Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

This was an exceptional hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: I liked the location of it, in fact the location is so good compared to the expensive beach front properties and even hotels further away.
Cons: The housekeeping one time fee should be reduced a little, it's not like I left a huge mess. No big deal though.
Location: The beach is a 2 minute walk right outside the door and the hotel is also right next to the Zoo entrance. The Aquarium is a 15 minute walk.
I enjoyed my stay here, I had a view of the beach and of mountains. When you walk outside of the hotel, turn left the beach is right in front of you, about a 2 minute walk. The hotel workers are friendly, what I like most about them is they leave you alone which was a perk for me since i'm not much for small talk. The room was clean, it came with a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower which was also clean. It setup sort of like a studio.There is no daily housekeeping and there is no room service, so be prepared to pay a one time fee for the length of your stay on top of daily rates. I didn't mind as I didn't care for housekeeping and I can walk down the hall to take out my own trash at one of the available garbage shoots located on each floor. If you need towels or anything else you can call the front desk. They also provide beach towels at the front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Location great

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Ok aged rooms, no daily room cleaning, never seen the pool used once, way smaller then the pics lead you to believe, rates are high for the quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice and close to everything.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The view from our room was awesome. When we first arrived they tried to charge us a $150.00 cleaning fee, but the lady at the front desk waived it because we were not pleased. The room was smaller than expected, but worth what we paid. We had to check out early because of our flight arrangements and we were given a refund for the day's stay. Overall we were pleased and happy with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The location is amazing but the room I booked by picture was not the room they gave to me when I got there . It was very simple . But my big issue was that they dont come to clean it . I stayed for 7 days and they just cleaned once because we had to go downstairs and ask for it . I was in vacation . The last thing i wanted was to be cleaning the room even tho we didnt eben have anything to use to clean. I am not going back .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Basically a motel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We got charged a cleaning fee, no big deal but when they never clean the room I have a problem with that. It's Hawaii obviously I will track sand in the bed. So since sheets never got changed (1 week stay) we slept in a sandy bed. The air conditioner was very loud!! We had to turn it off at night even though it was hot because we couldn't sleep. No garabage in the kitchen area. The shower was a joke, we turned it on on the highest pressure and it was slip barely letting water out. We had to go ask for clean towels ourselves. I can do that at home.. the room smelled moldy. The staff was very nice! Won't be coming back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location. away from the crowds. Great views!
Cons: no
Location: In Waikiki. near the beach and zoo. shopping and restaurants nearby.
The Waikiki Grand is a comfortable and pleasant hotel. Close to the zoo and beach and away from the hustle of Waikiki. Ocean front rooms face Diamond Head and the ocean. Pleasant and helpful staff. Would recommend!
2 out of 5
by Yeraldie

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
There is a cleaning fee that is charged yet the staff don't clean the room. So we had to pay the $128.00 cleaning fee and they didn't even clean or come to the room once the whole week we stayed there and had to pay the "cleaning fee" in advance and they didn't clean anything. And there was no cable service the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Every one was very nice and very helpful.It wasn't a crowded hotel wich was good,it was very quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Apartment Style Room

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is less of a hotel and more of an apartment. There are no normal hotel amenities like daily maid service or room service (their "room service" is just delivery menus for local restaurants with an added surcharge). Overall, it was a clean room and comfortable stay for a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Hidden cleaning fee charged $150.00 despite the fact that no one came on to clean the 4 days I was there and the trash was full in the kitchenette when I arrived. Also couldn't help me find parking. Wouldn't help me when there was a loud party beneath my room and the music was vibrating my computer desk when I was trying to work. No manager on duty or available via phone when asked.