Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location makes up for the downside

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The lovely view from the balcony, and th studios are really quite spacious.
Cons: Noisy!! And the frosted glass windows on the entrance door let far too much light in at night. The incessant hum of traffic and AC units!
Location: Close to everything except for a pool.
Where else can one be beachfront and not pay a king's ransom? It is, of course a well-maintained older building that lacks a pool, and the individual units vary quite a bit with respect to amenities and upkeep, so is it worth it?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Aloha - Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle Waikiki Shore. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. But next time, if you have a hard time sleeping because of the traffic noise, let us know right away and we are happy to move your room. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great position, right on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Position, views, room set up
We had a terrific week here. Easy to walk into central Waikiki either by road or by beach. The position was fantastic, with trolley and bus stops nearby for heading farther afield.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Aloha - Thank you for your kind words. There are times when we all need a "pat on the back" to know that we are achieving our guest's expectations. That does not mean we will stop trying to improve our guest's experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, stunning views

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay although trade staff working with only one lift available on arriva. 8 people crammed into lift as it took forever to come. Only glitch in whole stay. Loved quick and easy access to beach. Views were stunning. Facilities in room great. Deck had not been cleaned on arrival. Hair all over outside deck. Inside clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, United States of America

Posted Nov 21, 2016
On beach and park, near shopping and restaurant, excellent location. Helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Kamakani, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It helps to know that we are doing a good job at making your stay GREAT!! Mele Kalikimaka Hau'oli Makahiki Hou
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Remember in addition you pay parking of 30 a day and 100 dollar cleaning fee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Just a place to sleep next to the beach...

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: The location is great as it is on the beach. There are a lot of restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.
The photos and ratings were enough to get me to book. The room size and amenities were decent and good for a short stay. However, the specific room we got (214) was dated (mid 90's cabinets and counters) and the pull out couch was definitely not comfortable. That was fine in our minds, but the tile floor was pretty dirty (made our feet dirty) and there was a layer of dust on the refrigerator which made us think they didn't clean the floor with a good mopping and dust regularly. Also, while the staff was helpful and very friendly, they didn't tell us at check-in that they would be doing some renovation work (electrical) and blocking half the garage door with a generator (which made getting in and out somewhat dicey). We would probably have felt better if we got a room with the newer décor as shown in a lot of the photos, but the slightly old décor and dusty condition of some areas were a downer. I'd probably recommend this place to friends that are of the "rough and tumble" and "minimalist" personality, but this would not be a place for a more "sophisticated" traveler looking for a getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel of last resort at Waikiki

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Property is very dated. Elevators broke twice while we were there. There is no swimming pool, no restaurant and 9-5 service only if anything broke down in the room. For the condition and amenities available at the hotel, we feel the property was overpriced compared to surrounding hotels. Our rate was $287 per night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Waikiki Beachfront Location

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great spot on Waikiki Beach - hard to find better a location for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money with grear views

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money and convenience. If you want all the resort features this is not for you. Room was spacious and had full kitchen and fridge which was great. Balcony and views were the best in waikkii and without the price tag. Close to beach walk precinct and short walk into town. Beach at your door step without all the hype of Waikii but could easily walk there if you want. Best kept secret in Waikii. Would defintely recommend if looking for value for money with killer views without the price tag. Outrigger reef right next door if you need a resort fix. Definetely return here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view & location but that's where it stops.

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
The condominium has a great location, right in the heart of Waikiki. Shopping and food are easily in walking distance. The view from our room was amazing and we could see the Friday night fireworks from the Hilton hotel. That's where the good things stopped for us. We stayed in room 1204 which had a pretty bad cockroach problem/infestation. I understand these bugs are quite normal in Hawaii but it was like there was a nest somewhere in the room. This was disgusting, especially when we were using the kitchenette daily for our meals. Another point is that our "queen bed" was actually two single beds pushed together, which was very uncomfortable. Our air conditioner leaked inside. The WiFi would always disconnect in our room so we would have to use the WiFi from another room. Also we were not able to enjoy a sleep in as the curtains were paper thin and did nothing to block out the light in the morning. Nearly every morning we were also woken by drilling and renovation work in another room which we were not made aware of. Lastly I didn't really feel welcomed by the front desk staff. The two ladies who worked there were lovely, especially Leilani. As for the two gentlemen, not so much. The young boy in particular was very unhelpful and came across as rude. This made me hesitant to go to front desk if I needed anything. We booked this room for our honeymoon and stayed for 12 nights. It was not worth the high price tag and would not stay here again.