Ratings based on 1,255 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Historic Resort in Kahala

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The nearby neighborhood of Kaimuki is full of new/old excellent restaurants and cafes.
This hotel resort property is situated perfectly in the quiet neighborhood of Kahala. The beach and surrounding environs are quiet and not overrun by tourists, yet it is close to everything and easily accessible. Perfect getaway...we make it our "Hawaiian Home" when we are on Oahu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Five stars all the way! Pleasant atmosphere Secluded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort and Impeccable Customer Service

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet but with all needed amenities. Staff was excellent!
Cons: Everything was perfect!
Location: Very close to just about everything. There is a shopping mall just a couple miles away with all major stores. There is a wngle foods within walking
We loved the Kahala resort. It was tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of Wakiki but still close enough to everything that you need. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone and I mean everyone smiles, greets you by name and is anticipatory to all your needs. I highly recommend this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Great place and fantastic staff, beautiful beach

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Nice hotel resort, luxury amenities, great onsite restaurants, wonderful beach, very kid friendly. Hotel itself is older, both design and decor in guest rooms but still luxurious, could use a remodel and update of rooms. Lobby and rest of the grounds updated and fantastic. What makes this place perfect - is the staff. Excellent customer service, attention to detail, and extremely helpful and genuine staff. Stayed at the Ritz after Kahala - and Kahala service is as good or maybe even better. One pet peeve - hotel very old fashioned, always addressing males first even when presenting restaurant specials, wine list presented to male at the table, bill, etc. At times annoying, I order our wine and pay our bills - my wine knowledge is better and I always have a purse with a wallet with me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Fabulous stay!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The Kahala is still the most fabulous hotel in Hawaii. Service, room size, decor and amenities, attention to guest comfort, food, drinks, shopping - nothing beats the Kahala. Can't wait for our vacation next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oahu koolina

Excellent service

Posted Jan 24, 2017
The staff are amazing!! Noel on the front desk wa a wonderful very helpful and happy!!! The valet guys were great !! Charles was lovely and helpful Song the manager was so nice and helpful. Kayla in the Italian restaurant was brilliant Overall they made my big birthday a wonderful experience the hotel is in need of some renovation but the staff makeup for it!! Thank you to the whole team ❤😀😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Makati, PH

Classic hotel in Honolulu

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Complimentary fruits, chocolate-covered macadamia nuts, drinks and a warm note were waiting for us at our oceanfront suite. The bathroom, as well as the separate shower, were very spacious. The suite was well appointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Staying at the Kahala was an unqualified pleasure. the location is wonderful, the rooms beautifully appointed rooms, the staff solicitous and friendly. There is a nice range of restaurants and bars onsite and the food is uniformly wonderful. A perfect place for anyone in need of a restful retreat from a too busy life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

An Intimate & Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We wanted a quick getaway to paradise but not the crowds or traffic at the hotels that we typically encounter. Kahala was exactly what we needed and on the beach! It's everything expected at a luxury hotel with what we felt is our own private beach! A minor issue was the self parking, the sensor/scanner did not work on our cards. The one day we chose not to use valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Top end hotel, right on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Resort experience, with all the usual accomodations.
Cons: Could use more plug-ins, especially near the bed area.
Location: If you have kids, the dolphin experience looked very fun for them.
Large and comfortable rooms with excellent dual-vanity/separate tub-shower bathrooms. Great location on the beach and excellent food choices. Staff is the best!