Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, nice lounge and staff, bad room

Posted May 25, 2017
Nice location and lounge, friendly, a c was horrible, room needed remodeling but was clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Comfortable and convenient stay

Posted May 24, 2017
This was a great fit for our 3 day stay in Honolulu. The hotel is extremely convenient to the beach, shopping, zoo, Diamond Head, and bus stops. The view and outdoor seating on the 10th floor are spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay. The decor is dated and could use a facelift but that didn't bother us. Check-in and check-out were equally seamless. Nightly piano music in the open lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Great location. Great price. Parking is too expensive. 😎👎🏼
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo for visiting the Waikiki Grand Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to serve you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.

Not worth the pay

Posted May 18, 2017
when booked I asked for a few request and none of it was done. I did have a car and paid for parking but I only had it for 4 days but they charged me for a week for it. Told them about it and they said they can't prove it and still charged me anyways. I got charged for housekeeping but not once did they come up and clean the room. Thy even told me at check on they don't clean up the rooms everyday which I understand but for the week I was there., They never once touched my room. Overall it was a bad experience and I've been to plenty of hotels. If it wasn't close to the beach, I would never ever book this place again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

This was an exceptional hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: I liked the location of it, in fact the location is so good compared to the expensive beach front properties and even hotels further away.
Cons: The housekeeping one time fee should be reduced a little, it's not like I left a huge mess. No big deal though.
Location: The beach is a 2 minute walk right outside the door and the hotel is also right next to the Zoo entrance. The Aquarium is a 15 minute walk.
I enjoyed my stay here, I had a view of the beach and of mountains. When you walk outside of the hotel, turn left the beach is right in front of you, about a 2 minute walk. The hotel workers are friendly, what I like most about them is they leave you alone which was a perk for me since i'm not much for small talk. The room was clean, it came with a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower which was also clean. It setup sort of like a studio.There is no daily housekeeping and there is no room service, so be prepared to pay a one time fee for the length of your stay on top of daily rates. I didn't mind as I didn't care for housekeeping and I can walk down the hall to take out my own trash at one of the available garbage shoots located on each floor. If you need towels or anything else you can call the front desk. They also provide beach towels at the front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Location great

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Ok aged rooms, no daily room cleaning, never seen the pool used once, way smaller then the pics lead you to believe, rates are high for the quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice and close to everything.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The view from our room was awesome. When we first arrived they tried to charge us a $150.00 cleaning fee, but the lady at the front desk waived it because we were not pleased. The room was smaller than expected, but worth what we paid. We had to check out early because of our flight arrangements and we were given a refund for the day's stay. Overall we were pleased and happy with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The location is amazing but the room I booked by picture was not the room they gave to me when I got there . It was very simple . But my big issue was that they dont come to clean it . I stayed for 7 days and they just cleaned once because we had to go downstairs and ask for it . I was in vacation . The last thing i wanted was to be cleaning the room even tho we didnt eben have anything to use to clean. I am not going back .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Basically a motel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We got charged a cleaning fee, no big deal but when they never clean the room I have a problem with that. It's Hawaii obviously I will track sand in the bed. So since sheets never got changed (1 week stay) we slept in a sandy bed. The air conditioner was very loud!! We had to turn it off at night even though it was hot because we couldn't sleep. No garabage in the kitchen area. The shower was a joke, we turned it on on the highest pressure and it was slip barely letting water out. We had to go ask for clean towels ourselves. I can do that at home.. the room smelled moldy. The staff was very nice! Won't be coming back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location. away from the crowds. Great views!
Cons: no
Location: In Waikiki. near the beach and zoo. shopping and restaurants nearby.
The Waikiki Grand is a comfortable and pleasant hotel. Close to the zoo and beach and away from the hustle of Waikiki. Ocean front rooms face Diamond Head and the ocean. Pleasant and helpful staff. Would recommend!