Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburg Tx

Great location, great amenities

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Provided beach gear, free cold breakfast, 1 free movie rental, cold AC.
Cons: If it had a pool it would have been awesome!
Location: Food, convenience store, beach are within 1-3 minute walk.
We stayed here for a week and loved the location. When going to beach they provide you with beach towels, beach chairs and mats. Very convenient. Forget toiletries at home- they provided plenty of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bar soap and body wash.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location with friendly staff

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This hotel is located in a great spot, close to the beach, restaurants and ABC stores. Friendly staff! However we didn't enjoy the continental breakfast, cold pastries some filled with meat, some fruit, cereal full of sugar and the usual tea/coffee and juice. Overall we had a great time staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice staff, central location.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Staff is amazingly friendly. Hotel is close to the beach, zoo, aquarium, shopping, University of Hawaii, restaurants, etc. If we ever return to Waikiki we would definitely stay at Hotel Renew again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Bad hotel!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: No.
Cons: Increasing big bed width and decreasing its price to a proper level based on the hotel amenities.
Location: NO.
Booked the hotel by expedia webpage and was told to provide free breakfast but the hotel asked extra payment for Wi-Fi and breakfast! The hotel claims two big beds in a room for more than 3 persons but each bed just 135cm width and never sleep for 2 persons! The breakfast is also bad. Such a bad cost performance ratio in the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice decor; Close to beach, shops, groceries

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Nice decor; very accommodating staff and services; nearby amenities
Cons: Wish the breakfast offered more variety, meats, and nutrition. Elevators seem frustratingly slow.
Location: Close to beach, shops, restaurants, groceries, zoo, aquarium, park, diamond head crater.
Very good hotel and friendly and accommodating hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Seeet staff, decent room, great deal! Definitely need a power source around bed, then you can enjoy perfectly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Laud

Hidden $25 per night mandatory "resort fee."

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location. Could be a great little hotel, with a little more attention (and eliminating the mandatory hidden fee).
Cons: Disclose actual rate fairly by eliminating hidden mandatory resort fee. Maintenance poor.
Location: One block from beach and main street (Kalakaua). Restaurants were quite expensive unless you really hunted for something off the main tourtist areas.
Really turned off by hidden $25 Resort Fee. When we shop for a hotel online, price is important, as is location, reputation, etc. When they charge an additional $25 without clear prior notice, they really screw up the shopping equation. Hotel was decent basic boutique style. A little dated and maintenance lacking. Toilet refilled every few minutes the first night, so we turned off the water supply every night thereafter. Light around mirror out. Desk lamp didn't work and it was plugged in. Only one available outlet (and I mean ONE, not one duplex outlet), although the wasted visible outlets on coffee maker and TV that could have been plugged in to the plug strip behind the desk. Ten year old boutique styling getting dated, especially in bath where caulk and grout dirty; toilet was not replaced even ten year ago during that renovation. Hallway AC not working. That's probably why room was humid (since bath exhaust pulls in the humid outside/hallway air) and under-window AC noisy. I've been in the business for 20 yrs, so I am critical, but think you should "know before you go."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Alright hotel in a disappointing Waikiki

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Cons: Smelled funny
The hotel served its purpose to see the East and West shore of Oahu. I hated Waikiki other than the restaurants. My biggest complaint was that valet parking was around $60 per night and if you have a car there was no chance at finding parking spots so we gave in to the valet service. My full recommendation? Go north shore in Oahu or get an Air BNB on the east side of the island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value near beach, great staff

Posted Jan 22, 2017
A great boutique hotel with great value half a block from Waikiki. Staff are excellent and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Its in the middle of everything!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
From the moment we walked in eberyone treated us very well during our whole atay they were alwYs trying to help with whayever we needed. We will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone we love it :)