Ratings based on 2,186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Ğreat staff very helpful stayed here 2years ago still great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Contemporary hotel near beach and Lagoon

Posted May 1, 2017
If your priority is to have a clean, decent size room with excellant service, this hotel is for you. The room I had was more contemporary, the beach and lagoon are just a few minutes walk away and I can't rave enough about the service. Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will be back

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Beautiful hotel, amazing and attentive staff. Loved my stay at The Modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Nice location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location to freeways and bars, restaurants. ABC store across the street! What's a trip to Hawaii without a stop in an ABC?
Location: Great location to freeways and bars, restaurants. Very close to the things we came to see in Waikiki.
Never heard a vacumn cleaner. Very quiet. No kids was a plus. We could walk to most restaurants on Waikiki and when needed, Uber was always there. The location at the West end of Waikiki was a plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a city-scape room with a balcony. We could see the ocean and would sit out in the morning and evening. Very relaxing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room cleanliness.
Location: Close to the beach and marina. McD's and other restaurants nearby. ABC store is also walkable... Starbucks and Goofy's (brunch place) closeby
Location of this hotel is great if you don't want to deal with the crowd, however, if you want to be near all the shops, it's about 15-30 minute walk. Staff was really friendly and attentive. We loved our room even though it wasn't quite facing the ocean... the bed was comfortable and the coconut mojitos were bomb! Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel with great location!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The Modern Honolulu is beautiful hotel with a lot to offer. The sunrise pool and bar are excellent places to pop a squat for the day and just relax. The adult pool only is a great thought but its really not a pool....more of a spot to hang out (for adults only). The Ravish Restaurant is delicious and has awesome views. All the staff was super friendly and attentive. The spa was a simply amazing experience. Had the BEST massage (ask for Eddie!) and facial (ask for Elana!) of MY LIFE! I am still dreaming of it... All in all a fantastic experience and I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Everything was great! Friendly staff and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place but...

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nice place but very noisy rooms. If you arrive to a place like Hawaii you expect to be welcome with something special, we have nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great pool & views

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Nice views from the lanais in the rooms, pool is very trendy and can be a bit of a scene on weekends. Great for young people or couples. I will definitely stay again if I come back to Oahu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sanfrancisco

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Close to all activities and city good Restaurants close by