Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Cookies!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Cookies!
Cons: Make coffee available at all times, not just when the buffet closes.
Location: Close to Waikiki but outside of the action zone. Head to Cinnamon's at the Ilikai close by for the BEST guava chiffon pancakes you will ever have.
We managed to book at a very competitive rate for what the hotel normally charges and therefore this review may be slightly biased for the better. Staff were overall incredibly helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is well-maintained though minor wear and tear is starting to show in the fittings and furniture. The room we had was a studio on the 19th floor which had stunning views. Very cosy! The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the nearest swimming beach and about 15-20 minutes from the heart of Waikiki which was fine for us but could be inconvenient for some who like to be in the action. The best part? The cookies. Only one staff member seemed to be stingy with them while the rest were liberal and I have to say, these cookies were amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Alaska Moana shopping center

Posted May 13, 2017
I was really pleased with my stay at the double tree Alana. The staff was excellent and the room was comfortable. My only complaint, is that the walls were very thin and we could hear our neighbors next to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Relaxed Hotel, close to amenities and the beach

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location is everything, its not beachfront, but its a short walk - the many food outlets made dining easy, and the front desk staff were very helpful
Cons: Housekeeping, times would vary greatly if they come at all, at one stage we had 3 days of towels backed up for collection and an overflowing trash can
Location: We walked to a bus stop, only five bucks return to Diamond head for 2 of us! Picked up for all tours and booked activities, short walk to mall/beach.
The front desk staff probably make this hotel, we had such a warm, welcoming and informative check-in - with a free cookie (trust me you want to try this), the room itself was fairly generous in terms of size and space (we had the mini-suite which was worth the extra to have a sitting area), if not a little tired in terms of the couch fraying and a few knocks on the doors/walls. The pool area is nice, although it is only a couple of minutes from Ala Moana beach (Waikiki area near the seperate Hilton Vacation village resort) which is ideal for swimming. The hotel is surrounded by many 24hr diners offering good meals, the hotel has a restaurant although this is quite small around its bar area. There is a convenience store across the road and its approximately a 15 minute walk to the major shopping mall. There is a car rental business nearby. Most tours pick up from the Hotel front entrance. In terms of the room, it can be a bit noisy from the street below (we were on the third top level), mainly due to the amount of sirens which seem to originate from the area. Housekeeping was probably my only complaint - they missed a day entirely for no apparent reason, and would have missed a second day if we hadn't followed up and asked them to come back. The room was pretty clean, just don't look around the corners or under the taps, but if what you are looking for is a comfortable, safe and friendly hotel, close to the beach and eateries etc. you shouldn't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Convenient hotel for business trip

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Not-to-be-missed, the happy hour. Great beer selection, decent prices, and a mai tai that holds it own next to those from more famous venues.
I have stayed here two times, and both have been positive experiences. The staff is very accommodating, the rooms are clean, and the location (for getting to the convention center) is excellent. You are also a pleasant walk to Waikiki and to the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Wotif
Good location, clean room and friendly staff. The light in the bathroom was too bright that it lit up the whole room. Needs a blind or dark glass. The shower needs new seals the bottom as it leaks all the time causing flooding - very dangerous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Noisy

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We didn't sleep well because all of the noise. Couldn't recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrific Front Desk, Housekeeping and Bell staff

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome Front Desk staff - hospitable, friendly and treated guests like family. Not just one but all Front Desk staff - service and attention comparable to luxury chain like Four Seasons. Nice pool and fitness facilities. Very good Bell staff who are efficient and welcoming. Parking is expensive but so are rest of Waikiki hotels. Older building and elevators, carpet and balcony showing wear and tear. Small Bathroom with no tub. Mountainview room had a disappointing view - overlooked neigbouring parking lot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland,Oh

Nice for the price.

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Was told we had 2 balconies a lanai and regular balcony by Doubletree reservations, and that is what the 3D picture of the suite showed and it showed a much better bathroom. Was told the lanai or 2 balconies only came with the penthouse suite. But I chose the room based on the photos of the 2 bed suite W/ partial ocean view and lanai. I wouldn't have known about 2 desperate balconies had I not been told that's what I had
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin

Great location, room not entirely clean

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The location is its greatest asset. The hotel staff are also friendly.
Cons: The room cleaning could be improved.
Location: The hotel is located in Waikiki Beach, so you can walk down to the harbor and see lots of fish and shops, especially in the Hilton Beach Resort.
The location was great--we could easily walk to nearby stores to explore the city and the harbor. The hotel staff was always accommodating and responded quickly to our requests. The only complaint would be that the room was not entirely clean. Moreover, the toilet overflowed during our stay, which was an inconvenience, and the mess was not cleaned up very well by the hotel cleaning. Overall, however, our stay was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Convenient hotel for best shopping in Honolulu

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Ticks all the boxes for a brief stay in Honolulu. Only negative was soft mattress and too soft pillows, if firm support is your preference for a decent sleep. Expensive but that's Honolulu for you, it's better value compared to others.