Ratings based on 1,109 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carson City Nv

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Off Strip area from crowds. No bums hanging around
Away from crowds but close enough to Waikiki downtown to walk. Walking distance to Diamond Head if that was an interest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Right on the beach, with a park across the street. If you want a hotel not surrounding by to many other buildings this is a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation pleasures

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and cozy
Cons: Food cost--too high
Location: Perfect
Very Pleasant experience. Warm, friendly "Hawaiian-flavored"staff. They provide towels and mat service for beach use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Maintaining its Quality Level.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: See above. And Hotel staff has both a "can-do" and "want-to-do" attitude.
Cons: My room had what appeare to be a queen size bed but was twin beds which had been linked. There was a noticable gap between the mattresses.
I have stayed at the New Otani on several occasions for more than 20 years. The facility remains well maintained. The quality of service remains top notch. And the hotel boasts one of the few and best ocean-view restaurants on Oahu. The Hau Tree Lanai is relaxing, easy, and they still serve a good meal. Even if one doesn't stay at the New Otani, this restaurant should be on anyone's fine dining list...especially at sunset. One important note: The rooms in this hotel are generally smaller than most other Honolulu hotels. If room size is important, this may not be your best choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne AU

Hotel right on beach.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Plenty of space for family of 4. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a very comfortable queen sofa bed in living area - proper mattress.
Cons: Room had musty smell. Remove carpets as we noticed it does get humid and floors become damp. Hard floors more appropriate in this setting.
Location: The beach is perfect and not overcrowded with Aquarium and Zoo nearby. Access to book tours etc direct from hotel.
Hotel was in a good location set on the shore. Public transport went right past. Taxis available via concierge. Short walk into Waikiki, but far enough away from hussel and bussel. Small supermarket onsite for everyday needs or 20 min walk to a large Food Pantry store. Space to park car outside of property - some for free, or park in property for a $10 a day charge. Maid service everyday. Provides everything inc beach towels and mats. Two restaurants onsite and plenty within short walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

best location and view of honolulu and waikiki

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location and view. Get the ocean view room at least 5th or 6th floor on waikiki side.
Cons: Nothing. a little remodeling would be nice.
Location: restaurants, beach, shopping, aquarium, zoo,surfing, snorkeling, diamond head.
absolutely one of the best views around anywhere. older hotel, not a lot of extras, hotel staff professional and courteous. but stay for the view. Only 20 minute walk to downtown. no crowds like downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Nice accommodations but lacking in honesty.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The bed was excellent as was the restaurant.
Cons: Try telling the truth about the daily rate instead of trying to hide it via a "Resort Fee". Don't lie to guests to force them to use valet parking.
Location: On the beach. Across the street from a park. Easy drive to shopping. Quiet area, felt safe.
Checked in around midnight. Learned about the "Resort Fee" at check in. The fact that the hotel advertises rooms for $35 less than the actual per night cost shows a serious lack of honesty. Then the night clerk told me it cost and additional $30 to park in the hotel lot. He said if I parked on the street the car would be towed if it was not moved by 7:00AM. The fact is that there is adequate metered parking on the street and the meters only require payment between 10:00 AM and 6:00 PM. The desk clerk clearly lied to us to make us utilize their outrageously expensive valet parking. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The restaurant was excellent; but nothing makes up for being lied to and ripped off on the price. I would NOT recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, on the beach, quiet convenient area.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Good views. Nice small bar, reasonable happy hour and for walk-in breakfast. Free beach mat and towels. Laundry room. Only has valet parking $$.
Cons: Minor interior refresh in needed.
Location: Diamond Head, Aquarium, Zoo, Large Parks close; Walk to Waikiki & Shopping. Two restaurants at hotel, both good; one a very traditional Japanese type.
Causal, comfortable hotel with modern accommodations and relaxed environment. Mid-century classic tropical feel hotel with some varying degrees of renovations. Hotel is geared to Japanese travelers and small families but also other international and mainland visitors. Not a kid-friendly. No pool or play area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Love the location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We love that it's set away from the main (busy) Waikiki strip. It's quiet when we want quiet, yet only a ten minute walk to the main strip. Best of both worlds. Staff is always awesome, rooms & hotel spotless. We've stayed here three times & my only disappointment is this last time- didn't like the pillows at all (no support) and woke up stiff most mornings. Otherwise- still my favourite Waikiki hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Painesville, Ohio

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Has it's own beach so not real crowded, room was a little small but we had a patio overlooking the ocean and slept with the patio doors open all night to listen to the surf. There was no lounge chairs on beach just the the little beach chairs available st front desk and no beachside bar