest safety should be a #1 concern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to beaches, shops, restaurants and its location.
Cons: Maid service.
Location: You can walk to Ala Moana Beach Park and to Ala Moana Shopping Mall (it's a little more than 1/2 a mile from the hotel).
The hotel is situated on Ala Moana Blvd., just as you enter Waikiki, which, to me, makes it an ideal location because you don't have to drive in Waikiki traffic! The hotel also provides a free shuttle to sister hotels and to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, making it easier to get around. Many restaurants, of various price offierings, and sundry stores (where you can pick up food supplies and liquid refreshment) are scattered within walking distance. Also, there are car rental places (Alamo and Enterprise) on the same block and, should you decide to rent a car for a day trip or more, you can walk up the street to do so. The hotel is clean, but the maid service could have been better. They fixed a good bed but some things were missed (like removing dirty cups and soiled towels). That being said, I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted May 27, 2017
My jaw dropped when I got to the room. It was very small and old. The lamp shades were crack, and still it was acceptable to be put up? The bathroom was tiny. For a family of 4 they put us in a room with a queen bed and a sofa, my poor children sleeping on a lumpy squeaky sofa bed. Weeks advance I call to make sure I got 2 beds and a crib. Of course that never happen. Ask to change room and was told that they can change me to a room of the same size with a king bed and a sofa. Hmm no that's no use. Even ask to pay more for a suite but of course they don't have. Should of read the reviews before booking. And I'm sure with all the problem this place has nothing will be done bout it cause it hasn't. It was a downer to our vacation but we try to stay as little in the room as possible. Others may think it's acceptable. Nope not for us! The staff were friendly but not helpful. I don't get how this place got an 3.9 rating ? There is just so many things wrong with my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Patty Maher, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review. I am very sad to hear that you were disappointed with the size of your room and that it wasn't as updated as you had hoped, as well as the other aspects of your stay were less than exceptional. Your comfort is very important to us and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I also apologize for the lack of service provided in helping to find a solution that would meet your needs. This does not reflect the high standard of excellent customer service we are committed to providing. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please send us an email at wecare[at]aqua-aston[dot]com with the name your reservation was under, the dates of your stay, your confirmation booking number, and your contact email address and phone number so that a team member may reach out to you directly. We hope to welcome you back for an improved stay next time. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Really enjoyed our stay

Posted May 26, 2017
I had a very good experience at this hotel, it was clean, staff was awesome, good location.. ihop and coffee house next door where you get 10% off, 10% off at macys also. You get a free shuttle pass also.. beach is only a 10 min walk, very close to shops and other restraunts. Parking fee was ridiculous though ($25 a day) which is more than the daily resort fee ($18) .. and the parking garage is super freaking but you get used to it. Hotel didn't seem outdated to me like I read others thought.. we didn't bother going to the pool, looks very lame.. more for kids (only 4ft deep and very small). Overall I would come back here though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Nice hotel...very good value - could use Hilton's amenities across the street. I had a view of both the ocean and Diamond head from my room - not the very best views but can say I did!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, Ca

Close to the areas we like.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: I like the location, the glorious ice cold water in the lobby and the free apples!
Cons: Parking is difficult for bigger vehicles. The rooms smell like mildew, but there were no traces of mildew in the room.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, a beautiful park, Hilton Hawaiian Village & Hale Koa beach areas which are kept very clean.
The hotel is one of our favorites because of it's location and price. The rooms smelled of mildew, but the room was clean and no traces of mildew were found. We have stayed here several times and the smell seems to be an ongoing problem. The staff is super friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicehotel

Posted May 13, 2017
It's was a fantastic hotel I enjoyed it It's so. Nice It's was wonderful It's was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Aqua Guest Services & Team, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with was at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. We look forward to see you again during your future visit with us. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small outdated rooms

Posted May 10, 2017
I reserved with Expedia and was told I would have a king sizes bed. It was a queen bed. The rooms are small and are needing updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Patty Maher, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than exceptional and apologize for any misunderstanding with your reservation through Expedia and your request for a king sized bed. Your comfort is a top priority and I apologize that the room was not as updated as you had hoped, and for any inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback is valuable and will be shared with our leadership team for improvement. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo

Good location

Posted May 9, 2017
Close to eating places, shopping, & beaches. Would recommend hotel to family & friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for saying with us at the Aqua Palms. We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your time here in Waikiki. We hope to see you again during your future trip.