Ratings based on 1,166 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

A cheap place to crasb in

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Old and cheap. Clean but very old hotel. If you just need a place to sleep and shower, this is it then GTFO.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was adequate for a short stay.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: We liked the views of the aqueduct / canal and mountains or the Waikiki area as well as Diamond Head. It was also close to the University of Hawaii.
Cons: Clean bedding and a slightly larger refrigerator would help immensely.
Location: Traffic is horrendous but what it is; still it's very convenient to the places we needed to see and have access to as well as being close to Waikiki.
The check in staff was repetitive in his instruction and explanations regarding the facility. He didn't explain that the 2 different banks of elevators were for a 'hotel' side and a 'condo side'. The linen on the beds were clean and made up upon returning each day, but the box spring cover had stains on it and obviously hadn't been cleaned or changed in quite a while.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Resort

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Charge a "resort Fee" but this is no resort. Not close to beach, no in room WiFi, limited outlets to recharge today's electronics (charged phone and laptop in bathroom). This is an older, well used hotel with compact everything. That said, everything was fairly clean but shower/tub could stand a sand blasting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: easy access. quiet
Cons: Went to check out and no one was at the main desk for 10 minutes
Had to pay a $10 per day "resort fee" that was ludicrous. Then, to use the equipment you had to pay another $5. Just a bit greedy. All was well until we stored our luggage at the hotel only to find out that many things were missing from the luggage when we got to the airport. A downer for any tourist!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The price.
It was great for the price!!! We didn't go to Hawaii for the hotel so it was great@@
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was fast and easy. Parking fees are ridiculous at $25 per night. Most places are smaller fee or free. Bathroom small and felt squishy. Carpet stained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and loved the tiny restaurant by the lobby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

11 minutes walk to the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Dirty carpet, no wifi in the room, room vault was broken, coffee cup not replaced plus others
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waikiki HI

You guessed it. I probably just jealous because I'

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Orbitz
From t the GM, Vanessa to parking attendant the experience is like the 6th grade dance. The staff all act like why me......i always chaperon, what about the rest of the staff. So if you are the star athlete with a cheerleader girlfriend I would highly recommend the Hawaiian Monarch, but for us average Joe and Jane be ready to "you can't" and don't even think of asking why. Thrust me I seen it in action at least twice a day. The award winning hotel police will give you a 1st verbal warning and a time out. (trasspassing violation). To sum it up bring sweet treat for your favorite teacher (front desk) and a broom for the GM. Hope she will fly away but if not give it to one of the staff so they can sweep some of the trash on the grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Marketing but no Quality.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: No internet in the room...dirty carpets...very old furniture.
Location: Again, the location was fine and nearby place to eat.
I won't get too deep...but the hotel and room were like a dive hotel out of the 1930's. Move to a different hotel within 40 minutes and let them keep the cost of the room because I just wanted to leave for something better as soon as possible.