Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is our 2nd stay at the Kahala

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Love the private beach access and picturisc scenery. Rooms are comfy with large open space and stunning view even for the standard rooms. Wish they had 2 queens instead of the doubles. Overall, great service! We were welcomed with flower lei's and plush dolphins for the kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dalton, GA

Great service, well maintained old property

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Lower cost of restaurants, self-parking, and extras like the dolphin experience. Prices were astromonical even for this nice of a hotel.
Location: Good locale east of the Honolulu traffic, but close enough to get in whenever you want to. Also close/easy drive to must-visit places east and north.
Staff is friendly and fantastic, very responsive. Pillows lacked firmness and were very uncomfortable, beds small. Cost of dining and amenities at hotel bordered on usury, so we ended up eating at restaurants elsewhere most of the stay. Ideal location on Oahu ... easy drive west into Honolulu or east to must-see places like Haunama Bay, Sandy Beach, Lanikai Beach, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at the beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We missed the excellent service from this leading hotel of the world. At the beach, which is beautiful, they charge extra for a sun umbrella . The noise from AC outside is so loud you can't sit on patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van., BC

Seaside Luxury

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The service level. They think ahead so you often don't need to ask.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Great ocean front away from the hustle of the main city. There isn't much to do within walking distance (unless you golf).
A definite tranquil surrounding compared to the perhaps overly vibrant Waikiki. While it does not have the available activity level of the Waikiki area, there is enough to keep you occupied and active. Its waterfront, being shielded by the reef, offers a great swimming and general water play area. The service level is very high and friendly and that alone is reason enough to spend a few days there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

The Kahala Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful location, kind people, gorgeous facilities. If you have the money it's an amazing place. Dolphins, turtles, fish and the toilets! Everything you need to relax, swim in either the ocean or a pool. Fine food and lots of Aloha smiles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, CANADA

Extremely nice hotel!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Waikiki beach, Diamond head mountain, swimming with the dolphins on site, scuba, snorkelling and all the great restaurants a shuttle drive away.
The room was very spacious with some of the best amenities I have ever had. Great shower and tub. Two separate sinks on opposite ends of the bathroom. Plenty of drawer space and nice rotatable flat screen tv. Beds extra comfortable with great linens. The only reason I gave it a four is because I found the pool a bit small and I prefer the option of an adult only pool. The beach was beautiful and the restaurants great. Shuttle service great as well. Excellent staff with a special shout out to the concierge. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Not my cup of tea!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The place was to far from anything
The hotel looked old and tired. The room was offered to sleep 4 people. I only had 3 people and I ended up sleeping on the floor. The pool is very small, the beach is very nice but small. Our room was next to the elevator and very noise. We planned to stay 3 night, but cancelled our stay after staying only one night. I don't see what the hype about this place is other than many celebrities have stayed there in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Had a great stay here! Great location away from the crowds and activity of Waikiki beach. If you like quiet understated excellence then this is your place. Can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Historic Resort in Kahala

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The nearby neighborhood of Kaimuki is full of new/old excellent restaurants and cafes.
This hotel resort property is situated perfectly in the quiet neighborhood of Kahala. The beach and surrounding environs are quiet and not overrun by tourists, yet it is close to everything and easily accessible. Perfect getaway...we make it our "Hawaiian Home" when we are on Oahu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Five stars all the way! Pleasant atmosphere Secluded