Ratings based on 2,187 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

For Value Location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This economical little hotel is perfectly located 1 block off the beach in the shadow of the Hyatt-Regency. Gratious and friendly front desk. The Wang Chung is their entertaining powerhouse lounge with top level performances - karaoke at its best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Wasn't very happy paid for twin room didn't get it. No wifi in room. The only good thing they waived the resort fee because of these issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Room was spacious with 1 queen bed and 1 pullout sofa bed. But there was no drawer/dresser/nightstand to put your stuff, only a very small wardrobe. No mirror in the room, only a small one in the bathroom. The bathroom was small. Again no counter top around the sink to put your stuff. The bed was right in front of the bathroom, within 2-3 feet. So when you lay down in bed on your side, you are looking straight to the bathroom (door). Last but the least, there was no ventilation fan in the bathroom. Imagine someone used the bathroom, you have to wait till the smell goes away before you can step in just to use the mirror for makeup etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Good location near beach and stores.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Overall good for the price. Within less than a block from the beach. Construction and street noise. Air conditioner helped, but if you like it cold to sleep, buy a fan or you'll be uncomfortable. Could have used better shades to block out light, heat and noise. Lobby and staff were very nice. Neat karaoke bar on site with locals and tourists. Two ABC Stores (Waikiki convienance stores) within steps. Bottom line: if you are going to Hawaii and need to save money on lodgings this is a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value for money.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Close to everything including the best couple of surfboard hire shops. The staff couldn't be better and very helpful and car parking real easy. A basic hotel room but that's reflected in the price. Thanks ... Rick
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Great hotel! Very clean and it's in a great location! Free beach towels and free laundry service. Wifi was available in the room as well. Loved this hotel. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For Waikiki it was a deal

Posted Jul 4, 2017
If all you want is the basic amenities close to Waikiki this is a good deal
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. While we are not a five star resort, we deliver five star service, which, along with our amazing location, keeps our valued guests coming back to stay with us when they return to the islands. I hope we have the honor of hosting you again soon! Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

decent hotel conveniently located near waikiki

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: I liked the free coffee, beach towels and access to beach items (snorkeling gear, etc.). The water machine was nice and cold too.
Cons: The A.C. unit wasn't very strong so even though we had A.C. it was still pretty hot sometimes. It also would have been nice to have a dresser
Location: Great location close to the Waikiki strip with plenty of restaurants nearby. Close to the beach and to bus stops
The hotel was completely acceptable and run by very friendly staff however when we saw the size of the room we were a little surprised. It was a lot smaller than it looked from the pictures. Overall it was a great stay and I have no complaints about room cleanliness or hotel conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Nolan, Thank you for your fair review of our hotel. While we're not the size of a large, all-inclusive resort, we are a perfect respite for an exciting day's adventures, which suits most of our valued guests just fine because they choose to spend most of their time in "paradise" enjoying nature rather than hanging out in their hotel room. It sounds like you had a chance to enjoy the best of what O'ahu has to offer as well, and I hope that you will keep us top-of-mind for your next visit to the the islands! Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui

The staff was awesome.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
It was so loud - not the construction but buses and people staying there. It is right we're tour buses do there pick ups in the early morning. Bring ear plugs. But the location is good shops and beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Kass67! Thank you for taking the time to briefly review your experience. We are conveniently located on Koa Avenue which is the pick-up site for most of the islands popular activity tours. Our guests find it refreshing to be able to walk out of our hotel and right onto their activity bus and back again at the end of their days' adventures. We do offer free ear plugs to our guests at our Front Desk, so be sure to stop by and pick some up for next time. Hope to see you very soon! Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Hop, skip and jump.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: As above. Felt safe. Quick to get back home at night. Markets practically on doorstep different days of the week. Very central!
Cons: Noise from Air conditioning, more lighting in room by bedside and blackout curtains.
Location: Everything you could possibly want within seconds of stepping out of Hotel.
Very close to the beach, stores and central Waikiki. Wear your togs and stroll 60 seconds and your on the sand or into the surf with your board. Just back from Duke's Statue to keep you orienteered for your stay or to catch transport. Tour pickups outside nearby hotel- 30 seconds. Free coffee day long! Free iced water day long! Family friendly. No noise permeates from cool bar downstairs. However, be prepared for usual noises- air conditioning in room and city life noise outside. Otherwise your in the centre of fun. Cheers. Enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Sheryl, Thank you for your very fair and cheery review! You made me want to book a room at my own hotel with all of your reminders of how centrally-located we are to the best parts of Waikiki Beach! :) I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again very soon. Until then, happy and safe travels to you and yours! Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki