Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Nice hotel with beautiful beach.

Posted May 28, 2017
I found the hotel to have nice accommodations and Hotel staff ( except one pool server ) 99% worked really hard and provided a great atmosphere - experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Quaint, quiet, beachfront, beauty

Posted Apr 28, 2017
this clean, fresh, beachfront hotel is all about quality and service. It's quiet with top notch restaurants and located a few steps from the best retail in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Very relaxing, quiet, peaceful

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Elegant, quiet, great service and view
Location: All the fun in Waikiki is within walking distance...but it feels like you away from the city
The staff is extraordinary, enjoyed every minute, House Without a Key is a delightful casual dining experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Waikiki

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We spent our honeymoon at the Halekulani and it was just fabulous. I've stayed at several other hotels in Waikiki and this by far was the best. The location is fantastic - right in the heart of the shopping strip but also right on the beach. It's more exclusive, slightly private and quieter than even its closest neighbouring hotels, such as the Outrigger and Sheraton, which have a very busy Club-Med vibe. Although all Hawaiian hotels seem to be child friendly, I was pleasantly surprised not to see children running wild around the grounds. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We received sweet little gifts from the hotel each day too. We were greeted with champagne and a fruit platter to welcome us on our honeymoon and when we had a slight glitch with the car we hired through the hotel, they refunded us $100 and sent us wine and a generous cheese platter. The rooms are some of the most modern you'll find in Waikiki. Decent size and always immaculately cleaned. The breakfast buffet was amazing. So much variety and it wasn't always the same each morning. The only fault would be that this hotel is very pricey. I was happy to splurge on our accommodation since it was our honeymoon, but otherwise it's very expensive. I suppose you get what you pay for though! I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Luxury in Waikiki

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The Halekulani is the most luxurious hotel in Waikiki. Set in a fabulous beachfront location and two minutes walk to the designer shopping strip on Kalakaua Avenue, as well as great restaurants, you couldn't be better placed to have an amazing holiday. The staff, hotel services and rooms will exceed expectations. Highly recommend to splurge a little more and secure an Ocean Front room, as the view is superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, pool area
Cons: Rooms are a bit small
The hotel staff is out of this world at the hotel anticipating every need you may have. The location is great and the pool area wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ynice

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Food,healthy more green choice on buffet Change dress codes guests are forced elsewhere to eat fine food if they don't have color shirt and long pant
Location: Walk,nit great access for bvuewvof beach
Good,nice plants,lawn bad dress code for island vacation,guests have to bring special clothes to eat a buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Quiet, peaceful, safe luxury experience. The service is outstanding, as is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great hotel, private beach access.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Daily gifts to room was thoughtful: champagne one day, seashell in a box the next. Wife enjoyed spa services.
Cons: Minor glitch at check-in: We arrived late Saturday night. Bellman took 45 minutes to deliver luggage.
Location: Right on beach. great saltwater pool. Close to restaurants (everything from Denny's to Ruth Chris). High-end shopping ("the Scottsdale of Hawaii").
First trip to Hawaii and we wanted to do it right. Breakfast was very good, buffet and a la carte. Poolside snacks and drink service was great. Didn't eat at their dinner spot because I didn't bring a jacket, because...Hawaii. Room was very clean, well laid-out. View of pool and ocean from balcony was amazing. Very easy to book tours and activities through concierge. Service was world class. Why stay anywhere else in Oahu?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Some guy from Kentucky

6 Star location -3 star room in a concrete jungle

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Sunset dinner in the southeast corner with floor to ceiling patio doors open is worth the $400+ tab. The grounds are immaculate.
Cons: Remodel the room. Fix the AC, Buy a mattress worthy of a 5 star hotel. Move the hotel to the garden island.
Location: Located directly on Waikiki Beach. As close as you are going to get. Hotel has no real beach. Surrounded by parking decks, concrete, and shops,
I really wanted to love this place. Immaculate grounds. Gracious staff. Sunset dinner at La Mer is a lifetime-like experience. Booked a Diamond Head view on the 15th floor. Stunning view but compromised by hotels right next door that create a sardine-in-a can like effect. Room was a nice size but average in amenities and finishes. Furnishing were dated. The best mattress was the worst ever. Felt like an inflatable. Could not lie flat on it and it titled us toward the side. The AC controls have no control over the actual room temp that seemed to stay at 72. Had to open the patio door to get air movement but couldn't sleep hearing people partying on the outside beach walk until 2:30 am.