Ratings based on 1,395 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hotel is convenient. Only prob twice room was not serviced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alvin services

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Cons: Only issue was the air conditioner was hard to change.
The hotel was great. The room clean. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Convenient location

Posted Mar 17, 2017
They charged a lot of fees for services that I didn't use. Amenity fee, general excise tax twice, and transient accommodation tax at 9.25%. Also chared me upgraded room charge but the room was the same as standard room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pagoda Inn - close to shopping , restaurants

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The location of the hotel is ideal for the budget traveler. It is close to Walmart and Don Quixote grocery and food court complex. If Walmart doesn't stock the fruits one desires, try the Eco Market (a Korean grocery store near before Chick and Meck). Ala Moana mall is an ten minute stroll from the hotel. There is a J and J Bakery one block from the mall. The restaurants in the immediate area are Asahi Grill, Like Like, and Sorabol. There are eateries lined along a parking area between Subways and Raging Crab. For Waikiki Beach, there is bountiful public transportation near Ala Moana.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Convenient location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The location is fantastic and shuttle service only makes it better for those with no transportation. Super easy to get everywhere I wanted to go!
Cons: I would include the convenience fee in the price of the room, and list all the amenities it covers as complimentary. Much more attractive to guests!
Location: Walmart is literally right by the hotel. The HUGE Ala Moana Center only takes a few minutes to walk to, and the beach is right behind it!
The rooms are not fancy, but location and service is fantastic. I would stay here again, and if you're looking for convenience and location, then I recommend it. The hotel is right across the street from Walmart, and within walking distance of several restaurants, as well as Ala Moana Shopping Center and the beach! I loved being able to get around to these places on foot, and never had to worry about parking. The Aqua Shuttle (included in the convenience fee) was great for me, as well. You may have ask for a shuttle pass though, as I was not offered one when I checked in, and you need it to board the shuttle. But I could easily ride the shuttle to another hotel, and then walk wherever I wanted. Just ride the shuttle from Pagoda to Oasis Hotel, and you're practically at Waikiki Beach Walk! I love that you can also track the shuttle on your phone, so you don't have to wait around for pick up. (Note, the shuttle will not take you to the airport. I recommend booking Roberts Hawaii for that. They were great!) There is an attached restaurant where guests get 10% off. I didn't end up eating there, but it seems nice. I would prefer free continental breakfast, but there are several restaurants around, so finding food is not an issue. I can see how the convenience fee could be a little off putting, especially for guests who will not use any of the amenities, yet are forced to pay it anyway. I would include it in the room price, and offer the amenities as complimentary. :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing good poor everything plus excessive charge

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Poor service if any. Staff attitude is couldn't care less. Run down facility with mold in bathroom and kitchen. Dirty torn carpet. Peeling off paint. Broken cabinet exposing wall behind. Extra charges and extra deposit even though everything was paid in full in advance via Expedia. Expedia will loose any credibility if not already if it continues to promote such so called hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We arrived after a long day of travel, booked Pagoda for the half a night we would be there (checked in around 1am, out by 8am) prior to our week on Waikiki. Our shuttle dropped us off in the back, was creepy to say the least. Not sure what we were in for. Once inside we did get checked in and made our way to our room. Room was very old, very tight door way to get in, they attempted to update *somewhat*. New lamps, tv, PS3, but the two beds were full size and one was soft and the other was hard. Very loud window AC. In the middle of the night the phone started making noise which woke us up and freaked me out. I only chose this hotel because we knew we were not staying long and it stated on Expedia that shuttle service was included. THIS IS VERY MISLEADING. NO SHUTTLE FROM AIRPORT, ONLY TO WAIKIKI. And it is only 'included' after paying the resort fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Only with feedback can we make any necessary improvements. We apologize that the "shuttle" service verbiage between the Ala Moana shopping center and Waikiki was mistaken for airport/hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OREGON

Advantage

Posted Jan 16, 2017
-3-Yrs of SAVING $ ONCE ON A LIFETIME TRIP-100%OPPASITE OF REQUESTED PROPERTY. POOL IN SHAD 24/7FREEZING COLD-NO HOT TUB-NO SAUNA-NO ROOM SERVICE GIVEN EXTREMLY HIGH PRICES. STILL IN AWWW.... WHAT DID I GET FOR ME DOLLAR- A PLACE TO LAY HEAD-THATS ALL NO OTHER " Ameneties", AS DESCRIBED. STAFF EXTREMLY RUDE *UNLESS MONEY INVOLVED-ALL REFUSES A SIMPLE HUMAN TO HUMAN GOOD AM- AFTERNOON-AND OR A SIMPLE HELLO. FRONT DESK STAFF DEBBIE WAS AWESOME HELP ! LITTERLY ONLY STAFF WHO DID SO IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER- POLITNESS- DESK MEN ANSWERING PHONE CALL VERY RUDE- STUCK THEIR FOR -8- DAYS PLEASE SPEND $20MORE GO TO ANOTHER PROPERTY UNLESS YOU HAVE NO EXPETATIONS. IF YOU URN FOR " Hotel Ameneties",,, SO NOT STAY HERE. I TRIED TO SEE THE GOOD BEING ON HA... SADLY NOT HERE ON THIS PROPERTY! TRULLY 100% OPPASITE OF ALL EXPETATIONS. SAD WHEN IT TAKES ONES LIFELYHOOD TO EVEN GO AND ONE RECIEVED THIS. DOES EXPEDIA DO THIS TO all PEEPS? CHRONIC ILLNESS- NOT A EVERY DAY FLIER- NOR TRIP TAKER ON THIS LEVEL HAVE STAYWD AT " Hotel 8" INDEED MUCH MORE TO OFFER ON ANY LEVEL! I WOULD RATE MORE FOR "MOTEL 6", THAN THIS NIGHTMARE LET DOWN. NO LIES HERE SADDLY ALL TRUE. WISH WAS EXAGERATING.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fiji

Decent Hotel close to 24hr shopping.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Cons: Some parts of the rooms could be refreshed and repainted.
Location: shop shop shop! Eat Eat Eat!!!
The hotel is in a perfect location for shopping and getting around. There is a 24/7 Walmart and 24/7 Walgreens within walking distance. There are multiple fantastic eating spots within walking distance around this hotel. The hotel has a laundry facility on the 1st floor and a pool at the back. The people are incredibly helpful. The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable and family friendly. Amazingly they have playstation rentals avail which was great for our kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Meryknoll Magpantay, Hotel Management
Aloha Anna, Thank you for your great review of Pagoda Hotel. So glad you found our property to be perfect for you and very family friendly. We hope you return to stay with us soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Close too everything

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We enjoyed our staycation restaurant was ok breakfast was good