Ratings based on 1,171 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

11 minutes walk to the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Dirty carpet, no wifi in the room, room vault was broken, coffee cup not replaced plus others
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waikiki HI

You guessed it. I probably just jealous because I'

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Orbitz
From t the GM, Vanessa to parking attendant the experience is like the 6th grade dance. The staff all act like why me......i always chaperon, what about the rest of the staff. So if you are the star athlete with a cheerleader girlfriend I would highly recommend the Hawaiian Monarch, but for us average Joe and Jane be ready to "you can't" and don't even think of asking why. Thrust me I seen it in action at least twice a day. The award winning hotel police will give you a 1st verbal warning and a time out. (trasspassing violation). To sum it up bring sweet treat for your favorite teacher (front desk) and a broom for the GM. Hope she will fly away but if not give it to one of the staff so they can sweep some of the trash on the grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Marketing but no Quality.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: No internet in the room...dirty carpets...very old furniture.
Location: Again, the location was fine and nearby place to eat.
I won't get too deep...but the hotel and room were like a dive hotel out of the 1930's. Move to a different hotel within 40 minutes and let them keep the cost of the room because I just wanted to leave for something better as soon as possible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boise,idaho

Resort fees.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to not far from beach,mall, or walk path.
Cons: Where do I start. If you really care hire me to evaluate things mentioned above and fix a.s.p. Happy employees happy guests for a start.
Location: Location was fine. No you are not right on beach. But most everything is within a short walk. I little walk good and very safe location.
How do you justify resort fees when pool area closed!!! The save extra on top of that!! The one guy at the front desk hates his job. More interested in texting on his phone than helping or even smiling and being polite. The lady that did check in tried to charge me twice for resort fees. But she was really friendly and slowly got things done. The new work out room very nice, but there agin the water cooler never worked so where in my resort fee returned back to me for things not being as should be. I think a refund is in order, wouldn't you??
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated poor quality hotel.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor quality, even at a low rate. Pool closed, no advanced notice. No wifi in room. Won't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Good room services, comfortable room temperature .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The Monarch Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
It was a nice, clean room. I just needed a place to sleep for the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good Location in Waikiki. Parking Very Good. Good Laundry Room. Carpet was in poor condition. Mattress was old. Paid for daily coffee service and barely received coffee 50% of the time. Air Conditioning didn't work properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Calgary Alberta Canada

desk help really impressed

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: the younger girl on the desk was fabulous went out of her way to serve
Cons: swimming pool upgrades not very well scheduled
Location: great
average, hotel bathrooms could use a little work clean up tubs, caulking around tub etc very poor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location
The room was larger than I thought it would be ,clean tidy. location of hotel fantastic as walkable to all locations we were interested in.