Ratings based on 2,174 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Nice location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location to freeways and bars, restaurants. ABC store across the street! What's a trip to Hawaii without a stop in an ABC?
Location: Great location to freeways and bars, restaurants. Very close to the things we came to see in Waikiki.
Never heard a vacumn cleaner. Very quiet. No kids was a plus. We could walk to most restaurants on Waikiki and when needed, Uber was always there. The location at the West end of Waikiki was a plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a city-scape room with a balcony. We could see the ocean and would sit out in the morning and evening. Very relaxing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room cleanliness.
Location: Close to the beach and marina. McD's and other restaurants nearby. ABC store is also walkable... Starbucks and Goofy's (brunch place) closeby
Location of this hotel is great if you don't want to deal with the crowd, however, if you want to be near all the shops, it's about 15-30 minute walk. Staff was really friendly and attentive. We loved our room even though it wasn't quite facing the ocean... the bed was comfortable and the coconut mojitos were bomb! Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel with great location!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The Modern Honolulu is beautiful hotel with a lot to offer. The sunrise pool and bar are excellent places to pop a squat for the day and just relax. The adult pool only is a great thought but its really not a pool....more of a spot to hang out (for adults only). The Ravish Restaurant is delicious and has awesome views. All the staff was super friendly and attentive. The spa was a simply amazing experience. Had the BEST massage (ask for Eddie!) and facial (ask for Elana!) of MY LIFE! I am still dreaming of it... All in all a fantastic experience and I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Everything was great! Friendly staff and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place but...

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nice place but very noisy rooms. If you arrive to a place like Hawaii you expect to be welcome with something special, we have nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great pool & views

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Nice views from the lanais in the rooms, pool is very trendy and can be a bit of a scene on weekends. Great for young people or couples. I will definitely stay again if I come back to Oahu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sanfrancisco

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Close to all activities and city good Restaurants close by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet, close to beach

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: It was off the party strip but close enough to walk to all the action.
Cons: Have fresh fruit available for guests, hard to get fruit as a tourist in Honolulu
Location: Located near the marina, 5 minutes walk to the Waikiki beach front. 10 minutes walk to a huge shopping centre in the Ala Moana
Wonderful time had. Staff so great. My partner and I had a destination wedding in Honolulu and the staff at the Hotel gave us a bottle of champers as a congratulations. I drank that before the ceremony :-) Friendly and ready to help, will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice Hotel close to Ala Moana

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very clean comfortable hotel. The Modern met every requirement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The Modern Honolulu is a great hotel, with friendly helpful staff that cater to your every need. Our room key wasn't working on the first night and so they moved us to a great room overlooking the pool.