Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Worth the price

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Character breakfast is a must if you have kids.
The hotel is geared more for kids, but still some great adult amenities to make it fun for the whole family. The Disney theme is very subtle as the resort is more Hawaiian themed. The most Disney you see are the 30 min character pop ups for photos around the resort. If you want the Disney experience, I highly recommend the character breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Excellent family resort

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Pools, water slides, lazy river, rainbow reef, meeting Disney characters
Cons: Please improve on the food options and quality
Location: Location is about 25 mins from Honolulu airport. Aulani is in an upscale resort area called Ko Olina that is beautiful.
We just returned from our family vacation to Aulani and it was amazing! This resort is great for families and kids. The pools, water slides, lazy river, and snorkeling reef are just awesome. The hotel itself is upscale but still absolutely family-friendly. The rooms are showing a bit of wear but that is fine. This resort is not overly "Disney" but we still did get to meet Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Moana and Stitch...they have set times each day for meet & greets. The real bummer was the food. I can't believe a Disney resort like this has such mediocre food for such an expensive price. We ended up eating at the Ulu Cafe each morning for breakfast (which was great) but then would venture offsite almost every day for lunch and dinner. The Makahiki buffet for dinner was WAY overpriced and not good food. AMA AMA looked very expensive and the menu didn't appeal to us so we didn't eat there. We did eat a few meals next door at the Four Seasons and that was pricey but good. The restaurants across the street at the Ko Olina Station were good too. Fun activity: walk down to Paradise Cove for a few hours...you can snorkel in very shallow water and we saw tons of fish, sea urchins, a spotted snake eel, and even swam with a green sea turtle. It was the best part of our trip. Bottom line: this resort is great if you want a family vacation (we saw several honeymooners and couples here...I can't believe you would stay here without kids). Go offsite to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oahu, Hi

early celebration of birthday's and mother's day

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The pools. Seeing my grandson expression & enjoying himself was priceless!!
Location: you are nearby the Marriott Vacation Club Hotel and Four Seasons Hotel. The next city is Kapolei. there are malls, movie theatre, eateries, etc...
I've enjoyed my stay there. It was a weekend birthday for my 3 year old grandson, which he enjoyed every minute for we stayed a week longer there celebrating an early Mother's Day and my children birthdays. when you first get there and check in at the front desk, which Mandy was so helpful and trying her best to accommodate me into a Villa or stay at the hotel as I was originally registered. She actually wanted to see if I could save some money since I had 2 reservations on different days. I decided to stay at the hotel but I could have the same room thru out my vacation there which is viewing the pool area. The view of the resort was spectacular! they had for children an area for storytelling also the Disney characters would come out and socialize with visitors but also if you wanted to take picture with them. It was great to see Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Moana, Pluto and I forgot the dog name (that's a pet to Mickey Mouse). They characters did social activities with the children. They have many activities during the day and evening for the children. They have 4 pools. 1 mainly for adults 18 and above, no children allowed. the kiddy pool, 2 family pool and the water raft besides the giant slide that goes down into one of the family pools. Then also there is the man made beach right in front of the resort where you can just relax with all the beach chairs, umbrellas, snack bars, towels, etc.... They have breakfast buffet and lunch and dinner buffet at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, California

Great place to go with kids

Posted May 16, 2017
Great place, perfect location! Hotel designed with everyone in mind. My 5 years old had a blast! Excellent stuff! Easy place to get around. I recommend reservations before arriving at the restaurants and extra experiences. Use Disney Photo pass to get amazing pictures and at the end of your stay buy cd with all the images for only $99!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Fun for young children

Posted May 15, 2017
This was my family's first time to the Disney resort. It will also be our last. The Resort was nice it has 2 water slides which the tube slide leads to a lazy river which was fun and relaxing. However the adult drinks I felt were really expensive. The food is Disneyland prices. (Expensive) hahaha. The beds were the worst part of our stay sad to say. They were uncomfortable. The beach was beautiful and we seemed to always get a spot under an umbrella which you need when your there. My kids are older (7,14) so the experience wasn't the best, they had a few Teen things but only a couple times in a week which is a bummer. The family activities are cute, and the kids activities are cute. They have cups you can buy which is awesome for the kids because they can fill them as much as they want during the length of the stay. The snorkeling reef at the resort is actually very pretty and when they do the feeding the fish are up close so it cool to be in there at the time of feeding. The resort is close to a beautiful cove where turtles go and they swim right up to people but you can't touch them of course (wild animals) ;) The resort is also set in a more quiet location, most other areas of the Island are more busy with other things to do if needed, however across the street they have a really yummy coffee shop,(vintage coffee) soooo good love the double Kona mocha ;) they also have a good restaurant called monkeypod which is delicious! They have a few shops and a little market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

We didn't want to leave!

Posted May 12, 2017
We had the most amazing experience at our 4 day stay at Aulani. If you are traveling with kids on Oahu, this place is a must if you can afford it. There is so much to do for kids! We travelled here the second week of May, so it was not too crowded. The food was excellent, staff was friendly, and the property is gorgeous. We would absolutely return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted May 11, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay. Food and drinks were very good, but expensive. Pool and beaches are great (Paradise Cove Beach is a must visit and only a short walk from Aulani). Location is a bit isolated, but cab fare was reasonable to restaurants and shops in nearby Kapolei.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southern Cali

More Hawiian than Disney

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: This hotel really caters to families with young children. It is super family oriented and there's no high strung people there.
Cons: Well, the pools and hot tubs close at 8:00 pm. It would be nice if they were open till 10 pm--especially the hot tubs.
Location: The hotel is on a private cove that has underwater netting which does not allow large fish in. The hotel provides many activities.
The Aulani puts a strong influence on Hawaiian culture and the Disney influence is there but subtle. The hotel was clean, staff were very accommodating. The room was comfy. We were on the 15th floor and getting down and around the hotel was always fast and easy. The restaurants were decent, not too pricey (considering it's Disney) and the coolest thing was their Chefs were totally on board with my granddaughters dietary needs due to her celiac disease. They would actually come to our table and discuss her needs! It was the same at the luau. One bummer was a day after we arrived, the children's water playground was closed down for maintenance. I know sometimes they just got to do it, right? But that was a bummer; my granddaughter didn't even seem to care too much--we still had the main pool, the lazy river, the volcano slide (lotsa fun), so it was all good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Not as "happy" as Disneyland California

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The pool facilities, they accommodated to my sons allergies, the luau was fantastic
Cons: The expected Disney experience
Location: The four season is next door with great restaurants and a pocket of shops directly across
I went to Disneyland California 2years ago and was knocked off my socks by the experience and the pure joy the place exudes. I suppose I had high expectations knowing this was a Disney resort and was disappointed in the end. The staff are polite and courteous but not to the same Disney level as California and they seemed to treat it like a job no extra smiles or cheer. Also the merchandising could be kicked up a huge amount! I wanted to shop but there just wasn't that much to buy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great resort hotel, with the magic of Disney

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The various on-site water features and related activities.
Location: Located in Ko 'Olina area, adjacent to other resorts. Beautiful scenery north of Aulani toward Kaena point. Recommend dolphin cruise + BBQ.
Excellent accommodations and activities for all ages, including multiple pools, slides, rivers, paddle boards, canoe/sail rides, on-site snorkeling and many excursion options. Great daytime and sunset view. Outstanding luau.