Ratings based on 10,020 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newyork

There was bed bugs repellen in my room i scratch

Posted May 26, 2017
There was bed bugs repellen in my room i scrathed all night , hotel manager then relocated my husband and i to the diamond tower a downgrade from my rainbow ocean room tower. The diamond tower smelled of mole & cigarette smoke ...etc it was horrible so we had to then re packed our suit cases and go back to front desk , this was like 2to 3 in the morning to get a different room back in the rainbow tower..i did not see why he moved us fr tower to tower that early in am when we could hve stayed in first tower..I really did not enjoy this trip hawaiian culture is just not there, stay are not quite friendly. ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Great location

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: I liked that it was convenient to shops and restaurants.
Location: Right on the beach with a view of Diamond Head. Shopping on the resort and nearby.
I stayed in the Diamond Head building and had a view of the ocean and the city. The room was clean and had a nice size television. My only issue was that the air conditioning could only go as low as 68 degrees. Normally, I wouldn't expect 68 degrees to be a problem, but the hotel had this all-in-one sheet/duvet cover so you couldn't just sleep with a sheet on you without the comforter. As your body temperature rises during the night, it gets too warm with the cover. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping at the resort and nearby. The ABC stores have everything from food to gifts. Save their receipts and if you purchase over $100, you can receive a free gift. If you're a bargain hunter, go to the swap meet at the Aloha Stadium where you can haggle on prices. Check out several vendors before you start to make purchases because prices vary. I believe there was a $1.00 entry fee for each person. If you're staying for awhile and plan use the beach often, you will come out cheaper purchasing an umbrella, chair, and/or blanket rather than renting them from the hotel. Besides, you will need them if you visit other beaches. We walked to the Walmart, and I found this great blanket that zips up into a cushion. It's a 20 minute walk, but you can also take the bus. We rented a car for the day at the Thrifty Car Rental (next to Tony Roma's restaurant) and returned it before they closed (8:00 pm) to avoid having to pay $35/day at the hotel to park there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel has a lot to offer for kids

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel itself is nice. But it was my husband and I 20th wedding anniversary and I was not prepared for the amount of children at the resort. I like kids but not so much for this particular trip. If you have kids it's great, but if you are a couple w/ out your children I would look elsewhere. There is no adult area (or pool) to use. Which would have made all the difference in the world to us. We were looking for some peace and quiet so we rented a car and went to other areas of the island, it was great to explore the island but it was an additional expense and a bit inconvenient, being from Los Angeles we did not want to be in a car. The hotel staff with the exception of our housekeeper was pretty much non existent. No one ever said hello or aloha to us. I was surprised that a Hilton property does not have higher standards when it comes to customer service. Last but not least the luau.... we were considering this as part of our Hawaiian experience at $120pp but when we saw from our balcony we were glad we didn't buy. It's on top of the parking garage!!!! While the Hawaiian dancers seemed authentic enough - why didn't they do it on the beach? What a difference that would have made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted May 22, 2017
Staff are very friendly. Location is close to most activities. Taxi/Uber is easily accessible. Awesome beach, awesome drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Vacation at beach

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Everyone was very helpful in finding what we needed and so nice.
Location: The beach was right outside our room which was wonderful. Also the pool and hot tub were out in the same door just different direction.
We love the weather and everyone was extremely nice and helpful for everything we needed. We would recommend the hotel and all the places so close to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted May 21, 2017
We got a great price for 5 nights in a resort view room and then got upgraded to an ocean view room at no charge. Early check in cost us $50 USD. We had our 2 year old son with us and we were provided a sleeping cot at no charge. Free wifi at Starbucks in lobby on the ground floor (Kalia Tower). The restaurants at the resort are quite pricey and recommend trying them once but venture out for your cheap eats. Wailana coffe house across the street has an all you can eat pancake deal but don't expect an espresso here. Avoid pronto pickle as the food is garbage and way overpriced!! Round table Pizza was the winner at the resort followed by Tropics. All restaurants provided a baby chair for our son. There is an ABC Mart on every corner in Waikiki and you will find yourself here more often than not. ***TIP*** Keep all your ABC Mart receipts and ask for a Gold Card(Free) When you spend certain amounts at ABC you can recieve free stuff. All the pools are great and seemed clean. The fireworks displays on Friday and Saturday nights are a must see and are free on the beachfront outside the hotel***WARNING*** These fireworks are EXTREMELY LOUD and can easily scare small children. I WOULD NOT recommend being beachfront as these things go off as they could cause serious psychological harm to a small developing mind.... On the Saturday night...we watched the display from our balcony at a much more suitable distance, but still very very loud at the far opposite end of the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Private Beach Area with no pesky vendors

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Everything was great, it was fun to browse through the stores on site however some are kind of expensive but that is normal for an upscale hotel
Cons: All was good, the bathroom was dated however the room was spotless and bed comfortable so what more do you need.
Location: Ala Moana Mall very close within walking distance
lovely rooms, professional staff, always taxi's and speedishuttle available, food good at restaurants close to the beach and good views, nice fireworks friday nites. close to the mall and close to red lobster, tony romas and outback steak hosue, several pools I found it all to be excellent and I was treated very well. Will return......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Did not like having to walk with luggage after traveling for 6 hours to check in at resort. Pulling luggage on uneven stone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Large Resort pools are assigned depending on your assigned room building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

loved it

Posted May 18, 2017
Great pools steps away from beach staff friendly and very helpful