Ratings based on 3,830 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Friendly staff, clean, close to the beach. The building/rooms are dated, but for the price it is a great value and overall a great hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA.

great location.. BUT

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: location, the bed was great.....
Cons: maintenance
loved the location..... far end of the beach,,,, parking lot at Zoo was great.... BUT: 1. the room, I am surprised the table in our room did not break it was so rickety when we arrived 2. an entire power outlet was broken (so no clock, not way to charge phone on one night stand) 3. the one time we used the pool there were cigarettes & roofing floating in it. 4. the WiFi NEVER worked 5. not sure why we paid the "fee for the place" 6. night bellman yelled at my husband when he needed to use the lobby restroom 7. when I talked to the GM about #6, he basically did not listen to me I guess you get what you pay for .......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Great location and view

Posted May 22, 2017
Nice hotel and pool. Good location and views. Had a lanai with a great view. Bell service to leave luggage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

close to beach, nice view

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: staff/customer service
was underwhelmed by the hotel itself. our shower wouldn't drain so we were standing in ankle deep water with every shower. one morning at 6 am the fire alarms were going off and woke us (and I'm sure everyone else) up. the AC unit was pumping out cold air but at a very slow pace so it barely kept the room cold. the hotel staff was absolutely amazing and probably the only reason we would stay at this hotel again. they were very kind and attentive to us at the restaurant and bar. maid staff was very sweet also. was very close to beach but because it is located on the end of the strip it was a long walk to restaurants and shopping.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very tired and worn hotel, staff are great.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staff - they were amazing.
Cons: Everything! It really needs an update.
I don't know where the hotel took the photos I see listed! We booked 2 rooms for our stay. Let's stick to the facts: Electrical receptacles hanging off the wall in both rooms Drop cords (extension cords) were plugged into these receptacles and the cords tucked under the edges of the carpet. Bath surface peeling off Shower rails very rusty in both rooms Carpet threadbare and sticky to walk on Sheets were too small to fit on the king size beds and so we had to sleep with our feet on the very worn mattress protectors My daughter was given a room that had no chain and a lock that didn't work on the door (they replaced the chain immediately after I complained to maintenance) Curtains hanging off the rail in one room Wallpaper peeling off the wall in bathrooms (also had mould around the edges too) The furniture was very old, grubby, and worn - we didn't unpack our clothes! The staff were amazing, helpful, and friendly. Really loved the way the concierge guys would welcome you back every evening with a "welcome home". They were great and so professional and courteous seeing them relate to different guests. They all deserve raises. The room was kept clean, but you can only clean threadbare and worn so much. The hotel is right on the end of Waikiki beach so you have to walk to the main tourist areas, but actually that was a bonus as the local restaurant didn't have a line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Ca

Great hotel very close to the beach

Posted May 21, 2017
Close to restaurants and shops. The staff is awesome. The cleaning crew is great and supplied everything we could ever ask for. The only complaint I have is the pillows on the bed. Next time I will bring my own. Otherwise a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel in 1969!

Posted May 20, 2017
ONLY valet parking. EXTRA expense!!! Don't stay on floor "M" (mezzanine). It's between 2 & 3, so it's floor 2.5. Not cool like Harry Potter's in-between train platform. "M" floor is outdated & very noisy. Don't pay extra for a better room- stay somewhere else. Crumbling fawcett in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Posted May 19, 2017
Walking distance to everything. Expected more of the rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Felt Like I Was Camping

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The view of Diamond Head. The hotel is close to the Waikiki Beach Walls, Honolulu Zoo, and Waikiki Aquarium. There are shops and restaurants nearby.
Cons: Hotel management seriously needs to upgrade the rooms. Also, Expedia should check into why hotels are providing its customers with the worst rooms.
Location: The hotel provides beach towels and chairs which are included in the resort fee. The beach, zoo, and aquarium are a short walk from the hotel.
I have been using Expedia for over 10 years to book my flights, hotels, and rental cars. For the past two years, whenever I book a hotel through Expedia, I have received poor accommodations. The rooms either need upgrades or have horrible odors. This room was no different. The bed had dirty sheets when I first arrived. There was makeup and the remains of an insect on the top sheet. On the second night, there were ants and spiders crawling in the bed. I was afraid to sleep in the bed under the covers and my stay was for 4 nights. I should have brought a sleeping bag with me. The zoo animals, located across the street, and the wind blowing kept me awake at night. The windows of the room are made like blinds which allow air to flow through them. The first night, I thought that the housekeeper had left the window open because the curtains kept fanning so much. Also, the curtains had holes in them. The smell of the room made me stay outside all day in order to escape the horribleness of the room. The room has very thin walls. I could hear everyone moving about the hotel. The carpet was old and nasty. I never walked around barefoot in the room. The sofa bed was old and nasty. The hotel pool was small. The escalators were inoperable. The room had a fridge but no microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Proper maintenance of the pool. It seemed like a lack of cleanliness was there.
Location: The Honolulu Zoo was located just across the street which was great and the beach was just a little further down than that.
Hotel was very conveniently located near the beach and the staff was friendly. I was very fortunate to have a good balcony view from my room which included part of the ocean and the city itself. The room I stayed in had a door that slightly jammed when being opened from either the outside or inside and the main dresser located in the room had a cabinet that opened on its own so I had to place something to keep it shut.