Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Family friendly hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
I was a bit skeptical about booking here because it's lower than a 4-star rating, but I'm glad I did. Most of the reviews about this place is how small the rooms are. I wouldn't say it's really that small, I've stayed at a hotel in NY that was much smaller. The amenities here are great: jacuzzi, toddler-sized chess set, mini golf course, table tennis tables, foosball, game room, gym, and pool/jacuzzi. Breakfast was also included everyday 6:30am to 9:30am. The staff was amazing, went above and beyond when needed to be. However, there were some cons for this place. First off, the extra person charge. The maximum amount of adults allowed in a room without paying the fee is 2 people. So on top of the amenities fee, you'd have to pay $35 per person plus tax. This was a bummer and was the first time that I had to pay extra for a person. Another huge complaint we had was the parking. We rented out a mid-size SUV, which is pretty high. It actually scraped the top of the roof when we were trying to park. Another slight issue was the cleanliness. There were stains on my bed sheets and pillowcases, also on some of the towels. I would keep looking at other places next time. This isn't my first choice but it comes down to it, then I will.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Perfect location!!!

Posted May 19, 2017
The hotel has been renovated not long ago, rooms are nicely decorated but a bit tight because they tried to fit two queen beds. Location is amazing, right at the beginning of the Main Street to walk and enjoy good shopping and food. There are only two things I can mentioned, the pool is not the best, and parking is limited due to reserve parking for construction workers at the hotel, though I have to say that they make that issue clear since the bigining and give you instruction for optional parking around. Overall, very happy with our stay and affordable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Wonderful hotel in great location with nice staff!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, staff, cleanliness, location.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance.
Really great hotel. The staff was so helpful and went out of their way to assist us, giving us maps and detailed directions and suggestions, as well as an upgraded room at no cost. The breakfast is, as always, amazing, and we were able to eat enough in the morning that we could skip lunch and save our money for dinner! Hotel is in a convenient location. Wonderful experience overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would stay again next time at this hotel.

Posted May 13, 2017
Location: Waikiki beach, shops, malls.
For the price I paid, it is a good hotel. Breakfast has lots of things to eat. Room is clean. The only drawback is it is a little far from the beach. But considering the price I paid, it's ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Hotel is affiliation with Wyndam Time Shares.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the breakfast very much. There were healthy options and unhealthy options. We even made our lunch for the day of sightseeing in Honolulu.
Cons: The rooms are very small, almost cramped. The hotel could add more hooks to the walls and this could alleviate the space problem.
Location: The location was very nice and very convenient to most of the buses we traveled on. We did not need a car and frankly I was happy we did not have one
This hotel is affiliated with Wyndam Time Shares. Their office is in the direct path of all the visitors to the hotel. On my first day, they approached us about a free lunch with an obligation to listen to a rap about their time shares at the Outrigger. I said NO. Later that week as I was getting ready to pay for a 2 hour sailing trip, they offered to pay for the trip ($70) plus a lunch in exchange for listening to a rap about the time shares at the Outrigger. Again, I said NO. This qualifies in my mind as harassment. Normally, I would stay here again but after this experience with the Wyndam Time Share people, I would never consider staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Jernell Mendonca, Hotel Management
Aloha Glenda. Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and our ideal location. However, we are sorry to hear that the rest of your stay was less than convenient and apologize for the interruption you experienced. We are dedicated to the comfort and privacy of our guests and we assure you that this is not the aspect of your vacation that we would hope you remember. Your feedback will be shared with our management so that we can look into improving our overall guest experience, and hope to have another pleasure of welcoming you in the future. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair Location, but not a resort

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, room small but efficient, which I like.
Cons: Parking, more upfront about fees.
Location: Right between Waikiki beach and Ala Moana, near conference center. Lots of dining and shopping nearby. Not a bad location, price.
Resort fee and parking added $50/day to stay. Honolulu is expensive, but it's not a resort hotel. Parking is also tight. Be wary if you're older. That said, fair location, clean, excellent breakfast. As a place to stay in Honolulu you could do worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Jernell Mendonca, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn you enjoyed our breakfast options, clean accommodations and ideal location! Your feedback regarding parking will be shared with management so that we can look into improve this aspect for our guests in the future, and we hope to welcome you again soon for more vacation fun. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short 2 day stay in Waikiki

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: clean, quite, and comfortable
Cons: any complaints would be petty... just keep doing what you are doing!
Location: walk to the beach, or local places to eat. Heavenly was a great place to eat, and just a few blocks away.
I spent just todays and two nights in Waikiki. A third of my time was in the hotel that I stayed at. Overall my hotel experience was great. The conditions and cleanliness of the hotel we very well kept and clean. The staff from front desk, to the maid service were very polite and accommodating through out my stay. The complimentary breakfast was well organized, and plentiful. I loved the automatic pancake machine! The room I stayed in was a single king sized bedroom with a great view. Very clean and well designed. The TV channels covered all of my needs, and was easy to navigate. The bathroom was well stocked, clean, and plenty of powerful HOT water (stand up shower only, no bath tub). The linens were very bright white, and clean. Lighting was bright and through out the room as needed. There was even a small computer stand that was able to be positioned over the edge of the bed, in case you might want to work from your bed, lol. As far as location goes, its just a block of the busier beaten path, and several blocks from the closest beach. I didn't mind as I like a little bit of a walk to and from the beach to take in the scenery, and avoid the sidewalk traffic. Like I said before, overall my time in hotel was nice and quite, uninterrupted and relaxing. I would return to this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Jernell Mendonca, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and that our staff, complimentary breakfast, ideal location, and additional amenities helped to make your vacation a wonderful experience. We will be so happy to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Very good hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Good location. 10 min walk to beach . Central . Good breakfast . Good room . Good view .beside all shops and restaurants . Excelant staff . All excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Our stay in Oahu was excellent

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It was very clean and the welcome you got just made it feel like home . They did a nice remodel and location was great
Cons: They don't have alot of parking but if your early returning from a drive your OK
Location: The location was great and all the stores , shops and restaurant and beach were all close .
We really loved our stay . The staff and all were so nice and helpful and always had a smile . If we are able to return someday we will come to the Holiday Inn Express again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
I love this hotel. It's close to the beach , bus stops, restaurants . Hotel is clean , staff are supper friendly specially Sawn , he moved us from 12 floor to 37 with partial beach view. Swimming pools got hour change from 6-8 Pm . Just one minor thing about the room is the air conditioning. It makes noise and not much cool air. Other than that we're happy with our stay and will come back next time.