Ratings based on 2,188 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet, close to beach

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: It was off the party strip but close enough to walk to all the action.
Cons: Have fresh fruit available for guests, hard to get fruit as a tourist in Honolulu
Location: Located near the marina, 5 minutes walk to the Waikiki beach front. 10 minutes walk to a huge shopping centre in the Ala Moana
Wonderful time had. Staff so great. My partner and I had a destination wedding in Honolulu and the staff at the Hotel gave us a bottle of champers as a congratulations. I drank that before the ceremony :-) Friendly and ready to help, will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice Hotel close to Ala Moana

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very clean comfortable hotel. The Modern met every requirement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The Modern Honolulu is a great hotel, with friendly helpful staff that cater to your every need. Our room key wasn't working on the first night and so they moved us to a great room overlooking the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW, Australia

Perfect place to stay!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Modern hotel and amenities. The pool area is beautiful, you could easily spend your holiday by the pool. Hotel bar/restaurant food is amazing. Hotel location is within walking distance to Ala Moana (a large shopping centre), lagoon and a very short and cheap taxi ride to the main Street for shopping and restaurants. The staff are very thoughtful, considerate and helpful. I would definitely stay at the Modern again with out a second thought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel with great location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Though some might consider the rooms small, they are very clean. Both pools are very nice and relaxing.
Cons: I would move the games in the adult pool down to the family pool. Feel children will get more out of them.
Location: The location is amazing. Waikiki Beach and the Hilton Lagoon are only a 5 min walk away. Also, the boardwalk starts at the Modern.
Our stay at the Modern Honolulu was a great experience. Our rooms, though small were comfy and very clean. The staff always had a friendly greeting and were very helpful. The location is perfect. Easy walking distance to everything and the bus is a 2 minute walk. Lots of amenities located close by such as an ABC Store, McDonald's, Ala Moana Center and many restaurants. What is even better there is no resort fee!!!!! Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Getaway

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Great bar, pool area Great rooms - very comfortable, spacious, nice decor
Location: Easy walking distance to Waikiki area, close to mall, across from marina
Last minute booking, very nice hotel, will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Very well appointed common areas and tasteful interior design. Really nice pool areas and outdoor dining surrounding them. Service was attentive and helpful. Rooms are renovated and so much better that comparable offerings in the same area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glen Ridge, NJ

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent location - close to great shopping, nice parks but away from the madness of Waikiki. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice pools and gym.
Cons: Rooms lack storage for clothes - no bureau just a few shelves in the closet. Free weight area of gym could also be a little bigger.
Location: Walking distance to Ala Moana, the largest mall in Hawaii with lots of restaurants and high end stores. Also walking distance to Waikiki.
Stayed here for 9 nights. Since I had an injury, I spent virtually the entire stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Check in was very smooth. Hotel is looking over the marina, so no beachfront., but a great view of the ocean and sunset. Hotel serves very good food, but in addition, the Ravish Restaurant is also on the premises. This is one of the top five restaurants in Honolulu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay, clean rooms, great view, friendly staff. Would definitely come back there again.